Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Tazewell Speedway results 8-18-02 (Tazewell, TN)
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted August 18, 2002 08:46 AM UIN: 16262997
Tazewell Speedway results 8-18-02 (Tazewell, TN)
By Art Bean

Super Late Model:
Fast qualifier Steve Smith turned an 11.643 (115.950 MPH) started on the front row with Jack Trammell. Smith rolled out front of Jack Trammell, David Crabtree, Ricky Rogers and Stacy Boles. Troy Eads spun on lap two for the first caution of the night with a flat tire and Scott Sexton slowed with a flat tire. On lap three Sexton and J. Allen rubbed sheet metal on the backstretch, Allen went on the hook on lap five. Sexton passed Fred England and Dale Ball on lap seven, then Sexton got in to the back of Brian Smith in turn two and B. Smith ended up with a cut right rear tire. On the restart Sexton passed Michael Smith. Lap ten something broke on Jason Trammell car while running fourth when it made a sharp turn up the hill in turn four. On the restart it was S. Smith, Jack Trammell, Crabtree, Rogers, Boles, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Sexton, M. Smith, Ball, Eads, the top ten. Lap eleven Sexton got together with Boles. The top five on the restart it was S. Smith, Jack Trammell, Crabtree, Rogers and Wolfenbarger. Sexton passed Boles and Wolfenbarger to take over fifth place on the restart. Sexton passed Rogers on lap seventeen for fourth place. England spun in turn two on lap twenty, on the restart Crabtree and Sexton passed Jack Trammell. Rogers crossed his car up on lap twenty-five and Wolfenbarger got in to Rogers. Sexton passed Crabtree on the high side on lap twenty-six and in on the bumper of S. Smith the leader. Sexton tried the low side of S. Smith on lap thirty-two but couldn't get the job done. Crabtree spun in turn two on lap thirty-five while running third. Sexton passed S. Smith on lap thirty-seven while M. Smith brought out the caution. Putting Sexton back in second and S. Smith back out front. On the restart Sexton passed S. Smith again in turn four for the led.

Scott Sexton from Pigeon Forge, TN driving the MasterSbilt, Roger and Cindy Kerr Performance equipment, Custom Race Engine went on to take the win.

Finish-Start-Drivers Name-Car Number
1. (7) Scott Sexton #52 blank
2. (1) Steve Smith #201
3. (2) Jack Trammell #90
4. (6) Ricky Rogers #144
5. (5) Stacy Boles #11b
6. (11) Dale Ball #25
7. (13) Troy Eads #52 yellow
8. (4) David Crabtree #5
9. (10) Brian Smith #g7
10. (8) Fred England #18
11. (9) Jeff Wolfenbarger #28
12. (12) Michael Smith #32
13. (15) Marty Phillips #6
14. (3) Jason Trammell #91
15. (14) J. Allen #111
16. (16) Jeff Mawpin #11

Limited Late Model:
Fast qualifier Gary Blanken turned a 12.545 (107.613 MPH) and started on the front roll with Danny Yoder. Before a lap could be completed Leonard Bray and Scott Gardner got in to the turn one wall with Chris Brooks, Gary Grant, Ernie Stuart and Scott Standifer for a complete restart. Once under way Blanken took the led followed by Yoder, Pug Hodges, Richie Bean and Gary Willis. The caution flew for debris on lap one from the first accident. The top five stayed the same on the restart. Keith Chapman passed Willis on lap two and took over fifth place. Lap sixteen and the leaders were working lap traffic. When on lap seventeen Robert Perry, Ernie Stuart and Danny Yoder got in to the turn two wall. Lap seventeen Yoder engine went up in smoke and Dan Miley spun then Willis got in to Miley. On the restart the top five were Blanken, Bean, Chapman, Frank Merritt and Randall Self. Lap Eighteen Merritt passed Self for fourth place. Blanken broke a hub in turn one while leading. This put Bean out front followed by Chapman, Merritt, Self and Miley the top five.

It was Richie Bean from Tazewell, TN driving the C. J. Rayburn, Tammy and Co., Old Town Detail Shop, A-1 Radiator, Hometown Grocery, Okie's Pharmacy, Quality Tire and Muffler, Jerry Bean Racing Engines, Pioneer Auction Co., Krystal's Clinch Mnt. Cabins, New Tazewell Produce, Po' Boy's Restaurant, taking the win.

