Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Jeff Aikey Tops Stellar NASCAR Field As Dubuque Speedway Opens
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 28, 2003 11:58 AM UIN: 16262997
Jeff Aikey Tops Stellar NASCAR Field As Dubuque Speedway Opens

Dubuque, Iowa: The 2003 NASCAR Dodge Weekly Racing Series season got underway on Sunday, April 27th. The high banked 3/8 mile dirt Dubuque Speedway will be hosting six classes of cars on Sunday nights throughout the season.

The Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Model field was packed with outstanding talent for the opener. The opening night featured the draw and redraw format for the top qualifiers. The 25 lap feature took the green with outside pole sitter Bobby Hansen dropping to the bottom and leading the early laps. Hansen led until lap 6 when Brian Harris was able to move out front. Harris worked the point position until lap 11 when Jeff Aikey was able to get out front. Aikey went on to lead the remaining 14 laps holding off a late race charge by Harris to win by less than a car length. The 25 lapper was run caution free with outstanding battles going on throughout the entire field. Gary Webb crossed the finish line in third ahead of Denny Eckrich and Steve Johnson.

Ron Barker took advantage of a front row draw and led the 20 lap Modified main flag to flag. Scott Nesteby finished a close second to Barker, Mel Saffran turned in a great run in taking third ahead of Sean Rupp and Scott Olson.

Jim Brokus took advantage of a great draw and led the Pro Stock feature flag to flag on Sunday night. Brokus rode the high line in route to the checkers taking the opening night win ahead of Bobby Moyer and Ty Kleiner.

Mark Massey made it three for three in features run in the B-Modified division. Massey took the lead from Jacob Seegmiller on lap 4 and led the final six laps to score the win. Bruce VanGordon finished second ahead of Jeff Moore.

The NASCAR Hobby Stock feature saw plenty of wheel to wheel action throughout the ten lap main. Jason Rauen led the first five laps before Ed McIntyre was able to take the lead. McIntyre led only one lap before Rauen was able to regain the point and drive on to the win. Jerry Merkes came on strong late in the race to nip McIntyre for second. Steve Dunkel placed fourth ahead of B.J. Schmidt.

Jason Roth emerged from the lead pack to take the lead on lap seven of the Farley Flyer feature and score the opening night win. Roth drove his Toyota to the win ahead of R.J. Simon and John Flury.

The NASCAR Dodge Weekly Racing Series will continue every Sunday night with hot laps taking to the track at 6 p.m. with racing to follow at the Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway.

Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway Results


Farley Flyers

Heat 1

38S R.J. Simon-Farley
55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI
01 Damien Miller-Dubuque

Heat 2

31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI
00 John Flury-Epworth
12 Mike Nihles


31 Roth
38S Simon
00 Flury
97 Russ Thier-Dubuque
21k Danny Kennedy-Dubuque
47 Rick Hammer-Apple River, IL
69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI
01 Miller
12 Nihles
3 Brad Klaas
14 Chad Dugan-Garber
17 Randy Leehan-Apple River, IL
18 Travis Law
00s Brooke Schmitz-Dubuque
46 Anthony Petty-Dubuque
55 Kammerude

Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington
33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI

Heat 2

98 Jason Rauen-Farley
89 Kelly Welter-St. Donatus
44 B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque


98 Rauen
8K Jerry Merkes-Farley
28 McIntyre
97 Dunkel
44 Schmidt
6 Jed Frieberger-Dubuque
20 Jarvis Eastlick-Platteville, WI
33 Turpin
72 Doug Yates-Monticello
44D Luke Goedert-Holy Cross
83 Rob Petsche-Centralia
89 Welter
44x Mike Lynch
81 K.C. Ansel-Dubuque



30 Mark Massey-Worthington
0 Jeremy English-Bernard
4 David Brunskill-Shullsburg, WI


30 Massey
71 Bruce VanGordon-Dubuque
88 Jeff Moore
4 Brunskill
19 Joel Steinman-Brodhead, WI
7J Jacob Seegmiller-Dubuque
0 English

Pro Stocks

Heat 1

20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
35 Rick Brokus-Dubuque
21 Jason Robbins-Benton, WI

Heat 2

2k Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque
25 Bobby Moyer-Dubuque
97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville


35 Brokus
25 Moyer
20 Kleiner
2K Kennedy
21 Robbins
97 Reinert
22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque
71 Kevin Schroeder-Low Moor
99 Ken Martelle-LaMotte


Heat 1

3 Jason Schueller-Dubuque
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
11b Mike Burbridge

Heat 2

1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque
5D Bob Dominacki-Bettendorf
89 Tom Pestka-Delhi


37B Barker
74 Scott Nesteby-Asbury
1D Saffran
15 Rupp
63 Scott Olson-Preston
11b Burbridge
3 Schueller
4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque
7 Jeff Morris-Long Grove
5D Dominacki
18 Brian Culbertson-Dubuque
66 Dan Bohr-Decorah
20 Korey Burmeister-Glen haven, WI
33W Steve Wetter-Platteville, WI
13 Luke Pestka-Delhi
27 Mark Schulte-Delhi
89 Tom Pestka-Delhi

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

Heat 1

77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin

Heat 2

45 Curt Martin-Independence
12 Ray Guss Jr.-Milan, IL
77J Steve Johnson-Camanche


77 Aikey
21h Brian Harris-Davenport
56 Webb
50 Eckrich
77J Johnson
9 Bobby Hansen-Dike
32D Darren Miller-Chadwick, IL
12 Guss Jr.
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI
27 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
12t Jeff Tharp-Dubuque
54 Mark Curwen-Hazel Green, WI
145 Dale Hackwell-Waterloo
95 Ed Sanger-Postville
45 Martin
8 Mark Merfeld-Dubuque

Back to the Archives