Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Darron Carroll Scores Another UMP Feature at Baton Rouge
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted June 01, 2002 09:04 AM UIN: 16262997
Darron Carroll Scores Another UMP Feature at Baton Rouge
Sue DuRoy May 31, 2002 Baton Rouge Raceway
John Griffin took the heat win for street stock. In the feature Griffin took the early lead. Robert Ringo pulled in the pits late and got off his trailer in time to catch the end of the heat. In the feature he worked his way up to third, then passed Jason Wilks for second ,then took the lead over and scored the win, followed by John Griffin, Michael Wholgamuth, Gene Brown and Rocky deGruy.
Pure Stock heat winners Bo Garig and Zane Barcelona battled for the lead. Garig led till there were only three laps remaining and Barcelona finally got the lead and went on to score the win in the caution free race. Garig took second, Eric McCallister took third followed by Mickey Trosclair Jr. and Tim Moran.
Roy Schnebelen and Darron Carroll took the heat wins for UMP. Carroll from outside the front row took the lead on the start. Chris Cassano ran second till father Jerry took the spot from him. Clay Schexnayder lost it on the front straightaway, jumped the berm like to got one photographer (my husband) then set his sites on my nephew in turn two and sent him and camera scrambling! Carroll went on to score another win followed by Jerry Cassano, Roy Schnebelen, Chris Cassano, and Billy Collette.
Elvis Turbville and Scotty Covington took the heat wins for mini stock. On the start it was Turbville, Covington and Larry Clayton 1, 2, 3. When they reached the front straightaway Clayton got into the back of Covington causing him to spin. Clayton was sent to second and the start and Covington to the rear. On the restart Clayton followed Turbville till he was able to take over the lead and go on to score the win. Second went to Daniel Jessup, Third Turbville, fourth Donna Everett and fifth Sidney Persilver.
On the start of the late model feature Chris Wall, Eric Courville and Jason Polite ran three wide for the lead. Chris Wall won that battle and took the lead. Wall led every lap and scored the win. Phil Cooper had to work his way up to finish second, Eric Courville came back form the rear and finished third, Jason Polite fourth and Yott fifth.Wall and Courville took the heat wins.
In the Cruiser heat race the guys all fell asleep they took the white and figured it was the end of the race well the ladies snookered them and slipped by and took the win. By the time the guys realized their mistake they tried to get in the gas and catch the ladies, but to late. Nichol Ward and Amanda Derousselle took the heat win. For the feature the guys waited for the checkered before they got off the gas! Andy Straughter and his friend Ryan took the win.

Back to the Archives