Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Galbreath, Jones top Winter Nationals Modified features
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted February 10, 2003 12:54 PM UIN: 16262997
Galbreath, Jones top Winter Nationals Modified features
MILTON, Fla. (Feb. 8) - Curtis Galbreath added a record fourth Winter Nationals trophy to his collection on Friday, while Todd Jones got his first the next night.
Galbreath, from Chipley, and Jones, from Pace, won the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modified feature events at Southern Raceway's 11th annual season-opening special.
Each victory was worth $1,000 and came in flag-to-flag fashion. Galbreath found the fastest lane in the middle while Jones ran in the lower groove.
Robert Powers settled into second early on Friday, moving from the low lane to the high side of the track in a last-lap gamble to catch Galbreath and finishing a car-length behind.
Scottie Hiett and Ben Stephens were quick to take over the third and fourth spots, respectively, and Shawn Haynes moved into fifth place to stay before mid-way of the 20-lapper.
Four cautions came out over the course of the race, the last eight circuits being run without interruption.
Sidelined by a first heat race accident on Friday, Jones came back the next night in a borrowed car to win his heat and then led the main event start to finish.
Jason Hughes took over second with two laps to go and was just less than two car lengths back of Jones at the end. Joseph Giesler, Kalif Sellier and Jamey Wynn completed the top five.
Five of the race's six cautions came in the first 10 laps. The luck Galbreath enjoyed the night before disappeared as he had ignition problems in his heat race and brought out one of the feature yellows with a lap eight flat.
Also a winner at Milton last year, in 2000 and in 1996, Galbreath had shared the career record of three Winter Nationals titles with Mark Stephens of Arlington, Tenn.

Feature Results
1. Curtis Galbreath;
2. Robert Powers;
3. Scottie Hiett;
4. Ben Stephens;
5. Shawn Haynes;
6. Terry Kerbough;
7. Clay Galbreath;
8. Tony Anglin;
9. Larry Hull;
10. Shane Stephens;
11. Kalif Sellier;
12. Ron Tubbs;
13. Jay Sessoms;
14. Glen Stephens;
15. Rusty Ellis;
16. Chris Smith;
17. Wesley DuBoise;
18. Doug Rogers;
19. Jason Hughes;
20. Bill Adams;
21. Jason Barnhill;
22. Jamey Wynn;
23. Greg Hughes.

1. Todd Jones;
2. Jason Hughes;
3. Joseph Giesler;
4. Kalif Sellier;
5. Jamey Wynn;
6. Aaron Perritt;
7. Jay Sessoms;
8. Clay Galbreath;
9. Terry Kerbough;
10. Shane Stephens;
11. Rusty Ellis;
12. Ben Stephens;
13. Carl Hickman;
14. Robert Powers;
15. Greg Hopkins;
16. Ron Tubbs;
17. Todd Neiheiser;
18. Chuck Cook;
19. Jason Barnhill;
20. Curtis Burns;
21. Curtis Galbreath;
22. Tony Anglin;
23. Chris Smith;
24. J.C. DuBoise.

Back to the Archives