Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Denny Eckrich Wins Bud Shootout Memorial at Farley
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 25, 2002 03:04 AM UIN: 16262997
Denny Eckrich Wins Bud Shootout Memorial Weekend Opener at Farley Speedway

The Farley Speedway played host to the opening of the 4 day Memorial Weekend swing featuring the Budweiser Open Late Model Shootouts. A stellar field of 48 Open Late Model drivers took part in the event on Friday, May 24th

The green flag waived with the 26 car starting field being led by Darren Miller, who had qualified for the pole position by winning the Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation fast dash which pitted the top six in point earners through the 5 qualifying heats. Miller led early before giving way to Denny Eckrich. The track was very wide and fast for the 50 lap feature and Eckrich was able to pass both high and low on the smooth track. Eckrich put the “Flyin 50” out front and out raced his older brother David Eckrich for the first 25 laps of the race. Late in the race Denny had built a comfortable lead and the race for second was on between Rob Toland and Dave Eckrich. The two drivers swapped the runner-up position numerous times the last ten laps. A late caution bunched the field but neither Toland nor Dave Eckrich had anything for Denny Eckrich. Denny pulled away on the restart to score the $6,000 win. At the checkers Dave Eckrich took second by less than car length over Toland. Jeff Aikey ran in the lead pack the entire 50 laps in taking fourth ahead of Curt Martin. 5 heats, 2 consolations and the fast dash were run prior to the 50 lap feature taking to the speedway. A ten lap non-qualifiers race was run with Chris Smyser taking advantage of race leader Rusty Zook losing a driveshaft late in the race. Smyser scored the $700 win over Monte Ohrt.

Ronnie Barker continued his recent hot streak on Friday night by capturing another NASCAR Quarter Master Modified feature win. Barker started in the 11th position and quickly worked to the front using the extreme high side of the track. Barker chased down early leader Jed Hurst and took the point position with less than five laps of the 20 lap scored. Barker went on to lead the last 15 laps in route to his fourth win of the season at the Farley Speedway. Rich Smith nipped Larry Herring at the checkers for second.

The NASCAR Pro Stock feature saw Jeff Kennedy take the lead early and hold off all challengers on his way to his first win of the season at the Farley Speedway. Kennedy drove a perfect race in holding off a hard charging Dan Shelliam. Ty Kleiner took third ahead of Jim Brokus.

Larry Benn drove his Monte Carlo to his third feature win of the 2002 season in the Hobby Stock division. Benn advanced from his tenth position start to score the win over Jim Turpin and T.J. Leslein. The win was Benn’s second consecutive feature win at the Farley Speedway.

Travis Kaiser won his second feature of the young season in the all new Farley Flyer division. Kaiser drove his Ford Escort to the checkers ahead of Kevin Bockenstedt and Mark Jaeger.

NASCAR Weekly Racing will continue at the Farley Speedway on Friday, May 31st with all five classes in action with race time scheduled for 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 24th Race Results

Farley Flyers Feature

1. 7K Travis Kaiser-Dyersville

2. 66 Kevin Bockenstedt-Farley

3. 99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville

4. 69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI

5. 31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI

6. 75 Chad Nadermann-Farley

7. 00X Ryan Simon-Farley

8. 14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

9. 8 Joe Sarazin-Dubuque

10. 3 Steve Driscoll Jr.-Asbury

11. 1k Tim Koppes-Cascade

12. 38X Tom Schemmel-Farley

13. 00 John Flury

14. 45 Jeff Jorgenson-Mineral Point, WI

15. 79 Cliff Schanbeck-Delaware

16. 1T Mark Thul-Dubuque

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

1. 59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL

2. 89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque

3. 73L Jeff Laue-Freeport, IL

Top 12 In Track Points Did Not Run Heat Races


1. 13 Larry Benn-Dyersville

2. 33 JimTurpin-Shullsburg, WI

3. 38 . T.J. Leslein-Durango

4. 44S B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque

5. 98 Jason Rauen-Farley

6. 7 Chad Hallahan-Dubuque.

