Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Threat of snow can't slow Saathoff at Spring Nationals
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 6243
posted March 25, 2002 11:12 AM  
Threat of snow can't slow Saathoff at Spring Nationals
By Scott Wisdom
BEATRICE, Neb. (March 23) - Something about bad weather and rescheduling Spring Nationals brings out the best in Johnny Saathoff.
Taking advantage of his pole position start, Saathoff ran away with the $5,000 to win special for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modifieds Saturday night at his home-town Beatrice Speedway.
The victory came in the second of two programs held on Saturday, as the show that was to be held Sunday afternoon was moved up because of the threat of snow.
Saathoff also topped Spring Nationals features in 1997 and last year. Both events had been postponed a week later than originally scheduled because of the weather.
Kevin Larkins repeated his second-place finish of 2001. Ronnie Wallace, David Trauernicht and Greg Metz rounded out the top five.
Jeremy Miller of Batavia, Iowa, earned $600 by winning the first annual Spring Fling special for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Cars, also held Saturday in conjunction with Spring Nationals.
Bill Wood held John Hunnell at bay for second. Brian Blessington and Derek Fralin rounded out the top five.
Saathoff won the Friday night pole dash, Larkins the Saturday dash.
More than 130 Modifieds and 35 Stock Cars ran in the season-opening event at Beatrice.
Feature Results
1. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice;
2. Kevin Larkins, Greenwood;
3. Ronnie Wallace, Maxwell;
4. David Trauernicht, Beatrice;
5. Greg Metz, Washington, Kan.;
6. Jay Noteboom, Orange City, Iowa;
7. Brian Foote, Essex, Iowa;
8. Chris Alcorn, Lincoln;
9. Ed Turnbull, Estevan, Sask.;
10. Greg Porth, Heron Lake, Minn.;
11. Shawn VanLaningham, Beatrice;
12. Dan Carl, North Platte;
13. Rich Erb, Beatrice;
14. Mike Heideman, Seneca, Kan.;
15. Justen Yeager, Green River, Wy.;
16. Marlyn Seidler, Underwood, N.D.;
17. Brian Calhoun, Beloit, Kan.;
18. Alan Dix, Stockton, Kan.;
19. David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.;
20. T.J. Artz, Lincoln;
21. Jason Weatherton, Beresford, S.D.;
22. Nathan Lundgren, Lincoln;
23. Brandon Carley, Farmington, N.M.;
24. Scott Brown, Meriden, Kan.;
25. Dan McKeighan, Omaha;
26. Darrick Klima, Belleville, Kan.;
27. Nate Wasmund, Rochester, Minn.;
28. Tim Echevarria, Junction City, Kan.

Stock Cars
1. Jeremy Miller, Batavia, Iowa;
2. Bill Wood, Fairbury;
3. John Hunnell, Des Moines, Iowa;
4. Brian Blessington, Breda, Iowa;
5. Derek Fralin, Beatrice;
6. Jeff Anderson, Atlantic, Iowa;
7. Mike Nichols, Harlan, Iowa;
8. Jeremy Christians, Horicon, Wis.;
9. Damon Murty, Chelsea, Iowa;
10. Roger Johnson, Sawkville, Wis.;
11. Shane Stutzman, Milford;
12. Doug Adamy, Columbus;
13. Todd Laflin, Beatrice;
14. Scott Wiens, Beatrice;
15. David Baugh, Jefferson, Iowa;
16. Evan DeHaan, Alton, Iowa;
17. Jason Harms, David City;
18. Jesse Hoffman, Sutton;
19. Mike Albertsen, Audubon, Iowa;
20. Chad Klocke, Carroll, Iowa;
21. Jeff Vlies, Brussels, Wis.;
22. Chris Langdale, Beatrice;
23. Chris Ulrich, Kiron, Iowa;
24. Chadd Carlson, Shickley.

Back to the Archives