Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Myers Jr. breaks record, Rowland is back in victory lane
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 24, 2002 01:35 AM UIN: 16262997
Myers Jr. breaks record, Rowland is back in victory lane

The KFVS 12 Winged Sprint found Todd Rowland, Daron Clayton and Jay Landolt racing for the top-position much of the feature event with Rowland coming out on top in the end.

Rowland started on the pole and moved to the lead at the start. He led for the first 13 laps before being passed by Clayton. Rowland would fall back from the leader and then eventual gain ground once Clayton reached heavy lapped traffic. The 14r sprinter of Rowland dashed for the lead several times before taking over the spot on the 22 lap. The Jackson racer would lead the final circuits for the win.

After moving around Rowland on the 13th lap Clayton looked as though he would be in charge for the rest of the event; as Rowland fell back several car-lengths. Clayton diced his way through lapped traffic as Rowland picked out the best lane on the track. After leading for nine laps, Clayton couldnít hold off the charge of Rowland. The youngster finished the night in second.

Third place finisher Jay Landolt, making his first appearance in the Joe Reddick Racing #12 sprinter, moved from his sixth starting position to finish third. Landolt passed Clayton for second on the first lap and held the position for eight laps.

Shawn King ironed out his new chassis after junking one in the World of Outlaw Gumout race to finish fourth with former track champion Scott Simion finishing fifth.

It was a record setting night in the Pure Street feature event as Cline Myers Jr. earned his eighth consecutive feature win. The win broke the old mark set in 1997 by Keith Brugger with seven.

Myers Jr. and Jeff Beeson started on the front row of the feature event and Beeson quickly took the lead. Beeson led the first six laps until he was passed by Danny Hampton for the top spot.

Beeson, Myers Jr. and Hampton all put on a fierce battle up front with the fourth position also being highly contested with Dietrich Bollinger, Jason Mueller and Derek Despain vying for the position.

In the end Myers Jr. made the pass on the 14th circuit to cruise to his eighth win on the year with Hampton settling in for second, Bollinger marched his way to third and Beeson and Mueller rounding out the final five.

Garrett Moll and Wesley Short of Scott City topped the field of Motorsports Unlimited Cruisers to pick up their first victory on the season.

Jason Guardian and Daniel Hancock led the first five laps with Rodney Hurst and Edert Bowen battling them for the top position. Moll and Short moved into second on the fourth lap and fought with the leaders for the leaders.

Moll and Short continued on with the lead as the former leaders of Gaurdian and Hancock fell victim to mechanical gremlins. Hurst and Bowen moved into second and then briefly took the lead. The two teams battled out for first for a couple laps before Moll and Short moved around Hurst and Bowen on the high for the lead and the win.

Third place went to Jason Holman and Brian Williams while the fourth place finishers were John Wyatt and Mike Wyatt. Chad Fulton and Derek Despain cruised home in the fifth place position.

Many fans think that Chris Hallís game plan is to lay back and wait for the end of the race to make a pursuit to the front. Several of the Sikeston racers wins have came in the final laps of the Miller Lite Modified feature events. Hall claims this is not his strategy, Hall noted it just seems to work out that way.

Danny Sissom and Jeff Parmer shared the front row starting position for the Miller Lite Modifieds. The two drivers exchanged the lead back and forth for the first eight laps of the feature before Sissom fell victim to a right front flat.

Parmer led the next four laps when the 66 car of Chris Hall went sliding around him on the 13th circuit for the lead. Hall led the remaining seven laps for the win.

Parmer finished second with John Barnett coming from the back of the pack, after suffering a flat tire on the fourth lap, to finish third. Matt James moved up four spots to finish fourth and Leo Kiefer ended his night in fifth place.

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 24, 2002 01:36 AM UIN: 16262997
The Results

KFVS 12 Winged Sprint Cars

Todd Rowland (14r) Jackson, Mo.
Daron Clayton (92) Sikeston, Mo.
Jay Landolt (12) Wood River, Il.
Shawn King (9) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Scott Simion (4f) Christopher, Il.
Alex Shanks (66) Marion, Il.
Steve Short (8) Farmington, Mo.
Paul Sides (11j) Memphis, Tn.
Jimmy Brewer (32) Sikeston, Mo.
Randy Dukes (58) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Pure Streets

Cline Myers Jr. (01) Scott City, Mo.
Danny Hampton (84) Morley, Mo.
Dietrich Bollinger (8) Benton, Mo.
Jeff Beeson (4) Benton, Mo.
Jason Mueller (72) Perryville, Mo.
Dereck Despain (79) Millersville, Mo.
Patrick Naeger (29) Perryville, Mo.
Van Naeger (6) Perryville, Mo.
Scott James (51)
Deakon Bragg (22) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Miller Lite Open-Wheel Modifieds

Chris Hall (66) Sikeston, Mo.
Jeff Parmer (5) Fenton, Mo.
John Barnett (5b) Sikeston, Mo.
Matt James (16) Jackson, Mo.
Leo Kiefer (62k) Perryville, Mo.
Nathan Higgins (29) Farmington, Mo.
Shane Moody (i24) Bernie, Mo.
Darrick Bruce (6) Morley, Mo.
Pat Davidson (51) Jackson, Mo.
Danny Sissom (95) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Motorsports Unlimited Cruisers

Moll/Short (18L) Scott City, Mo.
Hurst/Bowen (77) Millersville, Mo.
Holman/Williams (74jr) Bloomfield, Mo.
Wyatt/Wyatt (2) Kelso, Mo.
Fulton/Despain (81) Millersville, Mo.
Meystadt/Gereke (L16) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Mathis/Mathis (7) Thebes, Il.
Griffon/Reddick (4) Kelso, Mo.
Gaurdian/Hancock (5) Jonesboro, Ark.
Anglin/Anglin (8) Chaffee, Mo.

Back to the Archives