Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Jay Blair ran Wheel to Wheel With Bates and Took the Win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 06, 2003 09:10 AM UIN: 16262997
Jay Blair ran Wheel to Wheel With Bates and Took the Win
Sue DuRoy April 5, 2003 Pike County Speedway
Lee Fariburn took the pure stock heat win, but for the feature it was a different story. George Bickford took the lead on the start of the feature and led every lap and scored the win. Tracy Talbert suffering an over heating problem battled for second with Lee Fariburn. Fariburn finished second and Talbert third. Joe Wilson fourth and Daron Jackson fifth.
Tyndale Dean and Dow Hillhouse shared the heat wins for UMP. On the start of the feature Jason Taylor ran high and took the lead. Billy Collett moved int6o third and closed in on Taylor. Those two ran high lap after lap nose to tail. Coming off four for the checkered Collett had a fender under Taylor. Taylor with the only Ford in the field took the win. Collett had to settle for second. Tyndale4 Dean finished third, Michael Blount fourth and Heath Willard fifth.
Randy (Cho Cho) Brownell and Robert Petit took the heat wins for pure stock. First lap into the feature Dave Petit broke and axel and lost on a wheel on the back straightaway causing a yellow. On the restart it was Rusty Cooper. Cooper led every lap and took the win. Robert Petit ran second, but couldn't catch Cooper and finished second. Jacob Brumfield finished third, Tudy Jackson fourth and Charles Womack finished fifth.
Roger Flynn and Louie Morales took the street stock heat wins. Flynn had to start 6th cause he won last time. Jason Holland blasted into the lead on the drop of the green. Ray Creel ran second. Flynn moved through traffic to third then ran wheel to wheel with Creel for second. Flynn had it for a minute then Creel took second back over and finished there behind the winner Holland. Flynn finished third. Tyrone Taylor ran fourth and Garry Talbert fifth.
Carol Babin and Darron LaCoste took the heat wins for super stock. LaCoste blasted into the lead and never looked back. There was no catching him. LaCoste led every lap and made it two wins out of two visits to Pike County. Wilson Voisin took second, Joyce Shelton battled with Joey Chassion for third and got the position from Chassion. Chassion finished fourth. Carol Babin took fifth.
Jay Blair and Donald Watson were the late model heat winners. On the start of the feature Davin Bates rocketed into the lead. Blair moved to second and ran Bates down. Lap after lap Bates tried to hang on while Blair poked a nose under him in the turns. With running down finally Blair took the lead and kept it to score the win. Bates second, Chick Boyd took third, Seavy Clemons fourth and Chris Wall fifth.
Street stock mechanic race was win by Jeff Furrate.
Mathew Arnold took the first Yard kart win at Pike County.

Back to the Archives