Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Soyko wins finale, Adams is Winter Series champ at Canyon
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted February 10, 2003 12:54 PM UIN: 16262997
Soyko wins finale, Adams is Winter Series champ at Canyon
PEORIA, Ariz. (Feb. 8) - Jayson Soyko was fast enough to win the fourth and final event in the Barnett Harley-Davidson Winter Series at Canyon Raceway, while Robert Adams' 18th place showing was good enough to earn him the series championship.
Soyko bested a determined Justen Yeager in the race to the finish, pocketing $2,000 for the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modified victory.
Runner-up for the second time in as many weeks, Yeager stood just two points behind Adams in the race for the series crown. Adams, from Tucson, was last week's winner, adding earlier fifth- and ninth-place runs to his title total.
Rounding out the top five finishers on Saturday were Joe Warner, John Hansen and Curt Barnett.
Soyko became the fourth different driver to win a series event at Canyon this season, following Duane Cleveland, Kellen Chadwick and Adams to victory lane.
The series title is also considered a track championship for Adams, who will thus have a 40-point bonus "win" figured in his national and regional point totals at the end of the 2003 season.

Feature Results
1. Jayson Soyko;
2. Justen Yeager;
3. Joe Warner;
4. John Hansen;
5. Curt Barnett;
6. Tony Martin;
7. Bill Lundock;
8. Robert King Jr.;
9. Darin Center;
10. Rick Ward;
11. Sherman Barnett;
12. Rick Anderson;
13. Mike Strobl;
14. R.C. Whitwell;
15. Tim Palmer;
16. Butch Reid;
17. Christy Georges;
18. Robert Adams;
19. Brandon Carley;
20. Jim Hurd;
21. Dulane Colcleasure;
22. Kellen Chadwick;
23. Terry Belcher Jr.;
24. Jeremy Payne.

Final Top 10 Point Standings
1. Adams, 130
2. Yeager, 128
3. Curt Barnett, 127
4. Georges, 124
5. King, 118;
Warner, 118
7. Hansen, 108
8. Jason Noll, 107
9. Reid, 103
10. Whitwell, 102

Back to the Archives