Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted September 01, 2002 08:33 AM UIN: 16262997

August 31, 2002
Media Contact: Judy Gower 724-853-7223 /

IMPERIAL, PA - Late Model rookie, Al Atallah of Oakdale captured his fifth QPI Tools feature event of the season Saturday night at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Other repeat winners were Tony Sinicrope of Coraopolis in the Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Models, Austintown Ohio's Wayne Tessean in the E-Modifieds, and Frankie Schneider of McKees Rocks in the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks. Finleyville's Butch Levandosky picked up his first feature win in the Amateur Strictly Stocks.

Atallah's Rocket Chassis powered by a spec motor blasted into the lead at the start of the late model feature, and he proceeded to set a blistering pace until the first yellow waved on lap eleven for a slowing John Flinner. Flinner, who had been running fourth, made it to the pits and returned to tail the field before the race went back to green. A couple more yellows kept the rest of the field close, but Atallah was riding a rail, and he managed to pull away each time the race resumed. The final caution waved on lap twenty for Mark Moats, who came to a stop in turn four. Lined up behind Atallah for the final five circuits were DJ Miller, George Kowatic, Dave Wade and Ed Ferree. Atallah continued to show the way for the remaining laps, and at the checker it was Atallah first, with Miller turning in a fine run for second in his back-up spec motor car. Kowatic was a close third, and Flinner, who charged back from the rear, garnered fourth shuffling Dave Wade to fifth, and Ed Ferree to sixth. Jimmy Zarin finished seventh, while Monarch Oil Hard Charger, Lou Bradich was eighth, Mike Cecere ninth, and Ben Miley rounded out the top ten. Flinner and Mike Johnson took the heat race wins.

As the three-way battle for the QPI Tools late model track championship intensifies, Atallah with his win, has closed to within eleven points of leader Ferree, and he is just two points behind Flinner, who is currently second. Two more points nights remain on the schedule.

The Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Model Feature was all Tony Sinicrope, as he led every lap for his second win of the year. Chasing him the entire time was Rich Apolito who hung on for the runner-up spot with Bobby Castelveter third, Tony Musolino fourth, and completing the top five was Neal Isiminger from twelfth. Tom Schirnhofer finished sixth with Jon Hodgkiss seventh, Pete Loria eighth, Jim Stephans ninth, and Danny Rich tenth. Heat races were won by Loria and Musolino, and Isiminger was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Wayne Tessean got by Chuck Kennedy on the fourth lap and never looked back in taking his sixth E-modified feature of the season. Kennedy was a strong second, Ralph Hysong Jr finished third, with Russ Matejka fourth after starting twelfth. JJ Bametzrieder finished fifth, Kurt Halbedl was sixth, Bruce Dreistadt seventh, Scott Gunn eighth, Joel Johns ninth, and completeing the top ten was Jeff Broniszewski. Heats were taken by Monarch Oil Hard Charger, Matejka and Tessean.

The Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks had a surprise ending when race winner Frankie Schneider expressed his thanks in victory lane, and then suddenly turned to his girlfriend Kristen and asked her to marry him. Kristen did say yes. Schneider's win was his second of the year, and he led it wire to wire. The race was red flagged briefly on the fifth lap when Greg McManus' car burst into flames as he rode down the front straightaway. McManus was not injured in the spectacular incident, and the race continued after the oil on the track was cleaned up. Following Schneider across the line at the finish was Stacie White, Doug Foster, Darryl Robison and Craig Kamicker. Sixth through ten were AJ Poljak, Brian Scheller, Shawn Bryan, Joe Anthony and John Cain. The heats were taken by Ron O'Patchin and Kamicker, who also won the Monarch Oil Hard Charger honors.

