Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Hummelmeier cleans up for big win at Dodge County
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted September 01, 2002 09:06 AM UIN: 16262997
Hummelmeier cleans up for big win

Beaver Dam Ford sponsored the final regular night of racing at the Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway Saturday. A good crowd was on hand for arguably the most exciting mod feature this year. With half the field being only a stones toss apart, Chad Hummelmeier held off Sammy Strasser for the win. Having already won his heat race, Hummelmeier would claim the extra $300 in the Golden’s Chimney Clean Sweep Award. Going into the final race of the season, Jay Schraufnagel has a comfortable lead in the point standings and appears to be headed for the track championship. In the final IMCA Stock race of the year, Bob Mann appeared to be in a good position to win his first race. It wasn’t until late that John Stanton and Jeremy Christians got around him and pull away from the field. Christians would take the lead with only five laps left and take the win. It was his tenth at the track this year. Christians would claim his fourth track championship in a row just ahead of Stanton and Brandon Czarapata. With the retirement of the DCRA Pure Stock class at the end of the season it was Nate Schepp taking his third win of the season over Steve Seitz. Seitz would also claim his fourth track championship. The IMCA Hobby Stock race was a race of attrition as only a few cars actually completed the race. Dustin Ward would lead from flag to flag for the win. Tony Schlei would finish second and move into a tie for the point lead with Jimmy Scanlon with one final race left.
In the mod feature Hummelmeier would use his front row start to his advantage by jumping out into the lead. Quickly, Strasser showed that he too had a car that could win by staying glued to his rear. Directly behind them the field was stacked two and three wide all the way through to the back. The track was incredibly smooth, wide and fast as the leaders set a blistering pace. On lap 8 Strasser took his turn in front for a few laps before Hummelmeier charged right back into the lead on the high side. Three wide behind the leaders, Scott Lewis, Dennis Schultz and Jay Schraufnagel each took turns running in third. Side by side the leaders would race for all 25 laps. On the final lap the two would make contact going down the backstretch with each nearly losing control. Hummelmeier would regain control first and take the win a half car-length ahead of Strasser, his first of the season at the track. Shultz would eke out third over Lewis and Schraufnagel.
In the IMCA Stock race it was Bob Mann showing the way over Jeff Owens and Scott Erdmann early. By lap 11 Stanton would move into second with Christians close behind. It wasn’t until lap 14 that Stanton would be able to move under Mann for the lead. His time out front however was short lived as Christians would take over the lead one lap later. Forced to move to the high side to keep from losing ground, Stanton could do no more than stay close to Christians as Christians would go on to score the win and the overall track championship. Mann held on for a strong third place run ahead of Rob Schmid and Brandon Czarapata.
In the Pure Stock race Nate Schepp held off Steve Sietz for the entire race. Jim Steger had a solid run going in third until he spun handing over the spot to Jason Behring. A late caution closed the field onto Schepp’s bumper. As the race got underway it was Seitz and Behring who would pressure Schepp for the remainder of the race. Schepp would take the win just ahead of Seitz and Behring.
The IMCA Hobby Stock race saw heat race winner Dustin Ward lead from the drop of the green flag, through the first caution for Jason Jaragoske’s flipped car and to the end of the race. All the while being pressured by Tony Schlei. Schlei would have to settle for the runner up spot behind Ward. Dean Vande Zande would survive the night and come home third for his best finish of the year.
In the Race of Champions sponsored by Wally’s Auto, Jay Schraufnagel would take the mod win. Jeremy Christians took the IMCA Stock win and Nate Schepp won his second race of the night in the Pure Stock R.O.C. Tony Schlei would capture the IMCA Hobby Stock finale. In the Second Place Challenge race sponsored by Tim Paitrick Transmissions, Kory Koltz won in his mod and Bob Mann took his IMCA stock car to the winners circle for the first time this year. Doug Brabant won the Pure Stock race and Dustin Ward claimed the win in the Hobby Stock class.
Racing takes a week off before hosting the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints. Track Champions will also be claimed in the IMCA Modified and IMCA Hobby Stock divisions.


Feature: 1) Chad Hummelmeier, Beaver Dam; 2) Sammy Strasser, Beaver Dam; 3) Dennis Schultz, Oshkosh; 4) Scott Lewis, Waukau; 5) Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; 6) Casey Koch, Beaver Dam; 7) Dan Musbach, Grafton; 8) Dennis Haldemann, Janesville; 9) Craig Wheeler, Montello; 10) Dave Schoenberger, Beaver Dam
First Heat: 1) Dennis Haldemann; 2) Scott Lewis; 3) Dan Musbach
Second Heat: 1) Chad Hummelmeier; 2) Sammy Strasser; 3) Dave Schoenberger
Third Heat: 1) Nick Woods; 2) Jay Schraufnagel; 3) Jamie Schmidt, Seymour
IMCA Stock
Feature: 1) Jeremy Christians, Horicon; 2) John Stanton, Reeseville; 3) Bob Mann, Juneau; 4) Rob Schmid, Burnett; 5) Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; 6) Jeff Owens, Randolph; 7) Scott Erdmann, Juneau; 8) Mike Czarapata, Pulaski; 9) David Rihm, Black Creek; 10) Roger Johnson, Saukville
First Heat: 1) John Stanton; 2) Roger Johnson; 3) Scott Erdmann
Second Heat: 1) Jeremy Christians; 2) Brandon Czarapata; 3) Jerry Schaalma
DCRA Pure Stock
Feature: 1) Nate Schepp, Juneau; 2) Steve Seitz, Beaver Dam; 3) Jason Behring, Beaver Dam; 4) Jim Steger, Beaver Dam; 5) Randy Schimmel, Beaver Dam
First Heat: 1) Doug Brabant, Beaver Dam; 2) Randy Schimmel; 3) Jason Behring
IMCA Hobby Stock
Feature: 1) Dustin Ward, Beaver Dam; 2) Tony Schlei, Zion, Ill; 3) Dean Vande Zande, Waupun; 4) Nathan Gerbitz, Markesan; 5) Jimmy Scanlon, Pleasant Prairie
First Heat: 1) Dustin Ward; 2) Jason Jaragoske, Beaver Dam; 3) Nathan Gerbitz

Back to the Archives