Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   NRP Results 6/23
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 24, 2002 01:38 AM UIN: 16262997
June 23, 2002-reenwood, NE- The full moon was out in force at Nebraska
Raceway Park. A fourteen-car accident on the green flag lap of the Late
Model feature resulted in a lot of damaged race cars, but fortunately all
drivers walked away without injury.

Only two of the fourteen involved were able to make it back out to complete
the race. The Late Model feature finished without further incident. Mike
Nanfito made it two in a row with his feature win. Steve Kosiski finished
second, followed by Jason Hobscheidt, John Hampel and Al Zeitner.

Scott Waldron used his outside front starting position to jump to the early
lead. On lap three a yellow flag came out for a single car spin. On the
restart, Waldron held off the rest of the field to capture his first win of
the season. For many his win was a reward for his outstanding sportsmanship
last weekend. Waldron gave up his car to defending Grand National Champion
Mike Wallace after Wallace's car was wrecked during the heat races. Mike
Kelley finished second after an outstanding run from 9th row starting
position. Chris Roberts was third, followed by Jeff Jenkins and Rick

Finding his way to victory lane for the second time this season, Marty
Steinbach used a great move at the start of the race to pass 5 cars in the
first lap. Marty took the lead on lap 8 with a power move on Gary Vincent.
The race went without caution until the end. Scott Anderson finished
second, followed by Mark Day, Scott Carlson and Gary Vincent.

Chris McDonald found victory lane for the third time this season. He worked
lap traffic on the bottom side of the race track, and found himself in the
lead on lap ten. He motored through the next five laps as the race leader,
and put a sizeable lead on Randy Lee Todd in second. Dave Christensen
finished third, followed by Todd Bell and Eric Hanson.

Next week is a big one at Nebraska Raceway Park as ConAgra Foods presents
the Stars and Stripes Spectacular.

Wednesday, June 26 the Kyle Petty Charity Ride Across America rolls into
town as ConAgra Foods presents "REBELS WITH A CAUSE". The night will
feature match racing with Winston Cup drivers, a Winston Cup wives autograph
session, UDTRA Late Model driver autograph session and practice session and
more! Gates open at 6:00. the ride arrives at 7:30. Admission is $4.50
for all ages, with all proceeds going to the charity! The first 500 fans
will receive a FREE Famous Dave's BBQ sandwich with admission.

Friday and Saturday, June 28-29, the UDTRA PRO DIRT CAR SERIES takes to the
track with the nation's best touring Outlaw Late Models including Billy
Moyer, Don O'Neal, Rick Eckert, Freddy Smith, and more! Pit Gate opens 3
pm; Front Gate opens 5 pm; Qualifying 7 pm; Racing Starts 7:30 pm.
Admission Friday: Adults $22, Kids 6-12 $5. Admission Saturday: Adults $24,
Kids 6-12 $5. 5 and Under FREE both nights

Sunday, June 30...ConAgra Foods presents the SALUTE TO THE MILITARY in
conjunction with the ASCAR Weekly Racing Series. The night will feature a
HUGE Fireworks Display and a salute to the nation's military. ALL MILITARY
MEMBERS admitted FREE with proper I.D. MILITARY FAMILY MEMBERS 1/2 price
off adult admission. Regular Admission: Adults $10, Kids 6-12 $3
5 and under FREE Gates will open at 4:30, with racing action starting at 6

Fans and competitors can log on to the track web site at where information will be updated continuously.
Nebraska Raceway Park is located off I-80 at exit #420 between Omaha and
Lincoln. For track information call (402) 944-2233.


Feature: 1. Mike Nanfito. 2. Steve Kosiski. 3. Jason Hobscheidt. 4. John
Hampel. 5. Al Zeitner. 6. Mel Zeitner. 7. Scott Koskovich. 8. Joe Kosiski.
9. Dale Zeitner. 10. Ed Kosiski. 11. Todd Mckee. 12. Donnie McClellan. 13.
Leon Zeitner. 14. Mike Collins. 15. Doug Newcomer. 16. Steve Light. 17.
Scott Daly. 18. Mark Wyman. 19. Keith Mander Jr. 20. John Kinney. 21. Al
Humphrey. 22. Curt Pritchard. 23. Bill Mlnarik. 24. Mike Danburg. 25. John
Nicholson. 26. Landon Smith. 27. Chad Inserra. 28. Glenn Robey.

Feature: 1. Scott Waldron. 2. Mike Kelley. 3. Chris Roberts. 4. Jeff
Jenkins. 5. Rick Stolley. 6. Butch Levell. 7. Ron Tilley. 8. Russ Hadan. 9.
Clint Benson. 10. Mike Wallace. 11. John Kinney. 12. Dave Cook. 13. Roger
hadan. 14. Howard Koziol. 15. Dave Doll. 16. Virgilee Haase. 17. Ryan
Whitehead. 18. Dave Jorgensen. 19. Billy Miller. 20. Bill Leighton. 21.
Craig Preble. 22. Pat Krug. 23. Kevin Gigax. 24. Jody Krug. 25. Gary
Leapley. 26. Jay Kaiser. B winners: Virgilee Haase, Mike Kelley.

Feature: 1. Marty Steinbach. 2. Scott Anderson. 3. Mark Day. 4. Scott
Carlson. 5. Gary Vincent. 6. Chuck Dillon. 7. George Haney. 8. George Haney.
9. Todd Remmeried. 10. Jason Cieslik. 11. Don Mohr. 12. Dwayne Ilg. 13. Rick
Feldman. 14. Dave Bledsoe. 15. Greg Cooper. 16. Jean Kohmetscher. 17. Nick
Steier. 18. Neck Hermsen. 19. Steve Peoples. 20. Jeff Bonney. 21. Curt
Skillet. 21. Jerry Turek. 22. Joe Feyen. B winners: Jerry Turek. Todd
Remmereid, George Haney. Heat winners: Jerry Turek, Scott Carlson, Marty
Steinbach and Ron Tex.

Feature: 1. Chris McDonald 2. Randy Todd. 3. Dave Christensen. 4. Todd Bell.
5. Erik Hansen 6. Tony Pavik. 7. Herbie Ziemann. 8. Scott Gourley. 9. Ron
Allen. 10. Greg Houdesheldt. 11. Ben Heyne. 12. Tim Terry. 13. Nick Corbin.
14. Brad Soll. 15. Larry Clark. 16. Mike Hansen. 17. Jared Weston. 18. Ralph
Edwards. 19. Kip Corey. 20. John Austin. B winner: Brad Soll.

Back to the Archives