Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Ballard takes win, Fonda track title;
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted September 30, 2002 02:57 PM UIN: 16262997
Ballard takes win, Fonda track title;
Z1 Empire State Series a Dunn deal
FONDA, N.Y. (Sept. 28) - Two champions were crowned in the finish of Saturday's Z1 Racing Supplies Empire State Series feature at Fonda Speedway.
Dan Ballard won the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modified event, wrapping up the season track title in the process.
And Billy Dunn was ninth, a finish good enough to give him the series points crown.
Several cautions slowed the 25-lap race event in the early stages, but Ballard held the lead through all of the restarts. Sean Lias started second in both the race and the point standings. With his eyes on a pair of prizes, Lias took the lead away from Ballard on lap 10.
Ballard stayed close to Lias as Steve Bidwell made his way to the front after starting eighth. Bidwell took over the third position on lap 12 and Ballard got by Lias for the lead two laps later.
Bidwell passed Lias for second on the 16th lap, but had nothing for the leader as Ballard went on to the win followed by Bidwell, George Catanzano, Joe Williams and Lias.
The same program sported a make-up race from July 28 that saw Bidwell, Danny Ody and Ballard finish 1-2-3.

Feature Results - 1. Dan Ballard; 2. Steve Bidwell; 3. George Catanzano; 4. Joe Williams; 5. Sean Lias; 6. Kevin Buff; 7. Bill Ward; 8. Kurt Olson; 9. Billy Dunn; 10. Skip Pabis; 11. Eric Stumpf; 12. Pete Knap; 13. Jeff Cleveland; 14. Willie Reed; 15. Tony Finch; 16. Mike Chilson; 17. Doug McKane; 18. Darcey Volands; 19. Bob Banks Jr.; 20. Bob Wilkie; 21. Danny Ody; 22. Ken Klinkowsky; 23. Keith Ackernecht; 24. Dennis Vrooman; 25. Todd Goldstine.

Final Top 20 Series Point Standings
1. Billy Dunn, Watertown 217
2. Sean Lias, Westfield, Pa. 211
3. Ron Root, Oneida 160
4. George Catanzano, Ghent 158
5. Steven Hough, Rensselaer 135
6. Ken Klinkowsky, Hastings 130
7. George Proctor Jr., Roxbury 127
8. Doug McKane, Groton 120
9. John Thayer, Fabius 114
10. Richard Townsend Jr., Hastings 104
11. Fred Proctor Jr., Clifton Park 97
12. Mike Chilson, Pennellville 96
13. Jeff Cleveland, Endicott 93
14. Bill Anderson, Weedsport 91
15. Steve Hartman, Woodhull 85
16. Bob Banks Jr., Hudson 83
17. Kevan Cook, Bernhards Bay 80
18. Steve Bidwell, Gallupville 75
19. Michael D. Smith, Arkport 74
20. Tony Finch, Fulton 70

Back to the Archives