Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Slay Masters the “NAPA Mississippi Mayhem 40"
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 24, 2002 01:39 AM UIN: 16262997
Slay Masters the “NAPA Mississippi Mayhem 40”

Columbus, Mississippi-Many of the best drivers in Mississippi were on hand for a special Friday night event at Columbus Speedway that included both the Mississippi Super Late Model and Modified State Championship Series. The first night of the NAPA Mississippi Mayhem weekend included 128 cars on hand and a fabulous racing surface for the hard racing combatants to show their talents.

Action would get kicked off with the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (MSCCS) competing in four qualifying races for the 35-car field on hand in the double points championship event. Qualifying race winners included Anthony Rushing getting it done in impressive fashion charging from seventh place in the first heat. Mike Boland dominated the second heat, Duayne Hommel took the third heat, and Jason Smith won the final qualifying heat race. Two B-Main events were run with Tombo Callahan and Ricky Idom taking the wins.

The 40-lap main event would get underway with an all out assault for the lead taking place as the field immediately went into three and four wide formation in an exhilarating display of driving prowess. A lap 2 caution would line up the field with Scott Slay sitting out front followed by Boland and David Breazeale. The race would reignite and once again the battle raged. Another caution flew on lap 5 with Slay and Boland battling side by side for the lead with the top three remaining the same as Steve Russell entered the top five in fifth and pressuring Jason Smith for fourth.

The race would get back underway as the race would go without caution for the final 25 laps. Scott Slay would begin to edge in front of the pack as a battle between MSCCS points leader Mike Boland and Southern All Stars point leader Duayne Hommel would ensue as the two superstars jockeyed lap after lap for the second spot. Hommel would finally work his way past Boland on lap 24 and set his sights on Slay as lapped traffic was the order of the evening. Boland would later have his hands full in the final few laps of the event as Steve Russell, Wren Turner, Jason Smith, and Boland would go three and four wide for the final podium position with Eddie Rickman in the hunt.

The checkered flag would fly for Clinton, Mississippi’s Slay in his Horace Slay Auto Sales sponsored Jay Dickens powered GRT Monte Carlo as he claimed his first win at Columbus since the track has been reconfigured. Duayne Hommel of Newport, Tennessee finished second with Mike Boland holding off the pack for third. Steve Russell of Pontotoc earned the fourth spot with Munford, Alabama’s Wren Turner fifth.

Official MSCCS finish: 1-Scott Slay 2-Duayne Hommel 3-Mike Boland 4-Steve Russell 5-Wren Turner 6-Eddie Rickman 7-Jason Smith 8-Ricky Idom 9-Josh Fuller 10-Derrick Rainey 11-Keith Miller 12-Anthony Rushing 13-Randy Little 14-Tombo Callahan 15-Trevor Boyd 16-Robbie Harvey 17-Ken Freeman 18-Rick Rickman 19-Scott Dedwylder 20-David Breazeale 21-Ronny Lee Hollingsworth 22-Tony Gray

The Goddard Performance Mississippi Modified Series by Boland Performance was the co-headliner for the evening as an impressive 36 cars were entered for the Phillips 66 Racing Fuel Columbus Clash. The event would see a host of outside invaders taking on the Columbus Speedway aces and great racing was the name of the game for the best open wheel racers in Mississippi.

The Modified Series drivers would compete in four qualifying races with heat winners being that of Mark Herbert, Ben Stephens, Brian Hollis, and Glendale Shoemake. B-Main winners were Matt Price and Robert Eaton.

The 20-lap main event would see Columbus’ Brian Rickman jump to a quick lead from the pole position with Jason Hollis making a fast move up to second place with Glendale Shoemake in third when the only caution flag of the event would fly. Racing would resume with Rickman and Hollis going into a two wide battle for the lead with Rickman rim riding and Hollis on the dead bottom. The two Columbus Speedway front runners would continue the war until Hollis took the lead from Rickman on lap 11. The running order would remain unchanged up front for the remainder of the event as the track was extremely slick with the open wheel pilots having to tiptoe with driving precision on the 3/10’s mile high banked clay oval. “The Untouchable” Jason Hollis of Ethelsville would take the win worth $1,000 in his Hollis Roofing sponsored Dirt Works modified. “Flying Brian” Rickman was a strong second with Glendale Shoemake of Prentiss in third. Brandon’s Tony Henry took his beautiful #21 Modified to a potent fourth place finish with Greg Hollingsworth from Lawrence completing the top five.

Official Modified finish: 1-Jason Hollis 2-Brian Rickman 3-Glendale Shoemake 4-Tony Henry 5-Greg Hollingsworth 6-Ben Stephens 7-Brian Hollis 8-Kent Hollingsworth 9-Billy Collett 10 Matt Price 11-Michael Blount 12-Garrett Durrett 13-Randy Leonard 14-Darrell George 15-Mark Herbert 16-Lee Ray 17-James Young 18-Brent Tirello 19-Blake Koenigsburger 20-Ricky Whittington 21-Ricky Head 22-Robert Eaton

The Street Stock warriors once again put on their prototypical display of side by side competitive racing with Scott Stripling of Ethelsville throwing the bad luck monkey off his back and passed Lee Ray with two laps to go to take the hard fought win by a fender over Ray. Chad Nickoles was an ever close third with David Honeycutt having a great view of the battle in fourth and early race leader Danny Gable of West Point slid back and rounded out the top five.

The Pro Street division would see the continuous roll of the “Grave Digger” Thomas McReynolds as he has his Pro Streeter on a rail. McReynolds would have to battle his way to the lead after running third for first six laps until he made his move past Mike Langford and then Frank Cox to take the lead and never relinquish it. Frank Cox was second at the stripe followed by Mike Langford. Mike Shaw and Jason Brock rounded out the top five.

The Mini Stock division had a version of the Robert Sanders show as he and Jenna, Alabama running mate Mike Minor walked off for a leisurely Friday night stroll. Sanders went flag to flag in the 12-lap main event to claim the win with Mike Minor holding off Sulligent’s Buddy Glover for the second place. Greg Glover finished fourth with Joel Hamner completing the top five.

The Cruisers class would see Craig Murray and Kenneth Roach get it done leading all ten laps of their main event to take the win in their “Silver Bullet” Cruiser racecar. Randall and Sarah Barton went co-ed and battled to an impressive second place finish with Jeremy Robertson and Alan Hall debuting and having a nice third place run in possibly the toughest Cruiser division in the South. Perennial front runners Joe and Rose Weeks finished fourth with Jimmy Brasfield and Joe Fondren in fifth.

The Pro 4 win went to David Goins as he had the field covered with Justin Johnson taking the runner up spot and “Jammin’” James Blakney rounding out the podium. Lynn Walker was fourth with Blake Prescott fifth.

Back to the Archives