The caution-free Amateur Stock feature saw Butch Levandosky lead all twelve laps to pick up his first win of the year. Tony Capo was able to hold off a hard charging Bob Schwartzmiller for second with Josh Langer fourth and Ian Tomei fifth. Six through ten were Gabe Hahka, Bill Robertson, Robby Torrens, Skeets Levandosky and Ken Puglisi.Butch Levandosky also won the heat race and Robertson was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Appreciation plaques were presented to all the feature winners compliments of the PPMS Super Snuffers Fire Team. Shifting the spotlight to the younger racers in attendance, the annual Kid's Bike Races were held on the racetrack, and E-modified driver Joe Pemberton of Total Package Racing gave away two bicycles at their conclusion. Megan Molinaro and Patrick Apolito were the lucky bike winners. Coincidentally, Patrick had just received a new bike during the week, thus the Apolito family generously decided to donate the bicycle to Racer's for Tots (which benefits Toys for Tots), a gesture which will certainly put a smile on the face of a needy child this Christmas.

This Saturday, September 7 is a regular program for the QPI Tools Late Models, Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Models, E-Mods, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and the Amateur Stocks. It is also Fan Appreciation Night with reduced grandstand admission and RACE-O is back by popular demand. For more information about Saturday's program, or for information on the upcoming Pittsburgher 100 weekend which takes place on September 20-22, you can call the business office at 724-853-7223, or visit us on the web at


QPI Tools Late Models
Heat Race Winners: John Flinner, Mike Johnson
Feature (25 Laps): 1) Al Atallah, 2) DJ Miller, 3) George Kowatic, 4) John Flinner, 5) Dave Wade, 6) Ed Ferree, 7) Jim Zarin, 8) Lou Bradich, 9) Mike Cecere, 10) Ben Miley, 11) Bill Adler, 12) Brian Laraway, 13) Chuck Moury, 14) Mark Moats, 15) Alex Ferree, 16) Butch D'Antonio, 17) Mike Johnson, 18) Dave Johnson, 19) Ron Rush, 20) Gary Swiger

Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Models
Heat Race Winners: Pete Loria, Tony Musolino
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Tony Sinicrope, 2) Rich Apolito, 3) Bobby Castelveter, 4) Tony Musolino, 5) Neal Isiminger, 6) Tom Schirnhofer, 7) Jon Hodgkiss, 8) Pete Loria, 9) Jim Stephans, 10) Danny Rich, 11) Rich Gasparavich, 12) Kirk Young, 13) Tom Bateman, 14) Jesse Burroughs, 15) Ron Williams, 16) Scott Adamson

Heat Race Winners: Russ Matejka, Wayne Tessean
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Wayne Tessean, 2) Chuck Kennedy, 3) Ralph Hysong, 4) Russ Matejka, 5) Jeff Bametzrieder, 6) Kurt Halbedl, 7) Bruce Dreistadt, 8) Scott Gunn, 9) Joel Johns, 10) Jeff Broniszewski, 11) Vince Laboon, 12) Joe Pemberton, 13) Denny Nakutis, 14) Daryl Charlier, 15) Bill Westlake, 16) John Myrgo, 17) Dennis Niederriter (DNS), 18) Jim Petrelle (DNS), 19) John Pacifico (DNS)

Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks
Heat Race Winners: Ron O'Patchin, Craig Kamicker
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Frankie Schneider, 2) Stacie White, 3) Doug Foster, 4) Darryl Robison, 5) Craig Kamicker, 6) AJ Poljak, 7) Brian Scheller, 8) Shawn Bryan, 9) Joe Anthony, 10) John Cain, 11) Mike Chruszcz, 12) Mike McKee, 13) Neal Isiminger, 14) Jake Simmons, 15) Joe Hackimer, 16) Wayne Johnson, 17) Bob Betz, 18) Eric Betz, 19) Mark Rozum, 20) Ron O'Patchin, 21) Jason Broerman, 22) Greg McManus

Amateur Stocks
Heat Race Winner: Bill Robertson
Feature (12 Laps): 1) Butch Levandosky, 2) Tony Capo, 3) Bob Schwartzmiller, 4) Josh Langer, 5) Davy Lee, 6) Ian Tomei, 7) Gabe Hahka, 8) Bill Robertson, 9) Robby Torrens, 10) Skeets Levandosky, 11) Ken Puglisi, 12) Steve Mills, 13) Jim Moore

Back to the Archives