Finish-Start-Drivers Name-Car Number
1. (6) Richie Bean #11
2. (8) Keith Chapman #92
3. (9) Frank Merritt #c8
4. (13) Randall Self #91
5. (15) Dan Miley # 71
6. (19) Eric Creech #n30
7. (1) Gary Blanken #g7
8. (17) Josh Chesney #05
9. (18) Scott Standifer #515
10. (16) Gary Grant #4g
11. (2) Danny Yoder #2 black
12. (5) Pug Hodges #2 white
13. (7) Gary Willis #07w
14. (4) Robert Perry #21
15. (14) Ernie Stuart #31
16. (11) Leonard Bray #17
17. (10) Scott Gardner #25
18. (12) Chris Brooks #88
19. (3) Rex Coffey #3
20. (20) Clyde Stanton #25

Modified Street:
Fast qualifier Tim Hatfield turned a 14.527 (92.930 MPH) with Rick Welch along side on the front row. Welch jumped out front followed by Tony Trent, Anthony Morgan, Tim Hatfield and Allen Holt. Just as the leaders reached lap traffic Charlie England slowed in turn two on lap eight. The caution flew for water on the track on lap thirteen. Bubba Long passed Holt for fifth place on lap fifteen. Anthony Morgan stopped in turn four with a heating problem while running third.

Rick Welch from Tazewell, TN driving the C and R trucking, Welch Aluminum number eighteen went on to pick up his second win of the season.

Finish-Start-Drivers Name-Car Number
1. (2) Rick Welch #18 black
2. (4) Tony Trent #18 blue
3. (1) Tin Hatfield #3
4. (5) Bubba Long #10
5. (10) Tim Trent #17
6. (8) Charlie England #99
7. (6) Allen Holt #24
8. (14) Jerry Hurst #12
9. (13) Jesse Hoover #3
10. (3) Anthony Morgan #26
11. (11) Tim Grindstaff #33
12. (15) Junior Weaver #1
13. (16) Scott Boggs #b1
14. (3) Donnie Rich #16
15. (9) Mitch Houston #00
16. (12) Gerald Ayers #43
17. (18) Tim Cross #44
18. (17) Craig Moore #90

Pure Street:
Fast qualifier Jonathan Miracle turned a 16.451 (82.062 MPH) and John Whitaker ran side by side for the first lap. Before Miracle was able to pull out front over Whitaker, followed by Eddie Younce, Mike Bright and Bobby Bean the top five. Just as the leaders were getting in to lap traffic on lap five the caution flew for debris on the track. Lap seven Gary Harville slowed on the backstretch and in turn two Chester Jarnigan got up on the turn two wall with Larry Burke below him. Burke's car held Jarnigan's car from rolling over on its top that was already on its side. Bobby Moore passed Ernest Gray on lap nine to move in to the top seven. Whitaker had his hands full on lap fifteen as Younce went to the high side to take over second from Whitaker.

Jonathan Miracle from Tazewell, TN held off all charges driving the ABC Escort Service in Pure Street to pick up his third win of the season

Finish-Start-Drivers Name-Car Number
1. (1) Jonathan Miracle #50
2. (3) Eddie Younce #81
3. (2) John Whitaker #22
4. (6) Mike Bright #7
5. (5) Jody Horton #56
6. (4) Bobby Bean #77
7. (11) Bobby Moore #m4
8. (10) Chuck Phelps #33
9. (8) Gary Harville #27
10. (14) Ernest Gray #37
11. (15) Dustin Harville #15
12. (7) Larry Burke #54
13. (12) Eddie Weaver #e3
14. (13) Richard Ely #28
15. (7) Chester Jarnigan #31
16. (16) Speed Campbell #4

Four Cylinder:
Danny Yoder Jr. picked up his first win driving in the four-cylinder class on the high banks of "The Taz" the fastest dirt track in the world.

Finish-Start-Drivers Name-Car Number
1. (2) Danny Yoder #2y
2. (4) Randy Helton #2
3. (6) Alan Holloway #a27
4. (3) Michael Simpson #m7
5. (1) Phillip Gerding #6
6. (5) Brad Pressley #19
7. (7) Brad Albright

Next week Tazewell Speedway will present the trophies and name the track champions for 2002. Ricky Rogers picked up his trophy and $4,000 in cash for being the Super Late Model Champion for 2002 at Tazewell Speedway tonight. Ricky's son Steven is getting married next weekend and Ricky will not be able to be at the trophy presentation next weekend.
Check out Tazewell Speedway on the internet at

Back to the Archives