Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Nebraska Raceway Park 6/9
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 10, 2002 01:45 AM UIN: 16262997
June 9, 2002--Greenwood, NE--It looked like a Kosiski family reunion at the
front of the lead pack.

Racing brothers Steve, Ed and Joe Kosiski were all in contention and Steve
Kosiski made sure John Hampel would not crash the party in the Late Model
feature Sunday night. Kosiski won his second feature of the season, holding
off Hampel in a final six-lap dash to the finish line before 3,000 fans at
Nebraska Raceway Park. Hampel was second followed closely by Ed Kosiski and
Joe Kosiski.

Steve Kosiski, the middle of the three brothers, had built a commanding lead
when the caution flag flew with six laps remaining. Kosiski was actually
relieved the yellow came out after he had brushed a car while navigating his
way through lapped traffic.

"I was really getting nervous because I thought I had a right front tire go
flat or something," Steve said. "I was getting a push going into the corner.
The caution actually helped me out. I didn't expect it to, but it let my
tire cool down enough where I could run the bottom and hug it and get good
bite off the bottom in the corners."

Steve Kosiski, running on the low side of the track, passed Hampel with 15
laps left in the 25-lap feature. Ed Kosiski passed Hampel just before the
caution came out, but the pass was negated when the race reverted back to
the previous lap.

"I thought Ed was going to come on strong there for a while," Steve said. "I
didn't know how close he was and then I saw they put John back ahead of Ed
after the caution. We managed to stay in front after the restart. It's
definitely good to get another win out here." Steve Kosiski moved into a
tie with Joe Kosiski for the Late Model points lead with 174 points apiece.

Jody Krug darted past Chris Roberts to take the lead with 12 laps left on
his way to the checkered flag in the 20-lap Grand National feature. Krug
then pulled away after a restart with six laps left.

Marty Steinbach passed Curt Drake for the lead with seven laps remaining en
route to winning the second Pro Am feature. George Haney was second and
Scott Anderson third in the 18-lap feature.

Mark Day went wire-to-wire to claim the first Pro Am feature. Day started on
the outside of the front row and built a lead of a full straightaway over
runner-up Greg Cooper. It was Day's first-ever win at Nebraska Raceway Park.

Chris McDonald earned his second Hobby Stock feature victory of the season,
holding off Randy Todd for the win.

Next Sunday night, June 16th, Nebraska Raceway park will host the first
demolition derby race of the season, as well as the regular NASCAR Weekly
Racing Series program featuring the Dodge Super Late Models, Walker Grand
Nationals, O'Reilly Pro-Ams and Jasper Hobby Stocks. Gates will open at
4:30, with racing action starting at 6 p.m. Fans and competitors can log on
to the track web site at where information will be
updated continuously.

Nebraska Raceway Park is located off I-80 at exit #420 between Omaha and
Lincoln. For track information call (402) 944-2233


Feature: 1. Steve Kosiski. 2. John Hampel. 3. Ed Kosiski. 4. Joe Kosiski. 5.
John Anderson. 6. Mel Zeitner. 7. Mark Wyman. 8. Al Zeitner. 9. John Kinney.
10. Jason Hobscheidt. 11. Scott Koskovich. 12. Leon Zeitner. 13. Donnie
McClellan. 14. Mike Nanfito. 15. Steve Light. 16. Chad Inserra. 17. Landon
Smith. 18. Curt Pritchard. 19. Todd McKee. 20. Mike Collins. Heat winners:
John Hampel, John Anderson, Mel Zeitner. Point leaders: 1. Steve Kosiski
and Joe Kosiski 174. 3. Mark Wyman 160. 4. Ed Kosiski 156. 5. Jason
Hobscheidt 152.

Feature: 1. Jody Krug. 2. Roger Hadan. 3. Chris Roberts. 4. Mike Kelley. 5.
Craig Preble. 6. John Kinney. 7. Dave Doll. 8. Rick Stolley. 9. Gary
Leapley. 10. Todd Hipnar. 11. Mike Wallace. 12. Howard Koziol. 13. Bill
Leighton. 14. Scott Waldron. 15. Jeff Tilley. 16. Brian Kenkel. 17. Pat
Krug. 18. Clint Benson. 19. Ron Tilley. 20. Cliff McKinney. B winners: Bill
Leighton, Rick Stolley. Heat winners: Jody Krug, Mike Wallace, Howard
Koziol, Gary Leapley. Points leaders: 1. Mike Kelley 204. 2. John Kinney
Jr. 196. 3. Jody Krug 180. 4. Mike Wallace 166. 5. Roger Hadan 160.

First Feature: 1. Mark Day. 2. Greg Cooper. 3. Scott Carlson. 4. Scott
Anderson. 5. Alan Schmitt. 6. Wayne Pike. 7. Todd Remmereid. 8. Don Mohr.
9. Kevin Anderson. 10. Marty Steinbach. 11. Ron Tex Jr. 12. Curt Drake. 13.
Chuck Dillon. 14. Ric Feldman. 15. Gene Kohmetscher. 16. George Haney. 17.
Jason Cieslik. 18. Dave Bledso. 19. Nick Steier. 20. Gary Vincent. Second
Feature: 1. Marty Steinbach. 2. George Haney. 3. Scott Anderson. 4. Curt
Drake. 5. Scott Carlson. 6. Ron Tex Jr. 7. Don Mohr. 8. Ric Feldman. 9.
Jason Cieslik. 10. Wayne Pike. 11. Greg Cooper. 12. Nick Steier. 13. Jeff
Bonney. 14. Jay Stewart. 15. Jerry Turek. 16. Kevin Anderson. 17. Gary
Vincent. 18. Dan Hall. 19. Dave Bledso. 20. Scott Semin. B winners: Marty
Steinbach, Ric Feldman, Gary Vincent, Mark Day. Heat winners: Curt Drake,
Jeff Bonney, Don Mohr, George Haney. Points leaders: 1. Scott Carlson 937.
2. Scott Anderson 928. 3. Marty Steinbach 873. 4. George Haney 843. 5. Ron
Tex Jr. 802.

Feature: 1. Chris McDonald. 2. Randy Todd. 3. Tony Pavic. 4. Todd Bell. 5.
Ron Allen. 6. Eric Hanson. 7. Ben Heyne. 8. Dave Christensen. 9. Larry F.
Clark. 10. Greg Houdesheldt. 11. Steve Prusia. 12. Jesse McNeal. 13. Robert
Kracher. 14. Nick Corbin. 15. Scott Gourley. 16. Jake Richards. 17. Steve
Koch. 18. Ralph Edwards. 19. Korey Wells. 20. John Austin. Heat winners:
Randy Todd, Tony Pavic, Ben Heyne. Points leaders: 1. Chris McDonald 795. 2.
Randy Todd 772. 3. Ben Heyne 742. 4. Eric Hanson 685. 5. Todd Bell 666.

Back to the Archives