Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Koch gets hot despite the cold
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 21, 2002 12:15 PM UIN: 16262997
Koch gets hot despite the cold

Cold temperatures did not slow Casey Koch from picking up his first Modified feature win at the Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway. Koch had the two ingredients needed; a fast car and a little luck. Jeremy Christians returned to form and won his first race of the season in the IMCA Stock class, Nate Schepp held off a charging Steve Seitz to win the DCRA Pure Stock race and Tony Sclei made it two for two in winning the IMCA Hobby Stock race.
Nick Woods took the early lead in the mod feature with Kelly Brown on his tail. Slowly, Woods began o separate himself from the field until the first caution on lap 6. On the restart, Jay Schraufnagel jumped into second and a lap later moved under Woods for the lead. The smooth Schraufnagel put considerable distance between himself and the field until lap 12 when his motor expired ending his night. Koch jumped from third to first as the green flag waved again leaving Woods to battle Brown for second. Another caution came out on lap 16 as Woods spun by himself but collected two other cars. Once again Koch moved away from the field as Brown now raced Dave Schoenberger for second. Schoenberger took the spot and started to gain on the leader but would run out of laps as Koch notched his first win.
First lap leader John Stanton could only hold off Jeremy Christians for one lap in the IMCA Stock feature. Unlike the heat race when Stanton was on the outside of Christians for 8 full laps and held on for the heat win. Christians steadily pulled away from the pack as Roger Johnson and Brandon Czarapata moved into second and third leaving Stanton to race side by side with Rob Schmid. Behind the leader Christians, the next four cars raced two by two allowing him to put more distance between himself and the field. Czarapata would eventually move into second as Stanton moved up to take third from Johnson but would lose the spot back to Johnson on the final lap as Christians took the Checkered flag.
In the DCRA Pure Stock feature it was Nate Schepp taking the lead on the first lap with Jason Behring on his tail followed by Steve Sietz. Schepp pulled away as Behring spun on lap 8 bringing out the caution and tightening up the field. Schepp would hold onto the lead as Seitz made several aggressive moves but could not make the pass. Schepp moved on to win his first race of the season and the second of his racing career.
At the end of the racing program Fischbach Tire and Auto sponsored the Mechanics races. Scott Hien won the IMCA modified race in Casey Kochís car. Chad LeBeau won in Rob Schmidís IMCA Stock car. Steve Coulter won in Randy Schimmelís car and Marty Abschire took the win in Tony Scleiís car.
Next weeks regular night of racing is sponsored by Sunland Enterprises and will include the Box Car races and Banner Contest.


IMCA Modified:
Feature: 1) Casey Koch, Beaver Dam; 2) Dave Schoenberger, Beaver Dam; 3) Kelly Brown, Randolph; 4) Ed Devall, Waukegan, Ill; 5) John Schultz, Oshkosh; 6) Dennis Haldemann, Janesville; 7) Andy Voigt, Beaver Dam; 8) Craig Wheeler, Montello; 9) Darren Otto, Pulaski; 10) David Grenlund, Sharon, Ill
First Heat: 1) Andy Voigt, Beaver Dam; 2) Scott Lewis, Waukau; 3) Ed Devall
Second Heat: 1) Nick Woods, Beaver Dam; 2) Dennis Schultz, Oshkosh; 3) Todd Ascherien, Beaver Dam
Third Heat: 1) Dave Schoenberger; 2) Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; 3) Kelly Brown

IMCA Stock:
Feature: 1) Jeremy Christians, Horicon; 2) Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski; 3) Roger Johnson, Saukville; 4) John Stanton, Reeseville; 5) Rob Schmid, Burnett; 6) Jeff Owens, Randolph; 7) Scott Erdmann, Juneau; 8) Bob Mann, Juneau; 9) Curt Beek, Markesan; 10) Jerry Schaalma, Juneau
First Heat: 1) John Stanton; 2) Jeremy Christians; 3) Roger Johnson
Second Heat: 1) Brandon Czarapata; 2) Jerry Schaalma; 3) Jeff Owens

DCRA Pure Stock:
Feature: 1) Nate Schepp, Juneau; 2) Steve Seitz, Beaver Dam; 3) Jim Steger, Beaver Dam; 4) Randy Schimmel, Beaver Dam; 5) Nathan Hodgson, Horicon
First Heat: 1) Jason Behring, Beaver Dam; 2) Jim Steger; 3) Ed Coulter, Beaver Dam
Second Heat: 1) Nate Schepp; 2) Steve Seitz; 3) Randy Schimmel

IMCA Hobby Stock:
Feature: 1) Tony Sclei; 2) Jason Jaragoske; 3) Jimmy Scanlan

Back to the Archives