Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   14 events for Deery Brothers Summer Series
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 6243
posted January 14, 2003 06:09 PM  
14 events for Deery Brothers Summer Series
VINTON, Iowa (Jan. 14) - Fourteen races are on tap this season, in the Deery Brothers Summer Series for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Late Models.
Weather permitting, the tour will see its earliest opening night in its 17-year history, on March 29 at Hamilton County Speedway. Webster City is one of four tracks that will host two Deery events over the course of the season. The series also makes a pair of visits to 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Quincy, Ill., Raceway and the Boone Speedway.
Shows are also set at Davenport Speedway, Jackson County Speed-way in Maquoketa, Independence Motor Speedway, Hawkeye Downs in Cedar Rapids, the Iowa State Fair-grounds Speedway in Des Moines and Farley Speedway.
The July 3 race marks the Deery Series' first appearance at Independence in nearly three years. After a rainout last summer, the tour heads to Des Moines for the first time in two seasons.
34 Raceway's Pepsi USA Nationals on Aug. 13-14 is the only two-day show. The series returns to opening night at Super Nationals in Boone on Sept. 1 and concludes Sept. 11 as part of the Yankee Dirt Track Classic program at Farley.
All feature events pay a minimum of $2,000 to win. The series champion earns a $5,000 share of the $21,500 point fund, which will be paid to the top 10 in final points.
The minimum amount paid for qualifying for any of the 14 races scheduled in 2003 goes to $250, meaning drivers finishing 14th on back get $50 more than they would have last year.
"What we have done is increase the entry fee from $35 to $50 and increase the purse accordingly to $10,450 for the feature. Non-qualifiers will receive $75," said I.M.C.A. Vice President of Operations Brett Root. "When you look at the purse structure for this series, it rewards the winner for their efforts and is reasonable throughout the entire field."
Per-race sanction fees charged to tracks were reduced by $250 and a maximum $20 pit pass has been established for one-day series events.
Defending champion is Terry Schlipman of Mendon, Ill., who won three features enroute to his first series crown. Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls nudged his all-time career series win total to 41 with two checkers in 2002.
Average car count was up a car and a half to 38 competitors at each Deery race last year.
The Deery Brothers Automotive Group has been title sponsor of the series since 1992.

2003 Deery Brothers Summer Series Schedule
Saturday, March 29 Hamilton County Speedway, Webster City, Iowa
Saturday, April 12 34 Raceway, West Burlington, Iowa
Sunday, April 13 Quincy, Ill., Raceway
Friday, April 18 Davenport, Iowa, Speedway
Saturday, April 19 Jackson County Speedway, Maquoketa, Iowa
Monday, May 26 Boone, Iowa, Speedway
Thursday, July 3 Independence, Iowa, Motor Speedway
Tuesday, July 8 Hawkeye Downs, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Thursday, July 24 Hamilton County Speedway, Webster City, Iowa
Tuesday, Aug. 12 Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway, Des Moines
Wed. & Thurs., Aug. 13-14 34 Raceway, West Burlington, Iowa
Sunday, Aug. 31 Quincy, Ill., Raceway
Monday, Sept. 1 Boone, Iowa, Speedway
Thursday, Sept. 11 Farley, Iowa, Speedway

Back to the Archives