Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Gene Brown Scored Street Stock Feature at Baton Rouge Raceway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 15, 2002 10:33 AM UIN: 16262997
Gene Brown Scored Street Stock Feature
Sue DuRoy June 14, 2002 Baton Rouge Raceway
Robert Ringo and Shannon Graham took the heat wins for street stock. Ringo started on the pole and took the lead down the front straightaway. Gene Brown ran second right behind Ringo. With only a couple laps remaining as Ringo and Brown came up to lap Garry Talbert who had been running slow. Talbert got into Ringo and it turned his car around and slammed him backwards into the wall totaling Ringo's car.
Gene Brown went on to take the win followed by Ricky Price and John Griffin.
Pure stock started with A bang, on the back straightaway Mickey Trosclair started to loose it and got caught up in a whole army of cars and wound up flipping on the back straightaway. After that Mala. Zane Barcelona went on to take the win followed by Dean Walton who was Dqed,. Troy Dean then moved up to take second, third went to Melvin Beucker. Heat winners were Barcelona and Walters.
Jeff Martello, Tony Bennett and Darron Carroll shared the heat wins for UMP Modified's. Scott Holt on the pole for the start, as the field reached turn two Billy Collett wheel hopped on Holt then drifted back in the field, Kalif Sellier took the lead and held it till the checkers to score the win. Mark Chamel finished second, Darron Carroll finished third, Jeff Martello fourth and Tony Bennett rounded out the top five.
Elvis Turbville scored the heat win for mini stock. Elvis Turbville took the lead, but had his hands full with Scotty Covington and Larry Clayton running wheel to wheel behind him. Down the front straightaway Clayton got under Turbville and took over the lead. Coming out of four for the white flag Clayton lost it spun got turned around ran through the infield and out in second. Turbville scored the win, Clayton second, Covington third and Cliff Temple fourth.
Phil Cooper and Jerry Bevis shared the heat wins for late models. On the start Bevis blasted into the lead followed by Phil Cooper. Bevis led every lap and scored the win. David Ashley took second, Bill Gordon moved into third, Phil Cooper fourth and Jason Polite fifth.
Slaughter took the Cruiser win.

Back to the Archives