Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Ringo in the Winner Circle Again new car Same Billy Kirkwood Engine
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 23, 2002 09:14 AM UIN: 16262997
Ringo in the Winner Circle Again new car Same Billy Kirkwood Engine
Sue DuRoy June 21, 2002 Baton Rouge Raceway
After Robert Ringo's car was destroyed last week on the front straightaway. He got a new car and placed the Billy Kirkwood power plant in it. Ringo sailed to victory in the heat and feature. On the start of the feature Ringo was leading the field by the end of the front straightaway. Gene Brown tapped second place Jason Wilks and sent him spinning in three. Both were placed at the rear on the restart. After that it was smooth sailing for Ringo who scored feature win number 6. John Griffin took second, Jason Wilks third, gene Brown fourth and Ricky Price fifth.
Bo Garig and Hank Davidson shared the heat wins for Pure Stock. Bo Garig took the lead from the start, and was chased by Zane Barcelona lap after lap. Barcelona waited for Garig to slip, but Garig was smooth and went on to take the win. Barcelona second, Hank Davidson third, Tracy Talbert fourth and finishing fifth was Troy Dean.
Scott Holt bolted right into the lead on the drop of the green for the UMP feature. Lap after lap Holt and Darron Carroll ran wheel to wheel never touching. Finally Holt got the lead then Schenebelen moved into second and then started knocking at Holt's back door. Lap after lap Hold held off everything Schnebelen threw his way. Holt went on to score his first feature win at Baton Rouge in UMP. Schnebelen second, Carroll third, Curtis Vicknair fourth and Dow Hillhouse fifth. Carroll, Holt and Chad Williams all shared heat wins.
Dwayne Everett took the heat win for mini stock, Then took the lead from the pole but then spun and went to the rear. Larry Clayton took over as leader and went on to score the win followed by Elvis Turbville, Dwayne Everett, Donna Everett and Sidney Persilver.
David Ashley and Jerry Bevis took top honors in heats for Late Models. Ashley captured the lead followed by Bevis running high. Bevis got his car working high and closed in on Ashley. Bevis got next to Ashley and the two ran wheel to wheel for the lead till Bevis took the lead over, With only two laps to go Ashley closed in and took the lead away from Bevis and scored the win. Bevis had to settle for second, Donald Watson took third, Jason Polite fourth and Bill Gordon fifth.
Andy Stroughter and Ron LaMonte took the win in the cruiser cars.

Back to the Archives