Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Louisiana State Championships at Baton Rouge Raceway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted October 20, 2002 09:02 AM UIN: 16262997
Louisiana State Championships at Baton Rouge Raceway
Sue DuRoy Oct 18 & 19 2002
Tommy Surrett, Bubba Mullins, Curt Lipsey, Kenny Merchant and Kevin Watts all took heat wins for SUPR Late Models. Dennis Duncan and Sam Patrick took the last chance wins. In the feature Curt Lipsey from the pole jumped into the lead. One lap in and Jerry Bevis brought out the4 first yellow when he spun in two. On the restart it was Lipsey followed by Kevin Watts. The second yellow flew when Sam Patrick broke and slowed on the track. Second place Kevin Watts retired to the pits while under yellow. On the restart it was Lipsey followed by Kenny Merchant and Bubba Mullins. Yellow flew again when Ronnie Adams got tapped in four and collected Davin Bates. Curt Lipsey went on to score the win followed by Kenny Merchant, Bubba Mullins, Jay Blair, Ryan Plaisance, Richie Cauthen, David Ashley, Rob Litton, Rusty Cooper, Ronnie Adams, Kennith Crowe and Tommy Surrett. Heat winners Saturday night were Curt Lipsey, Marlon Wild, Rodney Wing, Kenny Merchant, and Ry! an Plaisance. Last chance winners were Kennith Crowe and Chris Wall. Keith Mancel took the lead on the start of the feature followed by Curt Lipsey. In turn four Davin Bates got sideways and collected Tommy Surret and Rob Litton. At the same time under the flag stand first and second place Mancel and Lipsey got together. Lipsey wound up in the front wall and Mancel flipped landing on all four. This happened on lap 7. Kenny Merchant took over the lead and led the next 43 laps to score the win. Ryan Plaisance second, Sam Patrick third, Marlon Wild fourth,and Rodney Wing fifth,
SUPR Sprint heat winners were Butch David, Harold Henderson and David Kountz. Butch David jumped into the lead on the start of the feature. Michael Herrington moved to second with a broken front wing and tried to chase down David, but was unable to. David held him off and went on to take the win. Herrington second, 01 third, Terry Vidrine fourth and Harold Henderson fifth.
Joey Pilgram took the super stock heat win. Billy Joe Gordon led every lap of the super stock feature and scored the win , followed by Michael Taylor, Rick Schliegelmeyer, Joey Credido and Joyce Shelton.
UMP heat winners were Mark Chamel and Clyde Pleasant. Jerry Cassano led every lap of the UMP feature and rook the win. Roy Schenebelen tried lap after lap to get Cassano, but was unsuccessful and had to settle for second, Scotty Covington ran third the entire lap and finished there. Fourth was Henry and fifth Chad Williams.
Street stock heat winners were John Griffin, Robert Ringo and Todd Rogers. John Griffin took the lead on the street stock feature start followed by Robert Ringo. As the front two were running nose to tail through turn two Griffin started to loose it and a tap from Ringo sent him spinning. Robert Ringo led lap after lap with Todd Rogers was tight on him. Ringo smoked the entire race till finally transmission gave way and he retired to the infield as Rogers with his Wall to Wall engine took over the lead and sailed smoothly lap after lap and went on to score his first ever win at Baton Rouge Raceway. Shannon Graham took second, Garry Talbert third, Tyrone Taylor fourth and Daniel Jessup fifth.
Pure stock heat winners were Randy (Cho Cho) Brownell, Justin Bowman, and Mark Hardwick. On the start of the feature Zane Barcelona jumped right into the lead followed by a three wide battle between Mark Hardwick, Justin Bowman and Randy Brownell. Bowman popped out of the middle like a hot dog out of a bun and into second. Hardwick and Brownell ran wheel to wheel for third swapping alittle paint. Brownell spun and dropped back a few positions. Bowman took the lead from Barcelona. It looked like it might be Bowman's night till the car that started dead last in 23rd spot slowly threaded the needle and pick the field off one by one till he reached second then went past Bowman and took over the lead and went onto score the win. Kevin Dupont with the only Ford in the field of 23 passed every car and took the win. Justin Bowman second, the 100 car third, Zane Barcelona fourth, and Tim Moran fifth.
Mini Stock heat winners were Larry Clayton and Bubba Richardson.
22 Mini stock started the feature race with Larry Clayton setting the pace from the pole. Clayton blasted into the lead and led every lap putting more and more distance between him and the rest of the field. Clayton scored the win followed by Wayne Everett, Elvis Turbville,Hank Schlindwein and Ben Dana fifth.

Back to the Archives