Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Super Sunday Series wins at 281 go to Witt, Turner
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 21, 2002 12:44 PM UIN: 16262997
Super Sunday Series wins at 281 go to Witt, Turner
By J.M. Hallas
STEPHENVILLE, Texas (May 19) – Any time Henry Witt Jr. starts on the pole it means trouble for everybody else, and that maxim proved itself again in the Day Motorsports Texas Super Sunday Series installment at 281 Speedway.
The two-time defending series champion added to his lead in the current points standings, leading from start to finish of the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modified main.
Jeff Turner took over the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car points top spot with the win in that class.
Witt grabbed the point on green and began to ease away. Glen Hibbard got by William McGuire for second place, only to blow the motor a couple laps later. At the mid-point, Witt was lengthening his lead ahead of McGuire and William Gould.
Gould moved into the second spot on lap 17 and tried to run down Witt. Lap 21 had McGuire spinning from third, with Josh McGaha also spinning and Glen Allen hitting the turn three wall. Witt would use a lapped car as a buffer while Max Eddie Thomas moved up to second in the final laps.
Gould, Chris Bragg and G.W. Egbert would round out the top five.
Polesitter Mike Greer jumped into the lead in the Stock Car feature with Chris McDonald in tow. Duain Pritchett and Bobby Spence got hooked together and ground to halt in turn four, sending Pritchett to the tail. On the re-start, J.W. Johnson got into points leader Tim Clonch and sent him spinning while the pack scattered behind.
With cars dodging high and low, the eighth-row starting Turner drove right through the melee moving up to fourth as everyone was able to continue and no caution came out.
At halfway, Greer still held the point over McDonald and Turner.
Turner got by McDonald and set sail for Greer, who had built a slight lead.
After a re-start, Greer and Turner battled side-by-side with Turner finally getting by on lap 22. Turner stretched out his lead in the final laps to take the checkers over Greer, McDonald, Earl and Sustaire.
Most Super Sunday Series drivers will be at Heart O’ Texas Speedway in Waco this weekend for the Texas I.M.C.A. Nationals.
They’ll return to HO’T for the next series event, on June 9.
Feature Results
1. Henry Witt Jr.;
2. Max Eddie Thomas;
3. William Gould;
4. Chris Bragg;
5. G.W. Egbert;
6. Vince Ogle;
7. Richard Griffin;
8. Keith McCullough;
9. Richard McDaniel;
10. Scotty Brown;
11. Billy Garza;
12. Robbie Watkins;
13. Tim Clonch;
14. Chris Watkins;
15. Josh McGaha;
16. Allen Williams;
17. Terry Dumas;
18. Doug Hibbard;
19. William McGuire;
20. Glen Allen;
21. Wesley Veal;
22. Brad Bigg;
23. Brandon Watson;
24. Glen Hibbard.

Stock Cars
1. Jeff Turner;
2. Mike Greer;
3. Chris McDonald;
4. Tom Earl III:
5. Kevin Sustaire;
6. Travis Evans;
7. Mark Mohon;
8. Chad Estes;
9. Duain Pritchett;
10. Tim Clonch;
11. Steve Pippin;
12. Kevin Kent;
13. Rodger Burney;
14. Kenny Timmons;
15. Michael Miles;
16. Joey Craig;
17. Bobby Spence;
18. Brian Bishnow;
19. J.W. Johnson.

Top 10 Point Standings
1. Witt 237
2. Thomas 222
3. Garza 212
4. Gould 211
5. Doug Hibbard 204
6. Clonch 198
7. Brown 196
8. Veal 171
9. McCullough 156
10. Egbert 152

Stock Cars
1. Turner 265
2. Clonch 260
3. Mohon 248
Pritchett 248
5. Greer 247
6. Sustaire 215
7. Estes 187
8. Timmons 153
9. Daniel Reed 130
10. Earl 129


Back to the Archives