Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Hales Corners Speedway--2-26, full results
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 28, 2003 09:12 PM UIN: 16262997
Hales Corners Speedway--2-26, full results

Date: Mon, 28 Apr 2003 10:11:05 -0700

Name Type Save View
Part 1 text/plain Save
Part 2 text/html Save

Watson Scores UMP LM
Victory at Hales Corners
By John Shea
Franklin, Wis., Apr. 26--Jimmy Watson led flag to flag en route to winning the 2003 season-opening UMP late model feature on Saturday night at the Hales Corners Speedway.
Other main event wins on the night went to Don Scheffler in the sportsmen division, Jim Zdroik in the modified class, Barry Cates in the Hales Whales and Aaron Stolp in the 4-cylinder Mud Puppy division.
Watson started the 30-lap UMP late model headliner from the pole and immediately jumped out to a healthy lead as Chris Carlson and defending UMP late model track champ Bret Sievert battled for the runner-up spot. Watson entered slower traffic at lap 13 and gradually increased his advantage over his pursuers.
Behind Watson, Carlson was able to hold Sievert at bay as the two dueled amidst the backmarkers. Russ Scheffler soon made it a three-way fight as he moved to fourth place with Scott Specht following in fifth.
There was no catching Watson on this night, however, as he made it look easy as he romped to the victory. Carlson finished second, with Sievert, Scheffler and Specht rounding out the top five.
The 20-lap sportsmen feature was competitive throughout but a rash of late-race yellows slowed the event's run to a finish. Don Scheffler held a narrow lead over Roger Lee throughout the final laps and survived several restart passing attempts to hang on for the victory. Bob Brent placed third in the final order, with Jeff Tondryk fourth and defending sportsmen track champion Don Sorce Jr. fifth.
After crashing his car in a heat race earlier in the night, Jim Zdroik bounced back to win the caution-infested 20-lap modified feature. Jimmy Muth Jr., placed second, with Mike Sandholm third, Brian Crapser fourth and the ageless Everette Fitch fifth.
Vetran Barry Cates rode to victory in the Hales Whales while 2002 Mud Puppy champion Aaron Stolp picked up where he left off with a feature event win.
On Friday night, May 2 the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association opens its 2003 season with a special event at the Hales Corners Speedway. Joining the BMARA cars will be the MSA 360 sprint cars. Then, on Saturday night, stock car racing continues at the historic third-mile oval with a full program of UMP late model, sportsmen, modified and Hales Whales, plus 4-cylinders. The night will be highlighted by the opening round of the popular annual Modified Triple Crown. Time trials are at 6:15 p.m., with racing immediately following qualifying. Hales Corners Speedway is located on Hwy. 100, one half-mile south of Forest Home Avenue in Franklin, next to Hiller Ford. For more information, call (414) 778-4710 during regular business hours, or (414) 425-4700 on race day or at
30-lap Feature--1. Jimmy Watson, Big Bend; 2. Chris Carlson, South Milwaukee; 3. Bret Sievert, Franklin; 4. Russ Scheffler, Waukesha; 5. Scott Specht, Sheboygan Falls.
10-lap Heats--First: 1. Watson; 2. Bill Rezutek, Big Bend. Second: 1. Scheffler; 2. Sievert.
6-lap Dash--Scheffler.
Fast Qualifier--Scheffler.
20-lap Feature--1. Don Scheffler, Wauwatosa; 2. Roger Lee, Wind Lake; 3. Bob Brent, Milwaukee; 4. Jeff Tondryk, Milwaukee; 5. Don Sorce Jr., West Allis; 6. Dave Gorny, West Allis.
10-lap Heats--First: 1. Mike Borchardt Jr., Greenfield; 2. Tommy Moore, Muskego. Second: 1. Scheffler; 2. Tondryk. Third: 1. Sorce Jr.; 2. Lee.
Fast Qualifier--Sorce Jr.
20-lap Feature--1. Jim Zdroik, Big Bend; 2. Jimmy Muth Jr., Greenfield; 3. Mike Sandholm, Milwaukee; 4. Brian Crapser, Milwaukee; 5. Everette Fitch, Racine; 6. Larry Walter Jr., New Berlin.
12-lap Semi-Feature--1. Joe McGrath, Neosho; 2. Mark Brunner, West Allis; 3. Mike Conn, Big Bend.
10-lap Heats--First: 1. Brunner. Second: 1. McGrath; 2. Conn. Third: 1. Muth Jr.; 2. Fitch. Fourth: 1. Jason Zdroik, Big Bend; 2. Crapser.
Fast Qualifier--Jason Zdroik.
20-lap Feature--1. Barry Cates, Milwaukee; 2. J. J. Weichowski, Vernon; 3. Tony Sancinatti, West Allis; 4. Jim Reinhardt, Milwaukee; 5. Chris Hoedel, Greenfield.
10-lap Heats--First: 1. Don Cates, Claflin, Kan.; 2. B. Cates. Second: 1. Car #2; 2. Reinhardt.
Feature--1. Aaron Stolp; 2. Chris Blake, Milwaukee; 3. Al Bundy, Chicago, Ore.; 4. Johnny Knozville, Milwaukee; 5. Kevin Kuhnke, South Milwaukee; 6. Dusty Jackson, New Berlin.

Back to the Archives