Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Different routes take Wynn, Elliott to Ice Bowl victories
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted January 21, 2003 09:44 PM UIN: 16262997
Different routes take Wynn, Elliott to Ice Bowl victories
TALLADEGA, Ala. (Jan. 19) - Jamey Wynn and Greg Elliott followed different routes to arrive in the winner's cir-cle at Talladega Short Track's annual Ice Bowl.
Wynn, from just up the road in Munford, started on the pole and led flag to flag in topping the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modified feature, pocketing $1,500 for his efforts.
Elliott, meanwhile, saw plenty of interstate in towing from Webster City, Iowa. He'd grab the lead midway through the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car's North-South Challenge and hold defending track champion Charlie Chapman at bay to earn a tidy $750.
An event record 72 Modifieds were on hand, with 22 Stocks competing in that division's return to the Ice Bowl pro-gram.
Setting the tone for his weekend with first-place showing in his heat race, Wynn found the fastest lane on the bottom of the red clay track.
Brad Qualls and Scottie Hiett made bids for the front and the front-runners ran side-by-side-by-side several times be-fore Wynn pulled back ahead.
Qualls would end the night in second while Michael Robertson improved 19 spots from where he started to repeat his third-place finish from last year's Ice Bowl. Hiett tried the middle groove in his bid to catch Wynn and wound up getting shuffled back to fourth.
Michael Pickette was fifth and last-place starter Garrett Durrett posted a solid sixth place finish.
Adam Cummings set the pace in the early going for the Stocks. Wisconsin's Jeremy Christians was part of the lead pack before getting together with another car and going sideways.
Elliott found his way around Cummings, Chapman doing the same to set the stage for the chase to the checkers. The visitor was able to pick up a bit more bite, with Cummings and rookie Logan Yates following to round out the top four.
Fifth went to Kansas traveler Jason Schoenberger and sixth to Jeremy Hurst.
Seven states were represented in the Modified feature field, six in the Stock show.
Feature Results
Modifieds - 1. Jamey Wynn, Munford; 2. Brad Qualls, Pleasantville, Tenn.; 3. Michael Robertson, Minden, La.; 4. Scottie Hiett, Anniston; 5. Michael Pickette, Oxford; 6. Garrett Durrett, Simsboro, La.; 7. Randy Zeigler, Columbia, Tenn.; 8. Eric Hickerson, Lobelville, Tenn.; 9. Jimmy Dixon, Benton, Ark.; 10. Kalif Sellier, Pass Christian, Miss.; 11. Darrin Cameron, Hohenwald, Tenn.; 12. Jamie Burford, Keatchie, La.; 13. Todd Hurst, Lineville; 14. Henry Hanger, Winchester, Tenn.; 15. Scottie Gowers, Pell City; 16. Ryan Tolleson, Gadsden; 17. Chad Winkles, Falkville; 18. Jason Sullivan, Reagan, Tenn.; 19. Steve Ward, Texarkana, Ark.; 20. Greg Fanning, New Market; 21. Greg Hopkins, Pensa-cola, Fla.; 22. Shane Stephens, Arlington, Tenn.; 23. Tony Simmons, Rogersville; 24. Greg Cox, Altoona, Iowa.
Stock Cars - 1. Greg Elliott, Webster City, Iowa; 2. Charlie Chapman, Margaret; 3. Adam Cummings, Pell City; 4. Logan Yates, Delta; 5. Jason Schoenberger, Russell, Kan.; 6. Jeremy Hurst, Lineville; 7. Donnie Key, Talladega; 8. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay, Wis.; 9. Steven Cotton, Oxford; 10. Ronald Williamson, Lincoln; 11. Matt Greiner, Washington, Iowa; 12. Jeremy Christians, Horicon, Wis.; 13. Freddie Calhoun, Lincoln; 14. Billy Yarbrough, Eastaboga; 15. Eric Layfield, Odenville; 16. Travis Evans, Bullard, Texas; 17. Zach Sobaski, Washington, Iowa; 18. Eric Smith, Lineville; 19. Randy Nixon, Shreveport, La.; 20. Scott Magouirk, Anniston; 21. John Heinz, Green Bay, Wis.; 22. Tommy Shel-nutt, Oxford.

Back to the Archives