Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Guss Jr. Scores NASCAR Win At Farley Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted May 18, 2002 10:51 AM UIN: 16262997
Guss Jr. Scores NASCAR Win At Farley Speedway

NASCAR Weekly Racing Series action was held on Friday, May 17th despite very unseasonable weather conditions at the Farley Speedway. The fans that braved the cold saw Ray Guss Jr. capture his second Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Model feature win of the season at the high banked ˝ mile dirt track.

Guss Jr. shot to the front from his second row start and overtook leader Darren Mish as lap five was recorded. Guss went on to score an impressive victory as he lapped up to the ninth place finisher in the 25 lap main event. The battle for second was hotly contested the majority of the race as the Eckrich brothers battled it out. Denny Eckrich outlasted his older brother David in taking the runner up honors.

The Quarter Master Modified feature appeared to be another Ronny Barker win, but this night misfortune struck the Dubuque driver while leading the 20 lap feature. Barker lost a left rear wheel with three laps to go giving the lead to Rich Smith. Smith went on to record his first win of the season taking the checkers just ahead of Larry Herring.

The Pro Stocks raced for their double dip on Friday night. The double dip is a SPI special promotion which awards the selected division with two times their normal purse. Jeff Tharp came away the big winner collecting the bonus money along with the Johnny B Goods trophy. Tharp overtook early leader Bobby Moyer on his way to an impressive feature win. Moyer ran strong throughout the feature in crossing the line in second ahead of Dan Shelliam.

The NASCAR hobby Stock main event produced another first time winner on Friday night. This time the win belonged to Farley native Jason Rauen. Three drivers had a shot at the win on the last lap, Rauen took the checkers by less than a car length over Steve Dunkel and Larry Benn.

The Farley Flyers main event was captured by Cliff Schanbeck, who was another first time visitor to victory lane. Schanbeck scored the win in only his sixth night of racing. Schanbeck’s Buick Skyhawk crossed under the checkers ahead of Steve Driscoll and Becky Roth.

Friday, May 24th will be the first night of four consecutive Budweiser Open Late Model Shootouts with the Farley Speedway opening the swing. The night will be headlined by a 50 lap feature for the open Late Models with a $6,000 paycheck awaiting the winner. All classes of cars will be in competition at the Farley Speedway with hot laps at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. The Memorial Weekend Budweiser Open Late Model Shootouts will also include, Saturday, May 25th West Liberty Raceway, Sunday, May 26th Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway and Monday, May 27th Davenport Speedway.

Friday, May 17th Race Results

Farley Flyers Feature

1. 79 Cliff Schanbeck-Delaware

2. 3 Steve Driscoll Jr.-Asbury

3. 69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI

4. 99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville

5. 14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

6. 7K Travis Kaiser-Dyersville

7. 66 Bruce Miller-Dubuque

8. 1T Mark Thul-Dubuque

9. 66T Ryan Simon-Farley

10. 31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI

11. 38G Kyle Gansen-Epworth

12. 1k Tim Koppes-Cascade

13. 75 Chad Nadermann-Farley

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

1. 98 Jason Rauen-Farley

2. 97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington

3. 28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi

Heat 2

1. 8K Jerry Merkes-Farley

2. 33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI

3. 59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL


1. 98 Rauen

2. 97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington

3. 13 Larry Benn-Dyersville

4. 33 Turpin

5. 8K Jerry Merkes-Farley

6. 38 . T.J. Leslein-Durango

7. 28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi

8. 44 Kory Haverly-Anamosa.

9. 22 Cory Bauer-Monticello

10. 44S B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque

11. 72 Doug Yates-Monticello

12. 89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque

13. 83 Rob Petsche-Centralia.

14. B4Jr. Brian Dirks-Anamosa

15. 5 Norbert Ahlers-Earlville. .

16 23 Dennis Etten-Wyoming.

17. 59 Hughes

18. 11 Russ Duve-Dubuque

19. 7 Chad Hallahan-Dubuque.

NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

1. 25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque

2. 22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque

3. 56 Andy Eckrich-Cosgrove

Heat 2

1. 12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque

2. 20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI

3. 71 Kevin Schroeder-Low Moor


1. 12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque

2. 25 Moyer

3. 16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI

4. 20 Kleiner

5. 56 Eckrich

6. 35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque

7. 1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids

8. 71 Kevin Schroder-Low Moor

9. 75 Duane Wagner-Dickeyville, WI

10. 23 Jim Amos-Peosta

11. 22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque

12. 2k Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque

13. 97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville

Quarter Master Modifieds

Heat 1

1. 37 B Ron Barker-Dubuque

2. S19 Rich Smith-Davenport

3. 74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque

Heat 2

1. 3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque

2. 96 Larry Herring-Lone Tree

3. 11 Mike Burbridge-Delhi


1. S19 Rich Smith-Davenport

2. 96 Larry Herring-Lone Tree

3. 3 Schuller

4. 27 Mark Schulte-Delhi

5. 15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque

6. 39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL

7. 11 Mike Burbridge-Delhi

8. 24 Jan Messer-Manchester

9. 17 Bill Flannagan-Cedar Rapids

10. 37B Barker

11. 57 Ryan Nabb-Dubuque

12. 16 Ryan Dolan-Lisbon

13. 74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque

14. 19 Jim Allen-Dubuque

15. 10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green, WI

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Models

Heat 1

58 Dave Eckrich-Oxford
77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
44 Duane Coulson-East Dubuque

Heat 2

3t Todd Davis-Iowa City
78 Rick Wendling-Hazelton
26 Steve Boley-West Liberty

Heat 3

12 Ray Guss Jr. –Milan, IL
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI
39 Rob Toland-Hillsdale, IL


12 Guss Jr.
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
58 Dave Eckrich
3 Josh McGowan-Vinton
79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI
3T Todd Davis-Iowa City
33g Dan Galant-Clinton
30 Gus Hughes-Monticello
26 Steve Boley-West Liberty
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Center Point
27 Ed McGuire-Monroe, WI
78 Rick Wendling-Hazelton
95 Ed Sanger-Postville
44 Duane Coulson-East Dubuque, IL
61R Jon Rogers-German Valley, IL
32C Chad Holliday-Wilton
69 Todd Hormel-West Liberty
77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls
39 Rob Toland-Hillsdale, IL
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque
12 N Terry Neal-Ely

Back to the Archives