Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   $6000 to win NW Mod nationals!!!!
Dirt Forum Champ
Total posts: 1261
posted June 11, 2003 11:36 PM  
For immediate release.
Contact: George Hespe 425-334-5763

Brownfield Promotions, Inc. is pleased to welcome Shipwreck Beads of
Olympia, WA, the world’s largest bead dealer, on board as event sponsor
the 4th Annual “Northwest Modifieds Nationals” which returns to Grays
Raceway in Elma, WA on June 20th and 21st. Already the highest paying
Modified race on the west coast, the purse in 2003 has been increased
$30,000 for the two-day event with $6,000 going to Saturday night’s
event winner.

Although last years champion, Kellen Chadwick of Oakley, CA has yet to
register, among the pre-entries are; Randy McDaniel of Marysville, CA,
2002 Friday night Nationals winner, 2002 Grays Harbor Raceway Modified
Champion Leroy Lawhead of Olympia, WA, Mark Wauge of Medford, OR who
finished in second place last year and is the current Southern Oregon
Speedway (SOS) points leader and 2002 3rd place finisher Jon
DeBenedetti of
Central Point, OR who is 3rd in SOS points.

Other top running pre-entries are Gus Cooper of Creswell, OR who is
the points race at Cottage Grove Speedway (CGS), Brian Poppa of Central
Point, OR who was the 2001 Nationals winner and is currently 8th in
at SOS, 4th and 5th place runners at SOS, Ron Possinger of Medford and
Duste, Sr, of Central Point, Jon Swiglo of Pe Ell, WA who is currently
at Grays Harbor and Randy Ward of Olympia, WA comes out of retirement
this race.

Additional out of state entrants are; California drivers Brian Cass,
Livermore, Todd Whipple, Tom O’Gorman and Travis Peery, all of Yreka
Dustin Jenks of Chico, Oregon’s Scott Winebarger of Corbett, Scott
Dorie and
Chris Quinn of St. Helens, Portland’s Ray Elwess and Don West of
Warren. Two
drivers from British Columbia, Laurence O’Connor and Graham Cook of
Hardy become the first Canadian drivers to race in the Nationals.

Local drivers who have indicated they will run include 2001 Grays
Raceway champion Craig Moore of Seabeck, WA, along with top Grays
Harbor ,
drivers Scott Miller, Shelton, WA and current Grays Harbor points
leader, Leroy Lawhead and,
Kevin Beerbower of Elma, WA, Jeff Foster, McCleary, WA and Jason Tole
Hoquiam, WA.

Along with the $1,000 added to the big winners pay check, additional
money was added to positions 2 – 8 in the “A” feature event. Also, pay
in all positions in the “B” and “C” feature events were increased to
cars running throughout the field.

As an added incentive to the local drivers, AA Auto Sales of Centralia
pay an additional $500 to any Grays Harbor Raceway weekly racer that
Saturday’s “A” feature event.

With 50 pre-entries already received, which nearly equals the total
just two years ago, this year’s race could well have close to 100

Because the race cars are so equally matched Modified racing is some of
closest to be found, as it is driver ability and not horsepower that
determines the outcome. Three and four wide, wheel-to-wheel action is
normal, not the occasional, type of action the fans will see for two
days at the “4th Annual Shipwreck Beads Northwest Modifieds Nationals”.


Brownfield Promotions, Inc. - The Finest 'Action Packed' Dirt Track
Grays Harbor Raceway
US Smokeless Tobacco Co. Northern Sprint Tour
"Wild Wild Northwest Tour" featuring the
O'Rielly Auto Parts World of Outlaws Series

Back to the Archives