Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   June 22, race results from Duck River Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 24, 2002 01:44 AM UIN: 16262997
June 22, race results from Duck River Speedway
> Corey Posey, Dwayne "Coon Dog" Waid, Chad Williams and Paul White
> all had a common denominator in last night's racing equation at Duck River
> Speedway. Each of the aforementioned chauffeurs captured their first win
> of 2002 at "The Duck".
> In Late Model action, Posey's night started on a less than
> optimistic note as the "Fayetteville Flash" could not break the 14 second
> barrier in time trials. Corey could only muster a 14.069 clocking to Jimmy
> Nowlin's quick time of 13.332. While time trials do not a feature win
> make, they can certainly enhance your win potential, however on this night
> Posey would start fifth in the main event and would have to buck the trend
> that no Saturday night feature winner this season has time trialed outside
> the 13 second bracket!
> When the main event got underway, Jay Brinkley motored out front in
> his Ricky Tucker mount and appeared to be the man, on this night.
> Meanwhile a fierce battle had broken out back in second through sixth spot
> with Nowlin, Mark Fields, Billy Harris, John David Todd and Posey in an
> exciting side by side, bumper to bumper struggle. By lap 10 Posey had
> cleared all but Mark Fields and was gaining momentum with each lap. Just
> past the half way point Brinkley slowed dramatically and pulled to the
> infield, out for the night. Just as Brinkley had blistered the field in
> the first half, Posey would drive his Barry Smartt mount by Mark Fields on
> the outside then pull away to a 10 car lengthy victory over Fields and
> June 8 winner, Billy Harris. Nowlin was fourth while Todd kept Mike Hines
> from a Top 5 finish.
> Late Model
> 1 Corey Posey
> 2 Mark Fields
> 3 Billy Harris
> 4 Jimmy Nowlin
> 5 John David Todd
> 6 Mike Hines
> 7 Jay Brinkley
> 8 Tony Tipps
> Dwayne Waid has won several times at Duck River Speedway but none in
> the last three seasons. "Coon Dog', as he is known to his friends has
> fought an uphill battle the last few seasons, first with his Open Wheel
> and more recently with his 2 barrel Late Model.
> Waid finally crested the peak Saturday night by winning the heat
> race then leading all but laps 5 through 8 in the main event to savor that
> first ever late model (2 barrel) win. Tim Orrell got by points leader Rick
> Curren in the closing laps to finish second.
> 2-BBL Late Model
> 1 Dwayne Waid
> 2 Tim Orrell
> 3 Rick Curren
> 4 Charlie Cates
> 5 Billy Barnett
> 6 Randy Judge
> 7 Ray Bush
> 8 Greg Curl
> The open wheel feature saw Alan Holmes out front after heat winner
> Tommy Davis experienced problems with six laps remaining. Holmes had a
> hard charging Sam Range in his rear view mirror as the Mount Pleasant
> pilot had come from ninth to second and was promising to make it
> interesting when his Pepsi Machine jumped the berm on the high side, hit
> the number one turn retaining wall then flipped violently. Sam climbed
> from his racer a little groggy and needing a Mountain Dew to clear the cob
> webs but nonetheless no worse for the wear. The same could not be said for
> his open wheel machine. Can anyone play Taps for a race car? Junior
> Daniels and defending track champion Bob Jarrett followed Holmes home in
> second and third as Bryan Reed was able to muster his best finish of the
> season in fourth. The points runner-up in 2001 has really fought problem
> after problem this season but may now finally be turning the corner, so to
> speak. Heat winner Billy Harris also experienced problems and failed to
> finish.
> Open Wheel
> 1 Alan Holmes
> 2 Junior Daniels
> 3 Bob Jarrett
> 4 Bryan Reed
> 5 Tim Demonbreun
> 6 Jeff Ray
> 7 John Schetrompf
> 8 Sam Range
> 9 Tommy Davis
> 10 Ken McAfeee
> In Super Stock action, Donald Davis led all but the final three
> laps. Always a hard charger, Davis slipped up into the turn four wall on
> lap 13 then hobbled to a tenth place finish as Chad Williams became the
> forty sixth different feature winner this season at Duck River Speedway.
> Williams was strong all night and was pressuring Davis when the "Duck" got
> into the Armco barrier. Chad then led the final three circuits but had his
> hands full with James Freeman and Jay George. Mike Johnson was fourth.
> Davis and Johnson were the heat race victors
> Super stock
> 1 Chad Williams
> 2 James Freeman
> 3 Jay George
> 4 Mike Johnson
> 5 June Bug Pomeroy
> 6 Eddie Hartley
> 7 Joe Morgan
> 8 Marty Anderson
> 9 Tyler Landers
> 10 Donald Davis
> We had four first time winners last night but should have had five!
> Fairview's Bobby Stephans was headed for the Outlaw Pony checkered flag
> when his Mustang slowed drastically, in the final 50 yards, allowing
> defending Pure Pony champion, Michael Chumbley and Jason Coggins to slide
> by for the win and Place positions. Stephans was third while he and Gary
> Reid were the heat winners.
> Outlaw Pony
> 1 Michael Chumbley
> 2 Jason Coggins
> 3 Bobby Stephans
> 4 Allen Rogers
> 5 Mike Dale
> 6 Jason Averitt
> 7 Tom Russell
> 8 Travis Lester
> 9 Chris Pinkston
> 10 Bo Owens
> Defending class champ Michael Chumbley pulled off the double last
> night by winning not only the Outlaw Pony feature but the Pure Pony
> feature as well. Heat winner Shane Hooper spun early then charged back
> through the field to push Michael across the finish line in second spot.
> Heat winner Billy Davidson was third with Andy Rogers edging David Wallace
> for fourth.
> Pure Pony
> 1 Michael Chumbley
> 2 Shane Hooper
> 3 Billy Davidson
> 4 Andy Rogers
> 5 David Wallace
> 6 Roy Newsom
> 7 Cotton Calahan
> 8 Dean Rader
> 9 Jeff Maxwell
> 10 Eddie Hartley
> The Rookie Pony main event saw leader after leader foiled before
> Paul White became the forty seventh different feature winner of the season
> Paul bested Donald White and Charles Brewer for the honors. Tim Giles won
> the 10 car heat race.
> Rookie Pony
> 1 Paul White
> 2 Donald White
> 3 Charles Brewer
> Racing continues this coming Saturday night with a special Fireworks
> show following the night's action. Then on Saturday night, July 6, Duck
> River Speedway brings to Tennessee, the "Thrill Master Stunt Show (at
> intermission) featuring, Jim "Crash" Moreau from Bangor, Maine. Jim has
> been featured on several television specials and did the stunt work on
> numerous Hollywood movie sets, such as James Bond's, "Diamonds are
> Forever". Jim is on his Defying Death tour across the nation.
> Also coming on July 13 will be our fourth leg of the "Clayton Homes
> Big 6 Steel Head Championship Series".
> Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives