Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Mt Vernon Results
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 17, 2002 01:34 AM UIN: 16262997
The racing at Mt. Vernon Raceway was good as the weather was warm and the track was not as rough as in past weeks. There were not as many cars on hand as the 2002 UMP Summer Nationals were taking place at a track elsewhere.
In the UMP Late Models, there were 17 cars on hand with several new cars in attendance. The fast time of the night went to Brian Maynard. In the first heat, Maynard took the win over Kyle Monroe, Joe Morris, Jeff Johns, Jeremy Sneed and Bobby Melvin. The second heat saw the victory go to Scott Hutchinson followed by Cory Daugherty, Steve Unterbrink, Charlie Scheafer, Rylan Dagg, and Teresa Beasley. The third heat had the win go to Bill Millikan with Tony Boyles, Marc McClintock, Gary Morelewski, James Burrell and Jerry Bruce trailing.
In the 25 lap feature, there was only one caution that slowed the action in a good race. The lead at first went to Maynard from his pole starting position. Morris was in pursuit but unable to catch Maynard. The only caution came out on lap 1 for a spinning Unterbrink in turn one. The order at this time was Maynard, Morris, Monroe, Johns and Sneed. The racing resumed and Maynard held on to the lead until lap 8 when Morris took over the front spot for the rest of the race to get his first win of the 2002 season. Maynard held on to finish second. Hutchinson moved from sixth starting to finish third followed by Monroe and Sneed to round out the top five. Only five cars fell out of the 18 car field. Matt Taylor showed up late after being rained out up north and started last to finish sixth.

Back to the Archives