Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Steve Johnson Scores First NASCAR Win Of 2002 At Dubuque County Fair
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted July 25, 2002 10:41 AM UIN: 16262997
Steve Johnson Scores First NASCAR Win Of 2002 At Dubuque County Fair

The NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge provided the grandstand entertainment for the Dubuque County Fair goers on Wednesday, July 24th. All five classes of competitors were in action on a very pleasant night for racing.

Steve Johnson scored his first win of the season in leading the 25 lap Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Model main event from flag to flag. Johnson has had a terrible season up until this point; he has been unable to race much as he has been sidelined with motor problems. Johnson returned to the Dubuque Speedway last Sunday and ran a very strong second and then backed that finish up with a win on Wednesday night. Johnson held off a very strong Darren Mish in the closing laps. Mish was very pleased with the second place finish in considering that he beat Denny Eckrich to the checkers. Bobby Hansen ran up front the entire race and settled for fourth ahead of Gary Webb.

The hottest driver in Eastern Iowa remained hot on Wednesday night. Ron Barker won his 26th feature of the season in taking the win in the 20 lap NASCAR Modified main event. Barker steadily worked to the front from his 12th position start. The win was not easy for Barker as he was challenged by Scott Nesteby. Barker made a very rare bobble on lap 15 which allowed Nesteby to shoot into the lead, Barker was able to regain the lead on lap 17 and hold off Nesteby for the win. Jed Hurst crossed under the checkers in third ahead of Mark Schulte.

Jeff Tharp won his second feature in a row in the NASCAR Pro Stock division. Tharp used the low side of the track in advancing to the front from his sixth row start. A three car battle for the lead was waged for much of the15 lap main event. Tharp, Ty Kleiner and Dan Shelliam raced in a tight pack before Tharp was able to break away for the win. Kleiner ran second ahead of Shelliam with Jim Brokus rounding out the top four.

The NASCAR Hobby Stock feature win went to Jim Turpin on Wednesday night. Turpin has enjoyed a great season at the SPI promoted tracks with several wins in the very tough Hobby Stock division. Turpin took the win ahead of Steve Dunkel and Jason Rauen.

27 Farley Flyers took the green for their 10 lap feature on Wednesday night. The race was red flagged for a multi car pileup before one lap could be completed. Several cars were sidelined, when the race was restarted a 4 car breakaway developed for the lead. Keith Kiernan emerged from the pack and drove his #23 to his first feature win of the season. Brian Kammerude took the checkers in second ahead of Jason Roth.

Racing will wrap up the Dubuque County Fair on Sunday, July 28th with hot laps slated for 6:30 p.m.

Race Results 7/24/02

Farley Flyers

Heat 1

1. 17 Randy Leehan-Apple River, IL

2. 55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI

3. 38S R.J. Simon-Farley

Heat 2

1. 69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI

2. 66 Tony Brimeyer-Dubuque

3. 45 Jeff Jorgensen-Mineral Point, WI


23 Keith Kiernan-Dubuque
55 Kammerude
31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI
17 Leehan
8x Randy Warne
3X Brad Klaas-Lancaster, WI
99. 3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville
68 Steve Stackis-Dubuque
97 Russ Their
07 Joel Steinman-Brodhead, WI
57 Don Marcov Jr.-Dubuque
69 Becky Roth
21K Danny Kennedy-Dubuque
8 Joe Sarazin-Dubuque
79 Cliff Schanbeck-Delaware
15 Loras Feldmann-Dyersville
7 Joe Pluemer
66 Brimeyer
75 Chad Naderman-Farley
45 Jorgensen
38S Simon
14 Levi Benn-Dyersville
35 Joe Krantz
25 Brian Kelly
01 Damien Miller-Dubuque
1T Mark Thul-Dubuque
38X Bryan Melocarro-Dubuque

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL
8K Jerry Merkes-Farley
89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque

Heat 2

98X Duane Ahmann-Epworth
44X Mike Lynch-Platteville, WI
44 B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque


33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI
97Steve Dunkel- Worthington
98 Jason Rauen-Farley
98X Ahmann
13 Larry Benn-Dyersville
59 Hughes
28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
8K Merkes
89 Welter
81 K.C. Ansel-Dubuque
5 Norb Ahlers-Earlville
44 Schmidt
44x Lynch
83 Rob Petsche-Centralia
6 Jed Frieberger-Dubuque

NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque
2K Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque
20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI

Heat 2

18 Skip Culbertson-Dubuque
22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque
97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville


12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque
20 Kleiner
16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
35 Brokus
97 Reinert
71 Kevin Schroeder-Low Moor
1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids
18 Culbertson
25 Bobby Moyer-Dubuque
99 Ken Martelle-LaMotte
23 Jim Amos-Peosta
22 Valentine
2k Kennedy

NASCAR Modifieds

Heat 1

4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque
19 Jim Allen-Dubuque
69 Roger Donahue-Dubuque

Heat 2

37b Ron Barker-Dubuque
89 Tom Pestka-Delhi
74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque


37b Barker
74 Nesteby
10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green, WI
27 Mark Schulte-Delhi
69 Donahue
16 Ryan Dolan-Lisbon
39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL
33 John Burbridge-Delhi
71 Robert Schumaker
89 Pestka
11 Mike Burbridge-Delhi
3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque
4 Miles
24m Jan Messer-Manchester
19 Allen
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
S19 Rich Smith-Davenport
20 Cory Burmeister-Glen Haven, WI
1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

Heat 1

8 Mark Merfeld-Dubuque
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
77J Steve Johnson-Camanche

Heat 2

61r Jon Rogers-German Valley, IL
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI
54 Mark Curwen-Hazel Green, WI


77J Johnson
79 Mish
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Dike
56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass
8 Merfeld
21 Merfeld
61r Rogers
11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
54 Curwen
1m Rob Moss-Iowa City
5 Wade Halverson-Elgin
51 Mel Abels-Freeport, IL
95 Ed Sanger-Postville

Back to the Archives