Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Holzmeister makes good on October Fest opportunity
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted October 07, 2002 01:23 PM UIN: 16262997
Holzmeister makes good on October Fest opportunity
BEATRICE, Neb. (Oct. 6) - In the right place when opportunity came calling, Doug Holzmeister won Sunday's I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modified October Fest feature at Beatrice Speedway.
Holzmeister chased leader Johnny Saathoff for most of the first 20 laps. He inherited the lead when Saathoff exited with mechanical problems and then held off hard-charging David Trauernicht the final 10 circuits for the $3,000 top prize.
Trauernicht didn't compete on opening night of the two-day special but won his heat and consolation races Sunday to start 15th in the main event.
Brian Blessington was dominant in taking the $1,500 to-win I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car feature and Brandon Johnson prevailed in a tight I.M.C.A. Hobby Stock contest to pocket $750.
Saathoff took charge from the start of the Modified main, with the persistent Holzmeister following him into and through lapped traffic. When misfortune struck for the Jet, Holzmeister parlayed the opportunity into what he'd call the biggest win of his career during victory lane interviews.
Ricky Stephan was also in the fast groove, moving from back in the pack to finish third. Chris Alcorn was fourth.
Blessington started on the pole and led green to checkered in the caution-free Stock Car feature.
Slowed just a bit when he caught up to the back of the field, Blessington crossed the finish line ahead of Shane Stutzman, Scott Wiens and Keith Knop.
Taking the lead with five laps to go, Johnson won a tightly-contested Hobby Stock race. The front six cars ran bumper to bumper and side to side much of the first 15 circuits before Johnson eked ahead.
Bill Richards challenged and wound up second. Brent Schlake and Kent Husted completed the top four.
October Fest was delayed from Friday by inclement weather and the decision to push everything back to a Saturday-Sunday show paid off with dryer conditions and a fast track that frequently saw racing three and sometimes four wide.
Feature Results
Modifieds - 1. Doug Holzmeister, Colby, Kan.; 2. David Trauernicht, Beatrice; 3. Ricky Stephan, South Sioux City; 4. Chris Alcorn, Lincoln; 5. David Thome, Spalding; 6. Tim Echevarria, Junction City, Kan.; 7. Brian Foote, Essex, Iowa; 8. Robert Shepard, Ogden, Kan.; 9. Tom Vanover Jr., Beatrice; 10. Dan McKeighan, Omaha; 11. Brian Swenson, Bismarck, N.D.; 12. Scott Blessing, Kearney; 13. Jason Friesen, Sutton; 14. Ken Eckhoff, Omaha; 15. Jerry Wilkinson, York; 16. Gary Saathoff, Beatrice; 17. Greg Metz, Washington, Kan.; 18. Shawn VanLaningham, Beatrice; 19. Tim Ben-gard, Exira, Iowa; 20. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice; 21. Tom Petracek, Wilber; 22. T.J. Artz, Lincoln; 23. Kevin Larkins, Greenwood; 24. Dan Bohlmeyer, Beatrice.
Stock Cars - 1. Brian Blessington, Breda, Iowa; 2. Shane Stutzman, Milford; 3. Scott Wiens, Beatrice; 4. Keith Knop, Avoca; 5. Dave Baugh, Jefferson, Iowa; 6. Jeff Watts, Wymore; 7. Chris Langdale, Beatrice; 8. Todd Laflin, Beatrice; 9. Jason Crome, Hanover, Kan.; 10. Edd Huxoll, Sutton; 11. Mike Sherwood, Beatrice; 12. Charley Brown, North Platte; 13. Paul Burck, Beatrice; 14. Darren Nutsch, Byron; 15. Craig Roberts, Des Moines, Iowa; 16. Michael Stearns, Rising City; 17. Jeremy Bell, Deshler; 18. Greg Hoing, Lexington; 19. Gary Wark, Jordan, Minn.; 20. David Murk, Blue Rapids, Kan.; 21. Shawn Anderson, Haverhill, Iowa; 22. Derek Fralin, Beatrice.
Hobby Stocks - 1. Brandon Johnson, DeWitt; 2. Bill Richards, Coon Rapids, Iowa; 3. Brent Schlake, Blue Springs; 4. Kent Husted, Sioux City, Iowa; 5. Brian Langdale, Beatrice; 6. Randy Embrey, Granger, Iowa; 7. James Griffith, Bea-trice; 8. Chad Murray, Sioux City, Iowa; 9. Joe Krogman, Marysville, Kan.; 10. Roy Armstrong, Beatrice; 11. Orville Gilbert, Toledo, Iowa; 12. Hans Houfek, Homer; 13. Brett Behrends, Courtland, Kan.; 14. Tony Slothower, Salina, Kan.; 15. Tony Spunaugle, Blue Rapids, Kan.; 16. Jay Goosman, Hinton, Iowa; 17. Josh McCarell. Chapman, Kan.; 18. Tim Fralin, Beatrice; 19. Joel Naaf, Summerfield, Kan.; 20. Jesse VanLaningham, Beatrice.

Back to the Archives