Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Texas I.M.C.A. Nationals titles collected by national points leaders
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 28, 2002 05:17 PM UIN: 16262997
Texas I.M.C.A. Nationals titles collected by national points leaders
By J.M. Hallas
WACO, Texas (May 26) Two drivers in the hunt for national championships picked up titles at the Texas I.M.C.A. Nationals.
Current point leaders Henry Witt Jr. and Jeff Turner left Heart O Texas Speedway with the top prizes from the Me-morial Day Weekend event. Turner added the $1,500 victory in the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car feature to his earlier heat and qualifying race wins. Witt was second across the finish line but was promoted to the $2,000 first after an engine claim refusal.
Turner and Duain Pritchett are running 1-2 in the national points race and did so again much of Sunday night. Taking the point from the pole, Turner was chased by Pruitt as the two pulled away from the rest of the 24-car field.
Brian Bishnow and Chad Estes had a good battle going on for third with a gap back to fifth. The top duo continued to pull away as the pack closed on the Bishnow-Estes battle.
A spinning car on lap 11 slowed the pace. After the re-start, Turner got lap car as a buffer and got a good lead before Pritchett got clear. They would build a full straightaway lead, which was lost when what proved to be the last caution came out on lap 20.
After the re-start, Estes and Bishnow resumed their fight for third as Turner and Pruitt again began to pull away.
With three laps to go, Charlie Wilson moved up to third from his seventh row starting spot but was unable to close on the leaders. Estes would take third back before the checkers, making for a top five of Turner, Pritchett, Estes, Wilson and Bishnow.
The early lead in the Modified main event went to Brian Killingsworth, with Witt stepping up to second and Tim Clonch and David McKay close behind.
By lap five, the front two cars started to edge ahead while McKay was putting the heat on Clonch for third. Witt was bidding for the lead when Clonch pulled off on lap 13.
Witt began to look inside at every corner in an attempt to get the lead, but Killingsworth would literally motor ahead on the straights. A quick caution came out on lap 17 for debris on the track and on the re-start Witt was able to get along
side the leader but was unable to complete the pass. Cautions came out again on the next circuit, the ensuing re-start and finally with five laps to go.
Witt dogged Killingsworth in final laps but was unable get around. Killingsworth took the checkers but was disquali-fied after refusing the engine claim.
Feature Results
Modifieds 1. Henry Witt Jr.; 2. David McKay; 3. Scotty Brown; 4. Darryl Campbell; 5. David Elliott; 6. Elias An-derson; 7. Kevin Simpson; 8. Keith Green; 9. Billy Garza; 10. Keith White; 11. Doug Lorenz; 12. Gregg Killingsworth; 13. G.W. Egbert III; 14. Brian Davis; 15. Keith McCullough; 16. Vince Ogle; 17. James Holder; 18. Terry Dumas; 19. Chris Watkins; 20. Wes Armstrong; 21. Robbie Watkins; 22. Greg Atwood; 213. Tim Clonch.
Stock Cars 1. Jeff Turner; 2. Duain Pritchett; 3. Chad Estes; 4. Charlie Wilson; 5. Brian Bishnow; 6. Thomas Clark; 7. Benji Kirkpatrick; 8. Pat Wilson; 9. Ronnie Redmon; 10. Allen Waltermire; 11. Chester Fisher; 12. Craig Brown; 13. Mike Greer; 14. Darrel Wingard; 15. Dennis Sartain; 16. Bradley Sims; 17. Tom Earl III; 18. Danny Bugh; 19. Daniel Reid; 20. Jesse Blakely; 21. J. D. Berryhill; 22. Trevor Egbert; 23. Jason Batt; 24. Kenny Timmons.

Back to the Archives