Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Todd Morrow Wins Again & Jason Spraker Defends Pony Championship
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 24, 2002 01:40 AM UIN: 16262997
Todd Morrow Wins Again & Jason Spraker Defends Pony Championship

Cleveland Speedway race fans were again treated to a pair of 30 lap features
as the regular Super Late Model race and the Pony Stock MidSeason
Championship special event was on tap. Reigning Rookie of the Year 16 year
old Todd Morrow of Old Fort TN won his second SLM race. In the Pony
MidSeason Championship defending race champion and current division points
leader Jason Spraker of Cleveland won his second consecutive title. In the
Claimer Late Model race Chad Anderson of Chattanooga took his second win of
the season. The Hobby feature was the best by far as Doug Works of Cleveland
raced passed rival / race leader Richard Dixon to lead only the last two
laps of the race. Unfortunately for Works a post race protest disqualified
him giving the win to Dixon. In the Street feature young Alex Nash of
Chattanooga won the 12 lap finale.
In Budweiser King of Speed: Qualifying Morrow turned the fastest lap as
again the only racer to brake the 14 second bracket with a 14:961 second
lap. Morrow collected the win of heat #1 earning the pole for the feature.
Morrow was followed by his uncle Billy Mayo, Paul Tims, Elgin Gray and P.D.
Doss. In the second heat race second fastest qualifier Mike Tinker picked up
the win over Dewayne Smith, John Owenby, Eddie Benefield and Chuck Tinker.
As Morrow and Tinker brought their respective " T " machines (# T1 & # T22)
to the green flag Morrow showed the way fronting his "Shannon Trucking" Ford
Mustang out in front with Tinker, Mayo, Tims and Smith in tow. Morrow rolled
on to his second win in three weeks extending his lead to sometimes as far
as a straight away lead over Tinker. The 30 lap feature went non-stop /
caution free as Morrow lapped traffic exceeding the top ten positions.
Tinker, Mayo (in his best career finish ever) Tims and Smith rounded out the
top five. Owenby, Benefield, Doss, C. Tinker and Chris Powell rounded out
the top ten.
In the Pony MidSeason Championship two heat races matched the field for the
30 lap "A" Main feature. David Doss debuted his blue # 28 winning the first
heat as Jimmy Brown and Donald Forgey racked up valuable bonus points for
top three finishes in the heat. Benji Massengill and Mathew Gainer rounded
out the top five. Last years MidSeason Champ and current division points
leader Jason Spraker took the win in the second heat to earn the outside
pole for the feature. Scott Ledford, Chris Davenport, Nathan Hair and Mandy
Shaw finished sixth thru fifth. As the field took the green for the feature
Spraker shot into the lead as Doss faded to fifth by the tenth circuit.
Brown and Ledford began battling for second as Doss reared a yellow at the
halfway point. For the last half of the race you could throw a blanket over
the top three as Spraker, Ledford and Brown raced for the Championship. As
the white flag waved with Spraker in command Brown attempted one last try at
Ledford's second place only to spin his machine in turn four just feet from
the checkers. James Beavers advanced to third as Spraker's # 25 "Jeff's Auto
Transport, Cliff's Transmission Service" took the checkers with Ledford in
tow. Donald Forgey and Doss rounded out the top five. Finishing sixth thru
tenth were; Gainer, R. Hair, Travis Winters, Brown and Danny Burnette.
Other Racing Results

Hobby Division: Winner - Richard Dixon (# 3) of Cleveland TN
2.Jerry Coffman (# 21) 3.Chris Stewart (# 68), 4.Kenny Scroggins (# 34),
5James Nichols (# 92)

Claimer Late Model Division: Winner - Chad Anderson (# 17) of Chattanooga TN
2.Bobby Doss (# 28), 3.Gene Douglas (# 22), 4.Glen Seaton III (# 92)
5.Dennis Shaver (# D4)

Street: Winner - Alex Nash (# 02) of Chattanooga TN
2. Roy Nichols (# 00), 3. Chad Holcomb (# T3), 4.Jeff King (# K1),
5.Raymond Lowery (# 41)

Back to the Archives