Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 10, 2002 01:47 AM UIN: 16262997

Taking a break from his driving duties with the Robert Yates Channelock team in NASCAR’s Bush series, Kasey Kahne returned to his open-wheel roots and blistered the big half-mile at Hartford Speedway Park Friday night. Driving a brand new DRC chassis with a Kahne engine prepared by his cousin Kole Kahne, the young West-Coast hot shoe bested an impressive feild of veterans in winning the 30 lap All-Star Circuit of Champions/GLOSS Sprint Car Feature.
2001 All-Star Champ Kenny Jacobs was on the pole and Kahne was in the number 2 spot as the 24 car feature went green. .Jacobs was still in first when Mike Wagner and Steve Krieg tangled on lap 2 bringing out the yellow. Jacobs powered out front on the re-start, but it wasn’t long before lapped traffic entered the picture, and on lap 11 Kahne found some traction and blew by Jacobs. A yellow on lap 26 found Paul McMahan and the famous U2 car in second with Jacobs now third. At the re-start, Kahne was gone to be followed at the checkered flag by McMahan, K. Jacobs, Danny Smith, Dean Jacobs, Chad Kemenah, Byron Reed, Kelly Kinser, Greg Wilson, Rodney Duncan and GLOSS driver Brett Mann rounding off the top ten.
The “B” feature went to Pennsylvania’s Mike Wagner over GLOSS regulars Ray Shank, Tim Norman, Ken Mackey, and Paul May. The dash went to Maryland’s Jeff “The Jet” Shephard ahead of K. Jacobs, McMahan, Kinser and Smith. Phil Gressman took heat one over Kinser and Smith won heat two over Bruce Robenalt. Kemanah. Current All-Star points leader, won heat 3 ahead of K. Jacobs and Michigan’s own Dustin Daggett took heat 4 over McMahan. Dean Jacobs had fast time for the night at 16.54.
The Factory Stocks were rockin’ again with four big heats. Mark Lambrecht, Phil Ausra, Kelli Jo Hofacker and Mike Wells each scored a heat win, while Gary Meagher took the “B” feature in front of Kevin Shannon, Reed Mann, and Bob Frank. For 18 laps Mike Wells held sway in the feature, but on lap 19 of the 20 lapper, Todd Atherton got by to score his second feature win in a row. Wells was second with Jesse Scott, Mike Hoffman, Hofacker, Ausra, Brigg Reynolds and Mark Peterson following.
Open Sprints, Open Modifieds, Super Stock and Factory Stocks will all compete this Friday, June 14, with “Autograph-Meet the Driver Night” taking place. Modified competition at Hartford will now include IMCA, UMP and MMA cars. Tires must be medium to hard compounds with $400 to win and $100 to start. Friday, June 21, will see the return of the American Late Model Series, Open Modifieds, and Super Stocks. The “World’s Most Powerful Stockcars” on the biggest, fastest short track in the State of Michigan.

Back to the Archives