Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Aikey Wins 4th In A Row, Nesteby Collects Bounty
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 23, 2002 09:15 AM UIN: 16262997
Aikey Wins 4th In A Row, Nesteby Collects Bounty

As Farley Speedway Holds Mid-Season Championships

The Farley Speedway held Mid-Season Championship races on the big high banked ˝ mile on Friday, June 21st for the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge.

Jeff Aikey continued his hot streak in the Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Model division by winning his fourth consecutive feature. Aikey started in the fourth row and was able to use both the low and high grooves on the very wide smooth race track. Aikey caught race leader Luke Merfeld on the 18th lap of the 35 lap Mid-Season Championship race. The two raced for the lead for two laps before Aikey was able to move out front for good. Aikey went on to record the win by a comfortable margin over Merfeld. Dave Eckrich won a good battle for third crossing under the checkers ahead of Josh McGowan.

The Bounty on Quarter Master Modified driver Ron Barker was claimed on Friday night by veteran driver Scott Nesteby. The $350 bounty made for a handsome payday for Nesteby. The win was certainly not easy for Nesteby as Barker pressured the leader using every inch of the track to try to gain an advantage. Nesteby drove a flawless race using the groove in the center of the track. The margin of victory was less than a car length at the finish line. Barker took second ahead of Larry Herring and Jason Schueller.

Dan Shelliam put his Pro Stock on the very top side of the track and rode to his second feature win of the season in the Pro Stock division. Shelliam advanced to the front from a 4th row start, taking the lead on the last lap from Bob Moyer. Shelliam led the last ˝ of the checkered flag lap in scoring the win over Moyer. Jim Brokus and Jeff Tharp rounded out the top four.

Jerry Merkes broke a winless streak that has lasted just about one year, in scoring the Mid-Season Championship win in the Hobby Stock division. Merkes was able to emerge from a lead pack on the last lap which included 5 cars that had a shot at the win. Jim Turpin took second ahead of T.J. Leslein.

Jason Roth bolstered his point lead in the Farley Flyer division by winning the championship feature. Roth shot out front quickly and went on to record the win over Brian Kammerude.

Friday, June 28th will be the second annual Legends Night at the Farley Speedway. A large group of drivers from days gone by will be on hand at the Farley Speedway for the evening’s festivities which will include the dedication of the new suites. Twin 25 lap NASCAR Late Model features will be held, the vintage coupes will also be on the card in addition to all regular classes. Race time will be 7:30 p.m.

6/21 Race Results

Farley Flyers

Heat 1.

38G Kyle Gansen-Epworth
99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville
7K Travis Kaiser-Dyersville

Heat 2

38S R.J. Simon-Farley
79 Cliff Schanbeck-Delaware
3 Steve Driscoll-Asbury


1. 31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI

2. 55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI

3. 69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI

4. 38S R.J. Simon-Farley

5. 99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville

6. 14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

7. 66 Bruce Miller-Dubuque

8. 7K Travis Kaiser-Dyersville

9. 8 Joe Sarazin-Dubuque

10. 71 Adam Wills-Hazel Green, WI

11. 00 John Flury-Epworth

12. 68 Steve Stackis-Dubuque

13. 01 Damien Miller-Dubuque

14. 3 Steve Driscoll Jr.-Asbury

15. 38G Kyle Gansen-Epworth

16. 21 Todd Moore-Bernard

17. 79 Cliff Schanbeck-Delaware

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

1. 98 Jason Rauen-Farley

2. 22 Cory Bauer-Monticello

3. 38 . T.J. Leslein-Durango

Heat 2

1. 13 Larry Benn-Dyersville

2. 28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi

3. 44 S B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque


1. 8K Jerry Merkes-Farley

2. 33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI

3. 38 Leslein

4. 97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington

5. 44 Kory Haverly-Anamosa.

6. 59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL

7. 7 Chad Hallahan-Dubuque

8. 13 Benn

9. 98 Rauen

10. 22 Bauer

11. 44S B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque

12. 28 McIntyre

13. 73L Jason Laue-Freeport, IL

14. 5 Norb Ahlers-Earlville

15. 89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque

16. 26 Tom Darrow-Monticello

17. 83 Rob Petsche-Centralia.

18. B4JR. Brian Dirks-Anamosa

19. 23 Dennis Etten-Wyoming

NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

1. 35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque

2. 1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids

3. 12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque

Heat 2

1. 25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque

2. 69 John Maher-West Branch

3. 16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI


1. 16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI

2. 25 Moyer

3. 35 Brokus

4. 12 Tharp

5. 69 Maher

6. 20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI

7. 22 Jeff valentine-Dubuque

8. 1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids

9. 23 Jim Amos-Peosta

10. 97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville

Quarter Master Modifieds

Heat 1

1. 10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green

2. 37 B Ron Barker-Dubuque

3. 24 Jan Messer-Manchester

Heat 2

1. 3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque

2. 24 Randy Less-Hopkinton

3. 96 Larry Herring-Lone Tree


1. 74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque

2. 37B Barker

3. 96 Herring

4. 3 Schueller

5. 27 Mark Schulte-Delhi

6. S19 Rich Smith-Davenport

7. 64 Vern Jackson-Waterloo

8. 24 Less

9. 10 Hurst

10. 39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL

11. 24M Messer

12. 18 Jim Burbridge-Delhi

13. 33 John Burbridge-Delhi

14. 17 Bill Flannagan-Cedar Rapids

15. 19 Jim Allen-Dubuque

16. 15X Dave Hammond Jr.-Camanche

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Models

Heat 1

61R Jon Rogers-Freeport, IL
77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin

Heat 2

21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
58 Dave Eckrich-Oxford
3 Josh McGowan-Vinton


77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
21 Merfeld
58 Eckrich
3 McGowan
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI
50 Eckrich
33g Dan Galant-Clinton
95 Ed Sanger-Postville
1m Rob Moss-Iowa City
9 Mark Schulte-Delhi
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Center Point
11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
78 Rick Wendling-Hazelton
69 Todd Hormel-West Liberty
5 Wade Halverson-Elgin
61R Rogers

Back to the Archives