Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Denny Eckrich Takes Opening Night NASCAR Win At Farley Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 19, 2003 10:00 PM UIN: 16262997
Denny Eckrich Takes Opening Night NASCAR Win At Farley Speedway

Barker, Moyer, Benn, Massey & Brink Winners

Farley, Iowa : The 2003 Dodge NASCAR Weekly Racing Series got underway on Friday, April 18th at the high banked mile dirt track Farley Speedway on a cold blustery night. The fans who braved the chilly conditions were treated to a very entertaining night of racing action. The track has been widened for the 2003 season and the surface was in great racing shape providing plenty of three and four wide racing in all classes.

Opening night format included the top twelve heat race qualifiers in each division redrawing for their respective features. The Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Model feature saw outside front row starter Denny Eckrich put his “Flyin 50” out front and race to a flag to flag feature win. Eckrich got away from the pack early and led the caution free race all the way in route to an impressive win. The battle for second was fast and furious with several drivers taking a shot at the runner-up paycheck. Matt Furman was able to out race Farley hot shoe Jeff Aikey and secure a very strong finish in taking second. Luke Merfeld followed Aikey across the line in fourth. Pro Stock graduate Dan Shelliam turned in an outstanding opening night run in taking fifth after running the entire race in the top five.

Ron Barker opened the 2003 season as defending champion in the Modified division, Barker started 2003 in fine fashion with a very impressive win. Barker set sail from his outside front row starting spot and led the entire 20 laps in route to the win. The cagy veteran Scott Nesteby advanced all the way from his 12th position start to run second to Barker. Young Mark Schulte drove a great race in following the veterans across the line in third. Johnny Spaw drove his #1 to a fourth place finish ahead of Jerry Miles.

Bobby Moyer opened 2003 by scoring the NASCAR Pro Stock feature win. Moyer was pressured the last half of the 15 lap main by Ty Kleiner but was up to the challenge in scoring the victory. Jeff Kennedy followed Kleiner across the finish line in taking third.

Randy Benn drove his flagship #7 Hobby Stock to the opening win and the win was the Dyersville native’s first ever feature win at his home track. Benn led the main flag to flag in scoring the win over Jim Turpin and Doug Yates.

The new class at the Farley Speedway for 2003 is the B-Modified division. Mark Massey registered his name in the record books as the first ever feature winner in the new B-Mod class. Massey outraced Rory Becker to the checkers.

Al Brink made the long tow from Waukon to win the opening night Farley Flyers feature. Brink bested the 21 car starting field. Brian Kammerude took second ahead of Steve Stackis.

The Dodge NASCAR Weekly Racing Series season will continue on Friday nights all summer long with hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing to follow at the Farley Speedway.

4/18/03 Farley Speedway Race Results

Farley Flyers

Heat 1

19 Al Brink-Waukon
71 Adam Wills-Hazel Green, WI
7H Phil Holtz

Heat 2

55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI
1k Tim Koppes-Cascade
68 Steve Stackis-Dubuque


19 Brink
55 Kammerude
68 Stackis
38S Rob Kramer-Peosta
00 John Flury-Peosta
15 Loras Feldmann-Dyersville
01 Damien Miller-Dubuque
7K Travis Kaiser-Dyersville
71 Wills
7H Holtz
50Z Joe Zrostlik-Long Grove
69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI
38 R.J. Simon-Farley
1 Koppes
83 Jeff Willis-Farley
04 Jacob Reiff-Farley
21k Danny Kennedy-Dubuque
46 Anthony Petty
48J Jena Barthelmes-Cedar Rapids
31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI
97 Russ Their-Dyersville



30 Mark Massey-Farley
4 Rory Becker-Bernard
9 Leon Wilson-Hopkinton


30 Massey
4 Becker
9 Wilson
21I Todd Ihde-Garnivillo
7J Jacob Seegmiller-Dubuque

Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

7B Randy Benn-Dyersville
97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington
98 Jason Rauen-Farley

Heat 2

33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI
89 Kelly Welter-St. Donatus
81 K.C. Ansel-Dubuque


7B Benn
33 Turpin
72 Doug Yates-Monticello
98 Rauen
59 Mike Hughes-Galena
97 Dunkel
89 Welter
28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
23 Dennis Etten-Wyoming
81 Ansel
44 B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque
12 Matt Dunkel-Martelle
13 Laura Kramer-Dyersville

Pro Stocks

Heat 1

20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
2k Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque
25X Chad Simpson-Marion

Heat 2

25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque
97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville
32 Chris Simpson-Marion


25 Moyer
20 Kleiner
2K Kennedy
1 Dave Fieber-Platteville, WI
97 Reinert
25x Simpson
32 Simpson
22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque
0 Matt Bodman-Muscatine
14 Levi Benn-Dyersville


Heat 1

37B Ron Barker-Dubuque
74 Scott Nesteby-Asbury
4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque

Heat 2

27 Mark Schulte-Delhi
33W Steve Wetter-Platteville, WI
3 Jason Schueller-Dubuque


37 B Barker
74 Nesteby
27 Schulte
1 Johnny Spaw-Cedar Rapids
4 Miles
1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
66 Dan Bohr-Decorah
00 Josh Vinnedge-Forreston, IL
20 Kory Burmeister-Glen Haven, WI
17 Pat Flannagan-Cedar Rapids
23 Jason Udelhofen-Platteville, WI
24M Jan Messer-Manchester
11B Mike Burbridge-Delhi
33 John Burbridge-Delhi
24 Randy Less-Hopkinton
3 Schueller
33W Wetter
8 Rich Smith-Davenport
39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Models

Heat 1

51 Matt Furman-Iowa City
45 Curt Martin-Independence
77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls

Heat 2

3t Todd Davis-Iowa City
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
61R Jon Rogers-German Valley, IL


50 Eckrich
51 Furman
77 Aikey
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
27 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
61R Rogers
3t Davis
26 Steve Boley-West Liberty
45 Martin
12t Jeff Tharp-Dubuque
79 Darren Mish-Cassville
56E Andy Eckrich-Cosgrove
3 Josh McGowan-Vinton
9 Bobby Hansen-Dike
11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
145 Dale Hackwell-Waterloo
95 Ed Sanger-Postville
1M Rob Moss-Iowa City
57 Ryan Naab-Dubuque

Back to the Archives