7. 44 Kory Haverly-Anamosa

8. 72 Doug Yates-Monticello

9. 8K Jerry Merkes-Farley

10. 89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque

11 73L Laue

12. . 5 Norbert Ahlers-Earlville.

13. 59 Hughes

14. 12 Matt Dunkel-Martelle

15. 23 Dennis Etten-Wyoming.

16. 83 Rob Petsche-Centralia.

17. 97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington

18. 22 Cory Bauer-Monticello

19. B4Jr. Brian Dirks-Anamosa

20. 28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi

21. 26. Tom Darrow-Monticello

22. 33j Joe Huenfield-Freeport, IL

NASCAR Pro Stocks


1. 2k Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque

2. 16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI

3. 20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI

4. 35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque

5. 1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids

6. 56 Andy Eckrich-Cosgrove

7. 12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque

8. 97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville

9. 25X Chad Simpson-Marion

10. 71 Kevin Schroeder-Low Moor

11. 5m Mike Friar-Freeport, IL

12. 25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque

13. 69 John Maher-West Branch

14. 22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque

15. 23 Jim Amos-Peosta

Quarter Master Modifieds


1. 37 B Ron Barker-Dubuque

2. S19 Rich Smith-Davenport

3. 96 Larry Herring-Lone Tree

4. 10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green, WI

5. 74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque

6. 27 Mark Schulte-Delhi

7. 11 Mike Burbridge-Delhi

8. 39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL

9. 17 Bill Flannagan-Cedar Rapids

10. 33 John Burbridge-Delhi

11. 24 Jan Messer-Manchester

12. 92 Tim Zeman-Fruitland

13. 3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque

14. 24 Randy Less-Hopkinton

15. 57 Ryan Nabb-Dubuque

Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

Heat 1

11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
44 Duane Coulson-East Dubuque

Heat 2

32D Darren Miller-Chadwick, IL
90 Mike Cothron-Moline, IL
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque

Heat 3

50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
56X Chris Spieker-Massena
21h Brian Harris-Davenport

Heat 4

1. 00 Mitch Johnson-Fargo, N.D.

2. 3X Skip Frey-Ely

3. 7 Mark Burgtorf-Quincy, IL

Heat 5

1. 58 Dave Eckrich-Oxford

2. 13k Denny Petersen-Tipton

3. 56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass

Consolation 1

51 Matt Furman-Iowa City
28X Jeff Bair-Solon
12 Ray Guss Jr. –Milan, IL

Consolation 2

33g Dan Galant-Clinton
45 Curt Martin-Independence
28 Dennis Erb-Carpentersville, IL

Fast Dash

32D Miller
90 Cothron
3X Frey

50 Lap Feature

50 Eckrich
58 Eckrich
39 Rob Toland-Hillsdale, IL
77 Aikey
45 Martin
00 Johnson
21h Harris
56x Spieker
10 George Scheffler-Waukesha, WI
11 Ihm
3x Frey
56 Webb
3t Todd Davis-Iowa City
21 Merfeld
44 Coulson
33g Galant
07 Terry Ryan-Davenport
28 Erb
90 Cothron
32D Miller
78 Rick Wendling-Hazelton
7 Burgtorf
13K Petersen
12 Guss Jr.
28 X Bair
51 Furman

Non-Qualifiers Feature

25S Chris Smyser-Lancaster, MO
2 Monte Ohrt-West Branch
95 Ed Sanger-Postville
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Dike
85 John Kaanta-Elk Mound, MN
32 Tom Cannon-Iowa City
54 Mark Curwen-Hazel Green, WI
72 Terry Huizel-Freeport,IL
18Z Rusty Zook-Riverside
28N Herb Nagy-Harrisonville, MO

Back to the Archives