Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Paul Tims Wins Cleveland Again After Morrow DQ'ed
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 17, 2002 01:19 AM UIN: 16262997
Paul Tims Wins Cleveland Again After Morrow DQ'ed

Paul Tims of Georgetown TN wound up winning his third race of the 2002
season Saturday night at Cleveland Speedway after Todd Morrow was deemed
light at the scales after taking the checkers. A first time winner donned
victory lane in the Claimer Late Model feature race. Gene Douglas of Dayton
TN piloted his "Straight Line Masonry" # 22 Pontiac Gran Prix to the
checkers after early race leader Justin Winters blew down the front
straight-away. In the Hobby feature Murphy NC racer Chris Stewart got his
first win of the 2002 season. In the Pony Stock feature Scott Ledford of
Cleveland took the checkers and in the Street finale Roy Nichols also of
Cleveland padded his points lead with another victory.

In Budweiser: King of Speed Qualifying Time Trials Morrow clocked his mount
in fastest turning a 14:760, the only SLM in the field to crack the 14
second bracket. Morrow return in the first of two heat races as the victor
as 3rd fastest Tims would follow. Dewayne Smith made a heads up move from
fifth to pass Eddie Benefield and Bobby Mayse for third. In the second heat
John Owenby again showed his muscle flanking the runner up fast qualifier
position with a win over Chris Beavers, P.D. Doss, Elgin Gray and Billy
Mayo. In the 30 lap "A" Main Morrow led with Owenby, Tims, Beavers and Doss
following. Miner cautions plagued the first half of the race with a variety
of spins from; Mayo, outsider Brad Coffey of Maryville TN, and Steve
Gilbert. Unfortunately for Owenby his night ended just pass the halfway mark
as fluid poured from beneath his ride, thus inheriting the #2 position to
Tims which would later lead to a win. Tims had firm control of his position
as Beavers and Smith waged battle one spot back. As the checkers flew
Morrows weight (or lack thereof) would deny him of what would've been his
second victory. Tims got the credit and the glory after the DQ, in what will
go down as win #3 of the 2002 season for the "Cleveland Construction &
MillWright, Port City Racing South" Pontiac Gran Prix race team. Beavers
finished second (his highest ever in SLM competition), Smith third with Doss
and Benefield rounding out the top five. Sixth thru tenth were; Chuck
Tinker, Gilbert, Mayo, Gray and Owenby.

Other Racing Results

Claimer Late Model: Winner - Gene Douglas (# 22) of Dayton TN
2.Chad Anderson (# 17), 3.Jimmy Webb (# 711), 4.Kevin Cook (# 48),
5Glen Seaton III (# 92)

Hobby: Winner - Chris Stewart (# 68) of Murphy NC
2.Kenny Scroggins (# 34), 3.Jerry Coffman (# 21), 4.Kenny Pierce (# 4),
5. Richard Dixon (# 3)

Pony Stock: Winner - Scott Ledford (# 32) of Cleveland TN
2.Jimmy Brown (# 10), 3.Donald Forgey (# 71), 4.Mike Truelove (# 55),
5.Danny Burnette (# 14)

Street: Winner - Roy Nichols (# 00) Cleveland TN
2.Chad Holcomb (# C21), 3.Alex Nash (# 02), 4.Jeff King (# K1), 5.Will
Swearengine (# R1)

Back to the Archives