Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Results for Mt Vernon Raceway for April 19
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 20, 2003 11:44 PM UIN: 16262997
At Mt. Vernon Raceway, the second night of the young 2003 season was held after the possible weather conditions of the day almost cause the cancellation of the races. The race track has been rework with new dirt being applied and the racing surface was fast and it is somewhat more banked than in the past.
In the UMP Late Model division, there were 10 car on hand for the racing. Rodney Melvin set fast time. In the dash, Rodney Melvin took the win over Donnie Tudor, Bruce Unterbrink, Bobby Melvin, Brent Kreke and Jimmy Burwell. In the heat race, Randy McMahan got the victory over Tony Boyles, Steve Unterbrink and Steve Lampley.
In the feature, it looked like the race would go 25 laps of green flag racing with Rodney Melvin lapping the field up to fourth place. The race started with R. Melvin and Tudor on the front row. Melvin took the lead and raced away from the field with easy. Tudor took second, but B. Melvin was right there challenging. On lap 13, Bobby Melvin to over second place and began to pull away.
As Rodney Melvin continued to stretch his lead and put cars a lap down, it looked as though the race would end on the green. However, on lap 23, second running Bobby Melvin slowed on the track and dropped out. At this point with two laps to go, Rodney Melvin had the lead followed by Tudor, Burwell, B. Unterbrink and Boyles in the top five.
When the checkered flag fell, it was Rodney Melvin with his second straight feature win followed by Tudor, Burwell, B. Unterbrink and Boyles for the top five. There were only eight cars in the feature as Lampley and Kreke could not make the feature.
In the UMP Modifieds, there were 14 cars in the pits. John Hopson put in the fast time. In the dash, Troy Leonard would get the win over Marty Lindeman, Matt Mevert, Glenn Stephens, Kevin Cole, and John Hopson. In the heat race, Everett Bradham took the win followed by Zac Fair, Evan Musgrave, Steve Cole, Mike Higginson, Mike Hull, Kelly Devall and Steve Long.
The front row saw Leonard and Lindeman start the race. Lindeman took the early lead, but he would not hold that long. On lap 5, Mevert would take command of the race while using the low side of the track.
The first caution came out on lap 14 for Higginson’s spin in turn two. The running order was Mevert, Lindeman, K. Cole, Hopson, and Leonard in the top five.
There was two more caution to slow the final results. When the checkered flag fell, Mevert took his first win of the young season followed by K. Cole, Lindeman, Hopson and S. Cole to complete the top five.

Back to the Archives