Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Curt Martin Scores NASCAR Late Model Win At Farley Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 03, 2003 06:14 PM UIN: 16262997
Curt Martin Scores NASCAR Late Model Win At Farley Speedway

Farley, Iowa: Friday, May 2nd the Farley Speedway hosted Chamber Night at the races with guests from the Dyersville and Dubuque Chamber of Commerce’s. A great crowd was on hand to take in an action packed night of thrilling racing action.

The Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models saw the third different driver take the checkered flag of the 2003 season. Pro Stock graduate Jeff Tharp led the first ten laps before Curt Martin was able to take the lead following a restart. Luke Merfeld got by Martin to lead laps 12 and 13 before Martin was able to regain the lead. Martin went on to record the win over a hard charging Matt Furman. Denny Eckrich switched cars following the heat race which meant he had to start tail on the field. Eckrich drove to a hard fought third place finish ahead of Jeff Aikey and Todd Davis.

The Quarter Master Modified feature win came down to the last turn of the last lap as Dubuque veterans Scott Nesteby and Ron Barker were fighting for the victory. Nesteby took the lead from Mike Burbridge on lap 12 and Barker moved into second on the same lap setting up a 8 race battle between the two. Barker worked the inside as Nesteby raced the high line. Barker drove deeper into the corners on every lap as the two battled without touching. Barker took his 37B very deep into turn four on the final lap and was able to make the move stick and came down the front chute a winner by a car length. Mike Burbridge ran very strong all race long in taking third ahead of Jason Schueller.

The NASCAR Pro Stock feature saw the two leaders Ty Kleiner and Jim Brokus make contact and slide down the back chute coming to a stop in turn three on lap 12 of the 15 lap main event. Both machines were retired courtesy of wreckers. Jeff Kennedy took the lead on the restart and went on to record the win. Jeff Reinert crossed the finish line in second ahead of Chad Simpson.

B.J Schmidt took over the lead from Matt Dunkel on lap five of the ten lap Hobby Stock feature and went on to record the win. The win was Schmidt’s first of the year at Farley. Jim Turpin came on strong late in the race to take second ahead of Steve Dunkel.

Mark Massey scored his fourth feature win in four starts in the B-Modified division prompting Keith Simmons to announce that he is going to place a $500 bounty on Massey. Leon Wilson ran second to Massey.

Another large field of Farley Flyers were on hand Friday night. Al Brink made the long tow from Waukon to score the win in the ten lap feature that saw 22 drivers take the green flag. Jason Roth ran second ahead of Brian Kammerude. Two Flyer drivers rolled their cars on Friday night in separate incidents . Both Travis Kaiser and Phil Holtz escaped uninjured.

NASCAR Dodge Weekly Racing Series action will continue on Friday, May 9th at the Farley Speedway with hot laps at 7 p.m. The NASCAR Late Models will run topless on Friday, May 9th.

Farley Speedway Race Results 5/2/03

Farley Flyers

Heat 1

19 Al Brink-Waukon
55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI
97 Russ Thier-Dyersville

Heat 2

31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI
48J Jena Barthelmes-Cedar Rapids
71 Adam Wills-Hazel Green, WI


19 Brink
31 Roth
55 Kammerude
38 R.J. Simon-Farley
01 Damien Miller-Dubuque
21k Danny Kennedy-Dubuque
69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI
99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville
04 Jacob Reiff-Farley
71 Wills
97 x Rob Schilling-Worthington
21 Jake Blumer-Manchester
38K Rob Kramer-Peosta
48j Barthelemes
1k Tim Koppes-Cascade
00 John Flury-Peosta
15 Loras Feldmann-Dyersville
97 Russ Thier-Dyersville
83 Jeff Willis-Farley
4j Joe Dirks-Anamosa
7K Travis Kaiser-Dyersville
68 Steve Stackis-Dubuque



30 Mark Massey-Farley
9 Leon Wilson-Hopkinton
4 Rory Becker-Bernard


30 Massey
9 Wilson
4 Becker
21I Todd Ihde-Garnavillo

Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

12 Matt Dunkel-Martelle
33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI
89 Kelly Welter-St. Donatus

Heat 2

20 Jarvis Eastlick-Platteville, WI
8K Jerry Merkes-Farley
7B Randy Benn-Dyersville


44 B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque
33 Turpin
97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington
28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
7B Benn
12 Dunkel
23 Dennis Etten-Wyoming
72 Doug Yates-Monticello
5 Norb Ahlers-Earlville
8k Merkes
83 Rob Petsche-Centralia
89 Welter
20 Eastlick
13 Laura Kramer-Dyersville
B4Jr Brian Dirks-Anamosa
98 Jason Rauen-Farley

Pro Stocks

Heat 1

20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque
2k Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque
Heat 2

25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque
25X Chad Simpson-Marion
97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville


1.2K Kennedy

2. 97 Reinert

3. 25 X Simpson

4. 25 Moyer

5. 0b Matt Bodman-Muscatine

6. 99 Ken Martelle-LaMotte

7. 22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque

8. 36 Tom Keiffer-Dubuque

9. 14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

10. 35 Brokus

11. Kleiner

12. 1 Dave Fieber-Platteville, WI


Heat 1

37B Ron Barker-Dubuque
1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque
74 Scott Nesteby-Asbury

Heat 2

11B Mike Burbridge-Delhi
3 Jason Schueller-Dubuque
27 Mark Schulte-Delhi


37b Barker
74 Nesteby
11b Burbridge
3 Schueller
27 Schulte
66 Dan Bohr-Decorah
1D Saffran
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque
20 Kory Burmeister-Glen Haven, WI
23 Jason Udelhofen-Platteville, WI
39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL
24M Jan Messer-Manchester
14 Shane Burbridge-Delhi
17 Pat Flannagan-Cedar Rapids
24 Randy Less-Hopkinton
93.7 Ken Kostenbader-Freeport, IL

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Models

Heat 1

77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
12t Jeff Tharp-Dubuque
3t Todd Davis-Iowa City

Heat 2

21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
51 Matt Furman-Iowa City

Heat 3

1. 45 Curt Martin-Independence

2. 3 Josh McGowan-Vinton

3. 26 Steve Boley-West Liberty


45 Martin
51 Furman
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
77 Aikey
3t Davis
21 Merfeld
3 McGowan
79 Darren Mish-Cassville
11 Ihm
26 Boley
9 Bobby Hansen-Dike
27 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
9S **** Steadman-Hiawatha
145 Dale Hackwell-Waterloo
76 Matt Mish-Bloomington, WI
27 Darin Burco-Independence
87 Clint Hines-Andalusia, IL
12T Tharp
25 Nate Hartzell-Cedar Falls
1M Rob Moss-Iowa City
95 Ed Sanger-Postville

Back to the Archives