Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Dodge County Results
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted July 28, 2002 09:26 AM UIN: 16262997
Brown finds way back to victory lane

For the second time Beaver Dam Ford sponsored the nights racing. Overcast skies kept plenty of moisture in the track the entire night. Kelly Brown scored his second feature win of the season with a late race pass over Sammy Strasser to seal the victory in his IMCA Mod. A late race pass of Jeff Owens also netted Jeremy Christians his eighth victory of the year in the IMCA Stock division. In the Pure Stock feature second and third place tangled allowing Steve Seitz to cruise to the win and Nathan Persha made it two in a row in the IMCA Hobby Stock race.
The two number 77 mods of Craig Wheeler and Michelle Ploeckelman led the field to the green flag but it was Sammy Strasser taking the lead before the first lap was completed. With Wheeler in tow, Strasser separated himself from Andy Voigt and Scott Lewis. Starting tenth, Kelly Brown methodically worked his way through the field and into the top five by halfway. A couple of cautions on lap 13 and 16 allowed Brown and Voigt to move into second and third and pressure Strasser for the lead. Following the final restart, Brown swung around Voigt and then Strasser for the lead. Brown would build his lead until the very end with Strasser taking second with Voigt, Nick Woods and Jay Schraufnagel rounding out the top five. Since another week has gone by without a clean sweep, the Golden’s Chimney Clean Sweep Award is now up to $200 for next week.
In the IMCA stock feature Jeff Owens tore off with Brandon Czarapata and Jerry Schaalma dueling for second. Fourth place Christians slowly picked off cars one by one as Rob Schmid and Roger Johnson ran side by side for 19 laps for fifth. By halfway Christians had move onto the bumper of Owens and then into the lead on lap 14. Christians put a little space between himself and the field as the leaders encountered lap traffic. Christians went on to score his eighth win of the year followed by Owens and Czarapata. Schaalma’s strong run was slightly diminished as Johnson was able to get under him in lap traffic and take fourth in the final corner of the race.
In the Pure Stock feature it was heat winner Randy Schimmel taking the early lead in front of Steve Sietz and Jason Behring. The three ran nose to tail for 11 laps before Seitz moved to the outside to take the lead. Behring would then make a bid for second but he and Schimmel made contact sending Behring into a spin with Schimmel receiving a flat tire. Behring left the track with a dislodged bumper just after Schimmel with a flat. Seitz would then cruise to the win ahead of Nate Schepp and Ed Coulter who benefited from the mishap between Schimmel and Behring.
Nathan Persha cruised to the wire to wire win as Jason Jaragoske ran nose to tail with Jimmy Scanlon. A much greater distance back, Tony Schlei held off Nathan Gerbitz for fourth. Jaragoske would hold off Scanlon for second at the finish after Persha notched his third win of the season.
The powder puff races sponsored by A Class Act at the end of the night saw Marty Stanton and Becky Wendt win in Robert Ploeckelman and Randy Schimmel’s rides respectively.
On tap for next weeks races is Fan Appreciation Night with an autograph session on the track at intermission. The nights trophy sponsor will be Power Partners, a program set up by Powercom Corporation to assist local drivers earn extra cash.

IMCA Modified
Feature: 1) Kelly Brown, Randolph; 2) Sammy Strasser, Beaver Dam; 3) Andy Voigt, Beaver Dam; 4) Nick Woods, Beaver Dam; 5) Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; 6) Dan Musbach, Grafton; 7) Jamie Schmidt, Seymour; 8) John Schultz, Oshkosh; 9) Casey Koch, Beaver Dam; 10) Todd Ascherien
First Heat: 1) Nick Woods; 2) Dan Musbach; 3) Casey Koch
Second Heat: 1) Todd Ascherien; 2) Scott Magsaman, DeForest; 3) Scott Lewis, Waukau
Third Heat: 1) Andy Voigt; 2) Sammy Strasser; 3) Kelly Brown
IMCA Stock
Feature: 1) Jeremy Christians, Horicon; 2) Jeff Owens, Randolph; 3) Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; 4) Roger Johnson, Saukville; 5) Jerry Schaalma, Juneau; 6) Rob Schmid, Burnett; 7) Scott Erdmann, Juneau; 8) John Stanton, Reeseville; 9) Mike Czarapata, Pulaski; 10) Dave Voigt, Beaver Dam
First Heat: 1) John Stanton; 2) Rob Schmid; 3) Scott Erdmann
Second Heat: 1) Brandon Czarapata; 2) Jeremy Christians; 3) Jeff Owens
DCRA Pure Stock
Feature: 1) Steve Sietz, Beaver Dam; 2) Nate Schepp, Juneau; 3) Ed Coulter, Beaver Dam; 4) Nathan Hodgson, Horicon; 5) Jason Behring, Beaver Dam
First Heat: 1) Randy Schimmel; 2) Jim Steger, Beaver Dam; 3) Steve Seitz
IMCA Hobby Stock
Feature: 1) Nathan Persha, Iron Ridge; 2) Jason Jaragoske, Beaver Dam; 3) Jimmy Scanlon, Pleasant Prairie; 4) Tony Schlei, Zion, Ill; 5) Nathan Gerbitz, Markesan
First Heat: 1) Nathan Persha; 2) Dustin Ward, Beaver Dam; 3) Nathan Gerbitz

Back to the Archives