Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Standridge and Bollinger master tricky surface ATRP
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted August 05, 2002 11:38 AM UIN: 16262997
Standridge and Bollinger master tricky surface

Robbie Standridge held off Tommy Worley Jr. in the KFVS 12 Winged Sprint car feature taking his fourth victory lane appearance of the year. Todd Rowland kept Travis Mize behind him to finish third with Mize taking home a fourth place run, with Shawn King finishing fifth in a new ride.

Standridge and Worley Jr. shared the front row in the feature event, at the drop of the green Standridge shot out to the lead. Standridge led all 25-laps of the feature event enduring two caution flag periods to score the win and add to him KFVS 12 championship point lead.

Second place finisher Worley Jr. closed in on Standridge early in the event and almost took over the lead several times but couldn’t complete a pass. Rowland started fourth in the main event and moved into third on the first lap staying there throughout the entire event. Mize fell back to fourth on the start also holding onto the position to the finish. King, sporting a new car, started sixth and was able to move up one position to finish fifth.

The Pure Street feature race found Dietrich Bollinger keeping a hard-charging Danny Hampton at bay to nail down his fourth feature victory of the year. Bollinger dominated the 15-lap event leading green flag to checkered flag.

Bollinger and Patrick Naeger shared the frontrow for the start of the race. Bollinger quickly jumped out to the lead with Naeger falling back to second. Derek Despain moved into the second spot on the third lap after Naeger spun bringing out the caution flag. Despain held the position until the sixth lap when he also spun on the tricky surface. Hampton inherited the second position.

The race, slowed by five caution flag, found Hampton putting pressure on the leader in the middle stages of the event after Bollinger began to lose his brakes. The final caution flag helped Bollinger by cooling his brake fluid helping him to extend his lead in the final laps.

Cline Myers Jr. was able to finish third despite suffering from a misfiring engine with rookie driver Jason Mueller finishing fourth with Doug Neuhalfen coming from his 11th starting position to finish fifth.

Sikeston resident Chris Hall put his #66 modified into victory lane picking up his fifth feature win in the last seven events in the Miller Lite Open-Wheel Modified division. Following Hall across the finish line was Danny Sissom in second with Greg King and Bill Smith finishing third and fourth.

In the feature event Greg King quickly jumped out to the lead at the drop of the green flag with Hall, Gary Geiler and John Barnett in tow.

On the fourth circuit the two front runners of Hall and King made contact in turn one sending the King machine to the pits for a quick tire change. The Hall car was not damaged.

Hall maintained the lead throughout the rest of the 20-lap event holding off pressing charges from Danny Sissom to pick up the win. King battled from the back of the pack after changing two tires to finish the evening in third. Smith was running third for several laps before falling to King; the Park Hills driver ended the night in fourth. Gary Geiler, of Fenton, took the checkered flag in the caution field event in fifth.

In the Motorsports Unlimited Cruiser feature Jason Guardian and Daniel Hancock of Jonesboro, Ill scored their first feature win of the 2002 racing season. The pair dominated the 10-lap feature event winning the race by a half-lap over the second place finisher.

Wayne Bartles and Jeff Trankler led early in the feature but suffered mechanical problems which dropped them out of the chase midway through the event. Another Illinois pair Mark Henry and Jason Owens finished second in the 9k car, Dana Rowland and Joan Mayberry scored a third place finish. Chris and Lisa Scheffer earned another top-five finish with a fourth place run with Rodney Hurst and Edert Bowen finishing fifth.

KFVS 12 Winged Sprints

Robbie Standridge (12x) Springfield, Ill.
Tommy Worley Jr. (97) Bismark, Mo.
Todd Rowland (14r) Jackson, Mo.
Travis Mize (29m) Summers, Ark.
Shawn King (9) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Jason Keith (28) Fredericktown, Mo.
Jason Hunt (19) Farmington, Mo.
Bob Thoman (77) Higginsville, Mo.
Andy Holden (3) Dudley, Mo.
Jay Landolt (25j) Wood River, Ill.
Miller Lite Modifieds

Chris Hall (66) Sikeston, Mo.
Danny Sissom (95s) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Greg King (1k) Sikeston, Mo.
Billy Smith (14) Park Hills, Mo,
Greg Geiler (88g) Fenton, Mo.
Shawn Haynes (21h) Malden, Mo.
Leo Kiefer (62K) Perryville, Mo.
Jeff Parmer (5p) Fenton, Mo.
Larry Hull (78) Old Appleton, Mo.
Terry Baker (10) Scott City, Mo.

Pure Street

Dietrich Bollinger (8) Benton, Mo.
Danny Hampton (84) Morley, Mo.
Cline Myers Jr. (24) Scott City, Mo.
Jason Mueller (72) Perryville, Mo.
Doug Neuhalfen (r38) Perryville, Mo.
Patrick Naeger (29) Perryville, Mo.
Derek Despain (79) Millersville, Mo.
Rusty Golightly (40) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Jeff Beeson (4) Benton, Mo.
Patrick Naeger (6) Perryville, Mo.
Motorsports Unlimited Cruisers

Guardian/Hancock (5) Jonesboro, Ill.
Henry/Owens (9k) Hendersonville, Tenn.
Rowland/Mayberry (110) Jackson, Mo.
Scheffer/Scheffer (184) Dutchtown, Mo.H
Hurst/Bowen (77) Millersville, Mo.
Knight/Knight (22) Jonesboro, Ill.
Bartels/Trankler (30) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Redden/Calder (74) Clarkton, Mo.
Meystadt/Gereke (L16) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Borgfield/Biesher (100%) Cape Girardeau, Mo.

Back to the Archives