Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Webb & Denny Eckrich Top Dubuque County
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 21, 2002 12:16 PM UIN: 16262997
Webb & Denny Eckrich Top Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway Twin 25ís

NASCAR race fans were treated to an outstanding night of wheel to wheel action at the high banked 3/8 mile dirt track Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway on Sunday, May 19th.

The Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models ran twin 25ís and both events were nail biters on a very wide fast track. The first feature was won by defending track champion Gary Webb. The Moring Racing #56 advanced to the front from a tenth position start, Webb used a very low line in making his way to victory lane. The lead group contained four drivers for the majority of the race, and the win was up for grabs until Webb was able to break out of the pack with less than 5 to go. At the checkers Darren Miller took second ahead of Steve Boley and Denny Eckrich. The second Late Model feature saw Denny Eckrich repeat his opening night performance at Dubuque. Eckrich worked to the front from his ninth position start. Eckrich got to the front quickly and fought off numerous challenges by Darren Miller and then Webb. The checkers flew with Eckrich out front and Webb was able to ride the top side to a very close second place finish ahead of Miller and Boley.

The NASCAR Modified feature saw Jason Schuller come from deep in the pack to score the 20 lap feature win. Schuller found the smooth slick track to his liking in passing high and low on his way to the win. Veteran Scott Nesteby crossed under the checkers in second ahead of Mike Burbridge.

The Pro Stock feature saw Potosi, Wisconsinís Ty Kleiner lead the 15 lap race flag to flag. Kleiner was challenged late in the race by Jeff Tharp but Kleiner held his line perfectly in taking the win. Tharp took second ahead of John Walker.

Larry Benn drove his 2002 Chevy Monte Carlo to the Hobby Stock feature win Sunday night topping another strong field of competitors. Benn held off a stubborn T.J. Leslein at the finish line. Jason Rauen came from a 7th row start to take third.

The Farley Flyers feature win went to Brian Kammerude, in only his second night of racing Kammerude drove his 1994 Cavalier to the 10 lap victory. Jason Roth brought his Toyota home in second ahead of Tony Brimeyer.

Sunday, May 25th, the Dubuque Speedway will host a Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout. The Open Late Model 50 lap feature will award $6,000 to the winner. In addition to the high powered Late Models all support classes will be competiting for track points. Race time will be 6:30 p.m.

Farley Flyers Feature

55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI
31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI
66 Tony Brimeyer-Dubuque
38 Bryan Melocard-Dubuque
3 Steve Driscoll Jr. ĖAsbury
38 Rob Kramer-Peosta
21M Robbey Munter-Hazel Green, WI
8 Joe Sarazin-Dubuque
79 Loras Feldmann-Dyersville
14 Levi Benn-Dyersville
69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI
1T Mark Thul-Dubuque
75 Chad Nadermann-Farley

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

13 Larry Benn-Dyersville
59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL
97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington

Heat 2

11M Jason Brimeyer-Dubuque
44 B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque
8K Jerry Merkes-Farley


13 Benn
38 T.J. Leslein-Durango
98 Jason Rauen-Farley
97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington
7 Chad Hallahan-Dubuque
8K Merkes
28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
22 Cory Bauer-Monticello
59 Hughes
89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque
6 Jed Frieberger-Dubuque
83 Rob Petsche-Centralia
39 Dave Humphrey-Hazel Green, WI
44 Schmidt
11M Brimeyer
81 K.C. Ansel-Dubuque
33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI

NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville
22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque
2K Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque

Heat 2

20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque
1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids


20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
12 Tharp
1 Walker
22 Valentine
18 Skip Culbertson-Dubuque
56 Andy Eckrich-Cosgrove
16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
97 Reinert
35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque
32 Chris Simpson-Marion
2K Kennedy
25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque
23 Jim Amos-Peosta
75 Duane Wagner-Dickeyville, WI
13 Denny Pergande-Dubuque

NASCAR Modifieds

Heat 1

1. 27 Mark Schulte-Delhi

2. 74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque

3. 11 Mike Burbridge-Delhi

Heat 2

69 Roger Donahue-Dubuque
24m Jan Messer-Manchester
3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque


3 Schuller
74 Nesteby
11 Mike Burbridge, Delhi
10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green, WI
75 Bob Silaggi-Freeport, IL
37 B Ron Barker-Dubuque
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque
08 Mike Miller-Leaf River, IL
24M Jan Messer-Manchester
20 John Fellman-Blue Grass
63 Scott Olson-Preston
69 Roger Donahue-Dubuque
19 Jim Allen-Dubuque
5D Bob Dominacki-Bettendorf
01M Mitch Way-Davenport
27 Schulte
39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, Il
20 Korey Burmeister-Glen Haven, WI
13 Luke Pestka-Delhi

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

Heat 1

77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Dike

Heat 2

32D Darren Miller-Chadwick, IL
11 Steve Ihm-Hazel Green, WI
26 Steve Boley-West Liberty


56 Webb
32D Miller
26 Boley
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
58 Dave Eckrich-Oxford
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI
95 Ed Sanger-Postville
12N Terry Neal-Ely
77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
37B Troy Bruder-Freeport
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Dike
8 Mark Merfeld-Dubuque
27 B Bob Silaggi-Freeport, IL
54 Mark Curwen-Hazel Green, WI
77J Steve Johnson-Camanche
27 Ed McGuire-Monroe, WI
11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
61R Jon Rogers-Freeport, IL

Feature #2

50 Eckrich
56 Webb
32D Miller
26 Boley
77 Aikey
95 Sanger
12N Neal
98.1 Hansen
54 Curwen
8 Merfeld
11 Ihm
37B Bruder
B27 Silaggi
27 McGuire
77J Johnson
79 Mish
21 Merfeld
58 Eckrich

Back to the Archives