Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Ryan Whitehead led every lap of the Pure Stock Feature
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted July 28, 2002 09:24 AM UIN: 16262997
Ryan Whitehead led every lap of the Pure Stock Feature
Sue DuRoy July 27,2002 Pike County Speedway
Chad Bush took the first pure stock heat win. Ryan Whitehead blasted into the lead in the second heat and just pulled further from the rest of the field and took the win. In the feature on the drop of the green Whitehead blasted into the lead like he had been shot out of a cannon. Whitehead led every lap and scored the win followed by Randy Brownell, Mark Hardwick, Chad Bush and Justin Bowman.
Scott Holt, Brent Ainsworth and Billy Collett all shared heat wins for UMP modified. Collett took the lead and several times Collett and Holt ran wheel to wheel for the lead. Coming off turn four Roy Schenebelen got under Holt and moved him up into the marbles and took over second. Daniel Boyd also slipped by for third before Holt could get out of the marbles. Kris Purser stopped in two and brought out a yellow. While the yellow was out Schnebelen ran into Holt and spun him in four. Schnebelen earned his self a trip to the pits. Collett went on to win followed by Daniel Boyd, Scott Holt, Dow Hillhouse and Mark Herbert.
Tracy Talbert earned the pole for the novice feature after sharing the heat wins with John Edmonston. Talbert jumped into the lead on the start of the feature followed by John Edmonston. Talbert started to spin and Edmonston got into the side of her. She went to the rear on the start. John Edmonston went to the pits. On the restart it was Ronnie Case upfront with the lead. Case led every lap after that and took the win. Jacob Brumfield ran second and got under Case to take the lead and spun on the white flag lap. Second went to Ernie Kinkaid with a flat right rear tire, third Larry Disotell, fourth Charles Womack, and fifth Danny Vince.
Donald Collins brought the 16 car field of super stock off turn four and into the lead. Collins was sailing out in front when the engine let go causing an oil fire. On the restart it was Joey Pilgram in the lead till the checkered. Mark Pritchett came in second behind Pilgram, Joey Chassion third, Stephen Kerry fourth and Johnny Breeland fifth.Collins and Pilgram shared heat wins.
Jamie Hamilton, Jamie McClendon and Jason Holland ran three wide for the lead on the start of the street stock feature. McClendon got the lead. McClendon led till the last lap when Matthew Simeon got by on the back straightaway and took the win, Robert Ringo followed Simeon to the checkered in second. McClendon took third, Jason Holland fourth and 1 fifth. Holland and McClendon took the heat wins.
Late Model heat winners were Eric Courville, David Ashley and Tony Lawson. Courville led lap after lap till something mechanical went wrong and he fell back and went in the pits. Chris wall led from that point on and no one could catch him. Ricky Hankins finished second. On one of the restarts David Ashley jumped the start and was placed at the rear. Ashley worked his way through the 22 car field to finish third. Dwight Falcon took fourth and David Knight fifth.
Kathy Reedy took the lead in the pure stock powder puff followed by Carolyn Dean. Dean snatched the lead from Reedy, but on the last lap in three Reedy took the lead back and won by a foot over Dean.

Back to the Archives