Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Mark Merfeld Scores Popular Hometown Late Win At Dubuque Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 17, 2002 01:14 AM UIN: 16262997
Mark Merfeld Scores Popular Hometown Late Win At Dubuque Speedway

The NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge was in action on Sunday night with a special night sponsored by Choo Choo Charlie’s Pizza and Ice Cream of Dubuque.

The Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models took the green flag for their 25 lap feature with local favorite Mark Merfeld taking command from his outside front row start. Merfeld withstood all challengers in route to the flag to flag win. The last challenge was provided by two time defending track champion Gary Webb. The 56 of Webb closed late in the race to set up a last lap charge but Merfeld was not rattled by Webb in holding his line perfectly to take the win. Merfeld’s win broke a four year winless streak at his hometown race track. Jeff Aikey was able to slip by Bobby Hansen on the white flag lap to take third.

The NASCAR Modified feature provided the fans with plenty of racing excitement on Sunday night. Mitch Way led the race until lap 14 when Ron Barker was able to use a slingshot move off of turn 2 to secure the top spot. Barker advanced from his fourth row start to score his second feature win of the season at Dubuque. Way ran a very strong race in taking second ahead of Bob Dominacki.

Jeff Tharp won his second NASCAR Pro Stock feature of the season and his fifth feature at SPI tracks on Sunday night at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway. Tharp has won 3 times at the Farley Speedway in 2002. Tharp’s win broke Ty Kleiner’s hot streak, Kleiner battled with Tharp for several laps before settling for second. Chris Simpson took third ahead of Jeff Kennedy.

Jim Turpin won his first feature of the season on the high banked Dubuque track on Sunday night in the NASCAR Hobby Stock division. Turpin out raced B.J. Schmidt to the checkers, with Jason Rauen battling through traffic to take third.

R. J Simon has raced 4 nights in his Chevy Cavalier in the Farley Flyer division. 4 nights have netted the young Farley native with two feature wins. Simon was able to move by Steve Driscoll with two laps to go and take the win. Driscoll took second ahead of Joel Steinman.

Sunday, June 23rd will be Mid-Season Championships at the Dubuque Speedway with a 35 lap NASCAR Late Model feature headlining the program. All five classes of cars will be in action with a 6:30 p.m. race time.

6/16/02 Dubuque Speedway Race Results

Farley Flyers Feature

38S R.J. Simon-Farley
3 Steve Driscoll Jr. –Asbury
07 Joel Steinman-Brodhead, WI
31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI
3X Brad Klass-Lancaster, WI
69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI
17 Randy Leehan-Apple River, IL
21M Robbey Munter-Hazel Green, WI
14 Levi Benn-Dyersville
21 Randy Madigan-Dubuque
66 Tony Brimeyer-Dubuque
13 Kam Roth-Cuba City, WI
55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL
22 Cory Bauer-Monticello
13 Larry Benn-Dyersville

Heat 2

44 B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque
98 Jason Rauen-Farley
7 Chad Hallahan-Dubuque


33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI
44 Schmidt
98 Rauen
7 Hallahan
8K Jerry Merkes-Farley
97Steve Dunkel- Worthington
13 Benn
59 Hughes
22 Bauer
44x Mike Lynch-Platteville, WI
83 R Rob Petsche-Centralia
28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque
11 Tony Brimeyer-Dubuque

NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
32 Chris Simpson-Marion
12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque

Heat 2

71 Kevin Schroeder-Low Moor
25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque
35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque


12 Tharp
20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
32 Simpson
2K Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque
71 Schroeder
35 Brokus
22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque
16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville
1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids
25 Moyer
69 John Maher-West Branch
25X Chad Simpson-Marion
18 Skip Culbertson-Dubuque

NASCAR Modifieds

Heat 1

5D Bob Dominacki-Bettendorf
4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque
3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque

Heat 2

01M Mitch Way-Davenport
27 Mark Schulte-Delhi
74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque

Heat 3

63 Scott Olson-Preston
69 Roger Donahue-Dubuque
16 Ryan Dolan-Lisbon


37b Ron Barker-Dubuque
01M Way
5D Dominacki
16 Dolan
3 Schueller
10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green, WI
08 Mike Miller-Leaf River, IL
27 Mark Schulte-Delhi
4 Miles
74 Nesteby
63 Olson
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
75 Bob Silaggi-Freeport, IL
39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL
24m Jan Messer-Manchester
19 Jim Allen-Dubuque
1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque
69 Roger Donahue-Dubuque
89 Tom Pestka-Delhi
99 Ken Kostenbader-Freeport, IL

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

Heat 1

8 Mark Merfeld-Dubuque
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI
54 Mark Curwen-Hazel Green, WI

Heat 2

77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
21h Brian Harris-Davenport
11 Steve Ihm-Hazel Green, WI


8 Merfeld
56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass
77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Dike
79 Mish
21 H Harris
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
37B Troy Bruder-Freeport, IL
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
11 Ihm
54 Curwen
61r Jon Rogers-German Valley, IL
27 B Bob Silaggi-Freeport, IL
95 Ed Sanger-Postville

Back to the Archives