Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Montgomery holds off Standridge for Sprint car win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 10, 2002 01:56 AM UIN: 16262997
Montgomery holds off Standridge for Sprint car win

The KFVS 12 Winged Sprints action saw Timmy Montgomery hold off Robbie Standridge’s final charge in an extremely close finish, which saw Montgomery win by only a few feet.

Scott Simion and Daron Clayton shared the front-row starting positions in the feature event. Clayton quickly jumped out to the lead on the start and looked to be on the move for another win. The caution quickly fell for the #9 of Shawn King on the third circuit.

On the restart Clayton clipped the starting cone, which marks the starting line for the restart. The mishap moved him to the back of the field.

Simion inherited the top-spot and stayed out in front for the next three laps until the #32 of Montgomery moved around him for the lead. Montgomery quickly built up a strong lead.

Standridge made his move to second on the 10th lap and reeled in the leader but couldn’t catch the Fredericktown Flash as the race went 23 green flags laps to the finish. The 12x car made a final push coming out of turn four on the final lap using lap traffic as a key element in the mix but couldn’t secure the top-position as the leader crossed the line.

Tommy Worley Jr. moved into second for three laps but couldn’t hold the position as the Bismark racer finished third. Jerrod Hull worked his way through the field to finish fourth and Joey Montgomery battled back from an early race mishap to finish fifth.

Cline Myers Jr. was back winning Saturday night in his favorite form, domination. The weekend before Myers Jr. never led a lap of the feature event and took the win after finishing third and the front two cars getting disqualified after tech inspection.

This week Myers Jr. proved the win last week wasn’t just a fluke as he led all the 11 laps of the feature event to pick up his sixth consecutive feature win on the year.

The sixth feature win in-a-row leaves his just one win shy of the track record, seven consecutive wins held by Keith Brugger, also in the Pure Street division. Brugger set the mark in 1997.

Starting from the outside pole Myers Jr. stepped out to the lead with the #6 car of Matt Naeger behind him. The pair would stay in that order throughout the entire event.

Doug Neuhalfen fell back early in the event but was able to make it back through the field to finish third, with Jeff Beeson controlling the fourth spot and Patrick Naeger finished out the night in fifth.

The Miller Lite Open-Wheel Modifieds saw a familiar face in victory lane as Larry Hull made his return to the Auto Tire and Parts Racepark in fine fashion. Hull snapped Robert Powers three race win streak at the track.

Veteran Miller Lite Modified competitor Chris Hall fought off challenges from Terry Johnson to finish the evening in second, while Johnson battled his way through the 20-lap feature to finish third.

Danny Resinger moved from his 16th starting position to record a solid fourth place finish with Pat Davidson recording another top-five finish on the year.

The dynamic duo of Garrett Moll and Wesley Short put another trophy on the mantle as the Scott City pair dominated the Motorsports Unlimited Cruiser feature.

Despite several attempts to start the race the setbacks never fazed them as they led all eight laps of the feature event after starting on the outside of the pole.

Polesitters Rodney Hurst and Edert Bowen fell behind the leaders on the start and maintained the position throughout the race. Jimmy Griffon and Jason Reddick finished third, Justin Redden and Lowell Calder ended the night in fourth, Larry Helm and Gary Clifton held onto the fifth spot.

Top-Ten Finishers

KFVS 12 Winged Sprints

Timmy Montgomery (32) Fredericktown, Mo.
Robbie Standridge (12x) Springfield, Ill.
Tommy Worley Jr. (97) Bismark, Mo.
Jerrod Hull (12h) Sikeston, Mo.
Joey Montgomery (21c) Fredericktown, Mo.
Alex Shanks (66) Marion, Ill.
Scott Simion (4f) Christopher, Ill.
Daron Clayton (92) Sikeston, Mo.
Steve Short (8) Farmington, Mo.
Bob Thoman (77) Higginsville, Mo.
Miller Lite Modifieds

Larry Hull (78) Old Appleton, Mo.
Chris Hall (66) Sikeston, Mo.
Terry Johnson (1j) Benton, Mo.
Danny Resinger (15) Farmington, Mo.
Pat Davidson (51) Jackson, Mo.
RC Hovis (13h) Fredericktown, Mo.
Adam Parmeley (21p) Cadet, Mo.
Tommy Worley Sr. (56) Farmington, Mo.
Matt James (16) Jackson, Mo.
Danny Sissom (95s) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Pure Streets

Cline Myers Jr. (01) Scott City, Mo.
Matt Naeger (6) Perryville, Mo.
Doug Neuhalfen (r38) Sikeston, Mo.
Jeff Beeson (4) Benton, Mo.
Patrick Naeger (29) Perryville, Mo.
Danny Hampton (84) Blodgett, Mo.
Jason Mueller (72) Perryville, Mo.
Rusty Golightly (40) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
John York (43) Sparta, Ill
Derek Despain (79) Millersville, Mo.
Motorsports Unlimited Cruisers

Moll/Short (18L) Scott City, Mo.
Hurst/Bowen (77) Millersville, Mo.
Griffon/Reddick (4) Kelso, Mo.
Calder/Reddon (74) Clarkton, Mo.
Helm/Clifton (21c) Advance, Mo.
VanPool/Short (88) Scott City, Mo.
Rowland/Mayberry (110) Jackson, Mo.
Forester/Forester (92) Paducah, Ky.
Scheffer/Scheffer (184) Dutchtown, Mo.
Mathis/Honey (7) Thebes, Ill.

Back to the Archives