Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Cleveland scores $2,000 win at Canyon series opener
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 6243
posted January 20, 2003 12:34 PM  
Cleveland scores $2,000 win at Canyon series opener
By Sandy Combs
PEORIA, Ariz. (Jan. 18) - The biggest smile in all of Arizona Saturday night belonged to a Californian named Cleve-land.
Duane Cleveland was the winner in the opening race of the Barnett Harley-Davidson Winter Series for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modifieds at Canyon Raceway. The victory paid $2,000 and came after the time limit pared the scheduled 30-lap feature to 20 circuits.
Runner-up was Scott Logston and Aaron Spangler was third. Completing the top four was defending series champion Terry Belcher Jr.
Logston's run came from 22nd starting. Spangler topped the "C" main and ran fifth in the "B" in qualifying for the feature.
Three cautions slowed the start of the Modified main and another three came out before five laps were in the book.
Cleveland grabbed the point from the pole following a single file re-start, first holding off Joe Warner and then seeing new chal-lenger Curt Barnett head to the pits with mechanical problems.
Barnett's exit gave second to Logston and the New Mexico pilot was running strong in that spot behind Cleveland when time expired and the checkered flag came out. Seven different states were represented by the top 10 finishers.
The seventh annual series drew 61 Modifieds for its first race and continues with Jan. 25, Feb. 1 and 8 events.
Steve Bitting Jr. was the pure stock winner and John Rogers bested the bomber field.

Modified Feature Results
1. Duane Cleveland;
2. Scott Logston;
3. Aaron Spangler;
4. Terry Belcher Jr.;
5. Robert Adams;
6. Christy Georges;
7. Justin Yeager;
8. Robert Miller;
9. Jim Bonetti;
10. J.J. Harpole Jr.;
11. Dale Jones;
12. Jason Noll;
13. R.C. Whitwell;
14. Butch Reid;
15. Scott Slatter;
16. Eddie Farley;
17. Darin Center;
18. Carl Trimmer;
19. Craig Nelson;
20. Tony Martin;
21. Rick Ward;
22. Curt Barnett;
23. Shawn Zelenka;
24. Joe Warner.

Back to the Archives