Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Whitehead Took First Feature Win at Baton Rouge
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted August 12, 2002 06:17 PM UIN: 16262997
Whitehead Took First Feature Win at Baton Rouge
August 9, 2002 Sue DuRoy
John Griffin the street stock heat winner and Robert Ringo ran wheel to wheel down the front straightaway. Turn two Griffin bobbled and Ringo moved into the lead. The only yellow for the race was when Griffin went up in a cloud of blue smoke with 6 laps to go. Ringo with his Billy Kirkwood horsepower took the win followed by Gene Brown and Joe Wholgamuth.
Ryan Whitehead blasted into the lead on the start of the pure stock feature. He set sail and never looked back. They ran caution free. Zane Barcelona took second 6 car lengths back, Bo Garig took third, Mark Hardwick fourth and Tim Moran fifth. Garig and Barcelona took the heat wins.
Roy Schnebelen took the lead on the start of the UMP feature. Darron Carroll moved into third then took the lead from Schnebelen coming off two. Jerry Cassano worked his way to third then took second form Carroll on the front straightaway. A lap later Cassano took the lead from Carroll and went on to score the win followed by Carroll, Schnebelen, Billy Collett and Tyndale Dean. Schnebelen and Dean scored the heat wins.
Mini stock ran caution free also. Wayne Everett led the whole race and took the win followed by heat winner Larry Clayton, Hank Schlindwein third, Donna Everett fourth and Cliff temple fifth.
Late Model heat winners were Chris Wall and Jerry Bevis. Wall took the lead on the start. David Ashley moved into second then when they came up to lap traffic got under Wall and they ran wheel to wheel. AS they passed the lap car Wall still had the lead. Under the flag stand with 3 lap remaining Ashley took over the lead and went onto win followed by Wall, Jerry Bevis and Randy Cook.

Back to the Archives