Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Baton Rouge Raceway September 20,2002
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted September 21, 2002 05:53 AM UIN: 16262997
After 2 Years Richard Guidry Remembered How to Spank **** !
Sue DuRoy September 20,2002 Baton Rouge Raceway
Pure Stock heat winners Zane Barcelona and John Edmonston ran wheel to wheel an entire lap till Barcelona went on to get the lead and score the win in the caution less feature. Second went to John Edmonston, third Leonard Barrileou fourth Melvin Buecker, and fifth Crowe.
After 2 years of not racing Richard Guidry came out of retirement and jumped in his old car owned by Jason Wilks. Guidry and Tommy Cannon shared the heat wins. Guidry brought the 15 car field off turn for the start of the feature and right into the lead. Cannon running second got high in the marbles and drifted back. Mike Wholgamuth moved into second and Todd Hazel to third. John Griffin moved swiftly through the field and took over second. Upfront in the lead Guidry had 7 car lengths over Griffin. Griffin bobbled coming off four and Hazel took over second. Griffin took over second again next lap. Guidry went on to take the win unchallenged. John Griffin finished second, Todd hazel third, Mike Wholgamuth fourth and Gene Brown took over fifth on the last lap.
Mike Herrington and Sidney Lejenne shared the heat wins for the SUPR sprinters. Lejenne blasted into the lead on the drop of the green followed by Michael Herrington. Darrel Hyde moved into third. Leader Lejenne suffering brake problems spun in four but got turned around and underway without a yellow. Herrington went on as leader. Darrel Hyde took the lead away from Herrington. Lejenne spun in turn two this time and brought out the yellow. On the restart it was Herrington, Hyde and David Kuntz. Kuntz took second from Hyde. On the last lap Kuntz took over the lead and Hyde went up in a cloud of blue smoke. Coming off four for the checkered Herrington slipped by Kuntz just before the checkered flag and scored the win. Kuntz took second, Harold Henderson who had ran upfront all the race finished third, Sidney Lejenne worked his way back form last to finish fourth and Brandon Daniel finished fifth.
Wayne Everett took the heat and feature wins for mini stock. He led every lap of the feature. Cliff Temple finished second, Tom Dancy took third on the last lap, Donna Everett fourth and Sidney Persilver fifth.
Jerry Cassano and Dow Hillhouse shared the UMP heat wins. Cassano jumped right into the lead followed by Hillhouse. Roy Schenebelen took third from Kalif Sellier then went after Hillhouse for second. After moving into second Schenebelen tried to get Cassano, but fell short. Cassano took the win followed by Schnebelen, Sellier, Hillhouse and Frank Hillyard Sr.
Kevin Watts, Sam Patrick and Randy Blanchard shared heat wins for Late Models. Blanchard and Watts ran wheel to wheel on the start till Watts pulled into the lead. Halfway through the race Eric Courville got sideways and David Ashely with no where to go hit him. On the restart Watts continued to lead and went on to take the win. David Ashley went from last to third then battled side by side with Randy Blanchard for second. Ashley finally got second and finished there followed by Blanchard third, and Cook fourth.

Back to the Archives