Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Mt. Vernon Raceway on Saturday
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 27, 2002 08:51 PM UIN: 16262997
At Mt. Vernon Raceway on Saturday, there were 18 UMP Late Model on hand. The fast time went to Joe Morris at 13.715 seconds.
In the fast heat, Jimmy Burwell got the win over Joe Morris, Bill Millikan, Jeff Johns, Kyle Monroe, and Lee Thomason. The second heat went to Bobby Melvin with Rylan Dagg, Vince Grondzki, Kevin Seago, Justin Anderson and Steve Lampley trailing. The third heat saw the win go to Rodney Melvin over Mike Munson, Tony Boyles, Scott Hutchinson, James Burrell and Steve Unterbrink.
The feature had the win go to eighth starting Rodney Melvin for his third feature win of the year. Joe Morris took the lead at the dropping of the green flag, but could not hold the lead as Burwell took command of the front on lap four.
The first caution came out for Rylan Dagg as he could not get off the track in turn two. The running order at this point was Morris, Burwell, Millikan, Johns, and R. Melvin. The next caution was for debris and the running order only changed with Millikan getting by Morris for second. As the racing continued for the next 10 laps, it was Melvin that was on the move and taking the lead on lap 12.
Johns was able to get by Morris and then Burwell to take third as the final running order was Melvin, Millikan, Johns, Burwell and Morris for the top five. Five cars fell out leaving 13 on the track at the end.
Next week will see the UMP Modifieds win run for $1500 to win. See you there.

Back to the Archives