Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Ashley Scored SUPR Late Model Win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 16, 2002 08:41 AM UIN: 16262997
Ashley Scored SUPR Late Model Win
Sue DuRoy June 15, 2002 Pike County Speedway
First heat for SUPR Late Models Jay Blair took the early lead. David Ashley worked his way to second then took the lead over under the white flag. In three and four Blair got the lead back when Ashley drifted high, but then Ashley came off four and took the lead by a foot over Blair. Heat two started with a drag race between Eric Courville and Kenny Merchant. Merchant got the lead and took the win. On the last lap David Burkhaulter spun in four and brought out a yellow. Third heat Kennith Crowe blasted into second then took over the lead and went on to score the win. Fourth heat Rodney Wing led every lap and won by 10 car lengths over the rest of the field. Heat five Scott Slay from the pole went on to win by a whole straightaway over Litton. James ward and Donald Watson won the last chance races.
Ryan Plaisance took the lead on the start of the 50 lap SUPR feature. David Ashley followed with Kenny Merchant behind him for third. Plaisance slowed and Ashley and Merchant slipped by. Sam Patrick started 20th and worked his way to mid field then earned a trip to the rear and back to mid field again then back to the rear after a spin. This time he worked his way to fourth and with 2 laps to go blew an engine. David Ashley took the win followed by Kenny Merchant, Tommy Surrit, Scott Slay, Ryan Plaisance, Eric Courville, James Ward, Rob Litton, Randy Cook and Odie Green.
On the start of the Novice down the back straightaway Claude Thigpen and Hank Davidson hook together went into the tires in three. On the restart Lefty Cockran took the lead and led every lap and scored the win. David Petit finished second but was Dqed at tech. That moved Tracy Talbert up to finish second. Danny Vince third and Ernie Kinkaid fourth. Cochran and Petit were the heat winners.
Brent Ainsworth and Roy Schnebelen took the UMP heat wins. Schenebelen led the whole feature and took the win over Tim Dillion, Daniel Boyd, Brent Ainsworth and Kevin Mistrick.
Terry Lee and Ryan Whitehead shared the heat wins for Pure stock. Ryan Whitehead blasted into the lead and never looked back. Whitehead took the win by 10 car lengths over Leonard Barrileou, Justin Bowman, Terry lee and Jimmy Stephens.
Matthew Simeon and Chris Lenoir took the street stock heat wins. Simeon took the lead on the start, but a couple laps into the race Simeon broke an axel and lost a wheel on the front straightaway. On the restart it was Jamie Hamilton leading followed by David Johnson. Ricky Price running third lost an engine. Hamilton had his hands full lap after lap with Johnson trying to get the lead from him. Hamilton hung on to the lead and took the win followed by Johnson, Ricky King, Tommy Cannon and Michael Barfield.
Billy Jo Gordon took all the marbles for super stock winning the heat and the feature. Joey Chaissen took a strong second followed by Donald Collins, Johnny Breeland, and Carol Babin.

Back to the Archives