Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Gary Webb Scores Win Number 3 of 2002 At Dubuque Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted August 05, 2002 11:14 AM UIN: 16262997
Gary Webb Scores Win Number 3 of 2002 At Dubuque Speedway

The NASCAR Weekly Racing Series was in action on Dupaco Community Credit Union and Gatorade Race Night at the Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway on Sunday night.

The veteran and three time NASCAR Late Model track champion Gary Webb notched his third feature win of the season on Sunday night. Webb came from deep in the pack to score a hard fought win. Webb was able to work the low side of the track to perfection in making his way to the front. Webb was challenged for the win the last ˝ of the race by Darren Mish. The two raced side by side for several laps before Webb was able to secure the top spot and take the win. Mish settled for yet another second place finish. Mark Merfeld ran amongst the leaders the entire distance and crossed the line in third. The race was red flagged before one lap could be completed for a roll over involving Luke Merfeld. The roll over was Luke’s second in the last month and happened at the same spot on the track. Luke was uninjured in the incident.

Popular Dubuque driver Scott Nesteby scored his first hometown win of the season in the NASCAR Modified division. Nesteby found the low groove to his liking in scoring the 20 lap feature win. Nesteby fought off the challenges of Jason Schueller and Ron Barker in scoring the Gatorade win.

Bobby Moyer led the 15 lap Pro Stock feature flag to flag on his way to his second win of the season at Dubuque. Moyer drove a flawless race in using the high side to take the checkers ahead of Jeff Tharp, who came from a sixth row start to take second ahead of Ty Kleiner and Jim Brokus.

Ed McIntyre scored his first win of 2002 in topping a very tough NASCAR Hobby Stock field. McIntyre drove his #28 to the checkers by holding off several challenges by Jason Rauen. The two came under the checkers side by side with McIntyre scoring the win by less than a car length. Steve Dunkel took third in the 10 lap feature.

Becky Roth drove her Toyota to the feature win on Sunday night in the Farley Flyer main event. The win was Becky’s second in the last three weeks of racing at Dubuque. Randy Leehan came from well back in the pack to take second at the finish line.

The NASCAR Weekly Racing Series will continue on Sunday, August 11th with True Value Hardware Back to School Night at the races. Race time will be 6:30 p.m.

Race Results 8-4-02

Farley Flyers

Heat 1

1. 21K Danny Kennedy-Dubuque

2. 31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI

3. 14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

Heat 2

1. 69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI

2. 23 Keith Kiernan-Dubuque

3. 17 Randy Leehan-Apple River, IL


69 Roth
17 Leehan
23 Keith Kiernan
25 Brian Kelly
21K Kennedy
14 Benn
31 Roth
57 Don Marcov Jr-Dubuque
66 Tony Brimeyer-Dubuque
4 Josh Trame-South Wayne, WI
8x Rob Erschen-E. Dubuque, IL
75 Chad Naderman-Farley

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

13 Larry Benn-Dyersville
33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI
59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL

Heat 2

28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
8K Jerry Merkes-Farley
97Steve Dunkel- Worthington


28 McIntyre
98 Jason Rauen-Farley
97 Dunkel
33 Turpin
59 Hughes
81 K.C. Ansel-Dubuque
83 Rob Petsche-Centralia
13 Benn
6 Jed Frieberger-Dubuque
8K Merkes
22 Corey Bauer-Monticello
89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque

NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

25 Bobby Moyer-Dubuque
1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids
97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville

Heat 2

99 Ken Martelle-LaMotte
35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque
22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque


25 Moyer
12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque
20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
35 Brokus
2K Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque
22 Valentine
1 Walker
71 Kevin Schroeder-Low Moor
97 Reinert
18 Skip Culbertson-Dubuque
99 Martelle
16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
23 Jim Amos-Peosta
13 Dan Fortman-Dubuque

NASCAR Modifieds

Heat 1

24m Jan Messer-Manchester
20 Cory Burmeister-Glen Haven, WI
16 Ryan Dolan-Lisbon

Heat 2

11 Mike Burbridge-Delhi
4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque
3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque


74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque
3 Schueller
37b Ron Barker-Dubuque
16 Dolan
20 Burmeister
10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green, WI
11 Burbridge
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
27 Mark Schulte-Delhi
1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque
4 Miles
5D Bob Dominacki-Bettendorf
39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL
63 Scott Olson-Preston
24m Messer
89 Tom Pestka-Delhi
19 Jim Allen-Dubuque
80 Denny Ansel-Dubuque
13 Luke Pestka-Delhi

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

Heat 1

21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass

Heat 2

1. 8 Mark Merfeld-Dubuque

2. 24 Bryan Behning-Davenport

3. 98.1 Bobby Hansen-Dike


56 Webb
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI
8 Merfeld
11 Ihm
95 Ed Sanger-Postville
98.1 Hansen
24 Behning
61r Jon Rogers-German Valley, IL
27 Ed McGuire-Monroe, WI
54 Mark Curwen-Hazel Green, WI
77J Steve Johnson-Camanche
51 Mel Abels-Freeport, IL
21 Merfeld

Back to the Archives