Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Mark Merfeld Tops Dubuque County Fair NASCAR Late Models
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted July 29, 2002 12:30 PM UIN: 16262997
Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway


By: Jerry Mackey

Mark Merfeld Tops Dubuque County Fair NASCAR Late Models

The 2002 Dubuque County Fair came to a close with the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge on Sunday night in front of a huge crowd. The large crowd was treated to an outstanding night of racing action at the high banked 3/8 mile dirt track.

The 25 lap Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Model feature took to the track with pole sitter Duane Coulson taking the early lead. Coulson gave way to Steve Johnson at the 8 lap mark. Johnson was trying to score his second consecutive feature win at Dubuque. Johnson and Gary Webb were battling it out for the lead working the low side of the speedway when Mark Merfeld came on strong working the top side of the smooth track. Merfeld was able to take the lead on lap 23 and power on to his second win of the season. Johnson crossed the stripe in second ahead of Webb. Luke Merfeld and Darren Mish rounded out the top five.

Sunday nights Modified feature proved that some times luck does play a huge part in racing. Ron Barker scored his 27th feature win of the 2002 season but he was the first to admit that this one involved a lucky break. Barker was closing in on the lead on lap 14 when he nearly spun out causing him to drift to the back of the pack. Before the lap could be completed the caution was thrown for another car. On the restart Barker was realigned in the position that he was running on the previous lap which was second. Barker used the good break and went on to record the feature win. Barker was able to out race Jason Schueller to the checkers.

Another first time winner made his way to victory lane in the NASCAR Pro Stock division on Sunday night. Brian Culbertson won his first feature of the 2002 season by running a very smooth race using the high side of the track. Culbertson took the lead early in the main event and held off a strong running Jeff Tharp late in the race. Tharp came from the sixth row to challenge late in the race for the win. Ty Kleiner took third at the checkers.

Duane Ahmann has become the Dubuque County Fair race perennial winner in the Hobby Stock division. Ahmann has won the last three Sunday Fair races in the very tough Hobby Stock class. Sunday’s win was extra special for Ahmann as he beat his teammate to the checkers. Jason Rauen took second making a one two sweep for the Rauen Precision Machine race team.

Steve Stackis drove his Mitsubishi to his first ever feature win in the Farley Flyer division. Stackis scored the win in only his sixth night of racing in the all new Farley Flyer division. Stackis took the win over Jason Roth and Randy Leehan.

Sunday, August 4th will be Fan Appreciation night at the Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway with all grandstand admissions being cut to half price. Hot laps will get underway at 6 p.m. with racing to follow at 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 28th Race Results

Farley Flyers

Heat 1

1. 21K Danny Kennedy-Dubuque

2. 68 Steve Stackis-Dubuque

3. 3X Brad Klaas-Lancaster, WI

Heat 2

1. 23 Keith Kiernan-Dubuque

2. 45 Jeff Jorgensen-Mineral Point, WI

3. 17 Randy Leehan-Apple River, IL


68 Stackis
31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI
17 Leehan
14 Levi Benn-Dyersville
45 Jorgensen
97 Russ Their-Dyersville
3x Klaas
21K Kennedy
00 John Flury-Epworth
69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI
66 Tony Brimeyer-Dubuque
38S R.J. Simon-Farley
21m Robby Munter-Dubuque
55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI
11 Casey Kohl-Dubuque
75 Chad Naderman-Farley
23 Keith Kiernan

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL
8K Jerry Merkes-Farley
6 Jed Frieberger-Dubuque

Heat 2

98X Duane Ahmann-Epworth
33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI
89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque


98X Ahmann
98 Jason Rauen-Farley
8K Merkes
59 Hughes
33 Turpin
89 Welter
81 K.C. Ansel-Dubuque
97Steve Dunkel- Worthington
13 Larry Benn-Dyersville
6 Frieberger
73l Jason Laue-Freeport, IL
44 B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque
7 Chad Hallahan-Dubuque
28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
39 Dave Humphrey-Hazel Green, WI

NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

71 Kevin Schroeder-Low Moor
35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque
22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque

Heat 2

18 Skip Culbertson-Dubuque
2K Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque
99 Ken Martelle-LaMotte


18 Culbertson
12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque
20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
22 Valentine
35 Brokus
71 Schroeder
97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville
1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids
99 Martelle
21 Jason Robbins-Benton, WI
37 Bruce Schmitz-Mineral Point, WI
23 Jim Amos-Peosta
2k Kennedy
16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
25 Bobby Moyer-Dubuque
13 Dan Fortman-Dubuque

NASCAR Modifieds

Heat 1

3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque
1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque
20 Cory Burmeister-Glen Haven, WI

Heat 2

33W Steve Wetter-Platteville, WI
33 John Burbridge-Delhi
24m Jan Messer-Manchester


37b Ron Barker-Dubuque
3 Schueller
74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque
16 Ryan Dolan-Lisbon
4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque
5D bob Dominacki-Bettendorf
10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green, WI
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
1D Saffran
19 Jim Allen-Dubuque
33 Burbridge
20 Burmeister
01m Mitch Way-Davenport
27 Mark Schulte-Delhi
24m Messer
33W Wetter

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

Heat 1

51X Matt Furman-Iowa City
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI

Heat 2

1. 56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass

2. 8 Mark Merfeld-Dubuque

3. 1m Rob Moss-Iowa City

Heat 3

Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
77J Steve Johnson-Camanche
44 Duane Coulson-East Dubuque, IL

8 Merfeld
77J Johnson
56 Webb
21 Merfeld
79 Mish
90 Rob Toland-Hillsdale, IL
1m Moss
44 Coulson
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Dike
54 Mark Curwen-Hazel Green, WI
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
51X Furman
95 Ed Sanger-Postville
61r Jon Rogers-German Valley, IL
27 Ed McGuire-Monroe, WI
51 Mel Abels-Freeport, IL
5 Wade Halverson-Elgin
S1 Steve Hunter-Hopkinton
26 Steve Boley-West Liberty
11 Ihm
24 Bryan Behning-Davenport

Back to the Archives